Guest dada_rocks Posted January 29, 2009 Posted January 29, 2009 Kaisa bihari hai re tu rice banana nahin aata tha ab tak.. ham bihari log to 14-15 sall ki umra mein ghar chhor dete hain padhai ke liye aur phir kerosen-oil-stove pe khana banana shuru ho jata hai:--D
Ram Posted January 29, 2009 Posted January 29, 2009 In the microwaveable rice cooker I use, it's normally 8-9 minutes for 1 cup of rice, 12 minutes for 2 cups or 15 1/2 for 3 cups. Ratios are: 1 cup rice : 1 1/4 cups water if it's aged white basmati 1 cup rice: 1 1/2 cups water for any other white rice 1 cup rice: 2 cups water for any brown rice, and sometimes an extra minute in the microwave. Thanks for the info. And when you say 1 cup, is it a 150 gm cup?
Guest dada_rocks Posted January 29, 2009 Posted January 29, 2009 Thanks for the info. And when you say 1 cup, is it a 150 gm cup?'' knob any cup as long as same cup is used for measuring both water and rice
Ram Posted January 29, 2009 Posted January 29, 2009 '' knob any cup as long as same cup is used for measuring both water and rice Mr, Einstein’s second Cousin, think a little before posting. He has also mentioned the time and for that I need to know how big the measurement is. I don’t want to put in a small amount of rice and microwave it for too long and find it has been burned.
Mr. Wicket Posted January 29, 2009 Posted January 29, 2009 Ignore dr unless you want to alternate between a mass of uncooked rice and hot water and a ton of smoke. 1 cup is roughly 200 ml.
Guest dada_rocks Posted January 29, 2009 Posted January 29, 2009 Mr' date=' Einstein’s second Cousin, think a little before posting. He has also mentioned the time and for that I need to know how big the measurement is. I don’t want to put in a small amount of rice and microwave it for too long and find it has been burned.[/quote'] I didn't know u guys were such a knob when it came to cooking.. getting time right is no rocket science:winky:
Ram Posted January 29, 2009 Posted January 29, 2009 I didn't know u guys were such a knob when it came to cooking.. getting time right is no rocket science:winky: I didnt know you guys were such a knob when it comes to reading the English language. Putting the alphabets together is no rocket science :winky: :winky:
Mr. Wicket Posted January 29, 2009 Posted January 29, 2009 I didnt know you guys were such a knob when it comes to reading the English language. Oh come on, surely you've read some of his posts and then paused to wonder if someone was actually trying to write or just banging his fists on the keyboard in rage.
punjabi_khota Posted January 29, 2009 Posted January 29, 2009 Abbe yaar walmart se $12 ka electric rice cooker lao. There are bigger things in life to worry about than cooking rice. Like GKD thread etc.
Ram Posted January 29, 2009 Posted January 29, 2009 Abbe yaar walmart se $12 ka electric rice cooker lao. There are bigger things in life to worry about than cooking rice. Like GKD thread etc. My rice cooker sucks. Because I cook very LITTLE amounts of rice, by the time the rice is cooked, it becomes too hard and sticks to the bottom surface of the rice cooker. In the end, I am left scratching at the rice to get a few lumps that are edible.
Ram Posted January 29, 2009 Posted January 29, 2009 Oh come on' date=' surely you've read some of his posts and then paused to wonder if someone was actually trying to write or just banging his fists on the keyboard in rage.[/quote']
The Outsider Posted January 29, 2009 Posted January 29, 2009 FWIW, rice cooked in Microwave sucks.....just do it the pan, water, rice, and flame way for the best rice.
Mr. Wicket Posted January 29, 2009 Posted January 29, 2009 Eh, there are some good microwaveable rice cookers that are quite consistent. I've been using that method for a while as I usually tend to multi-task a LOT when cooking and have at least 2-3 things going on the stove, so it's nice to just put rice in the microwave and let it be on cruise control.
Dirty_South Posted January 29, 2009 Posted January 29, 2009 My rice cooker sucks. Because I cook very LITTLE amounts of rice' date=' by the time the rice is cooked, it becomes too hard and sticks to the bottom surface of the rice cooker. In the end, I am left scratching at the rice to get a few lumps that are edible.[/quote'] Sriram,here's a very simple method. Take a cup of rice ,wash it twice. Soak in cool water for around 15 mins In a heavy bottom pan/cooker/vessel boil two cups of water (double the quantity of rice) Let it boil Add 2 tsp Butter/ghee (this is to get not sticky rice,ignore if u hate butter) Now add RICE Once u c craters kinda thing....close the vessel with a lid. After 10 mins take a fork and fluff up rice (be careful not to break 'em) Close again for 5 mins Now check if its cooked properly,turn off stove and keep it closed for another 5-7 mins. Beautiful n fluffy rice is ready to eat :) It may sound lengthy but trust me its very very easy. Method 2 using Pressure cooker Take a cup of rice ,wash it twice. Soak in cool water for around 15 mins In a heavy bottom pan/cooker/vessel boil two cups of water (double the quantity of rice) Pressure cook on high for 2 whistles and simmer the flame then wait for the 3rd whistle and turn OFF stove Wait till the pressure releases and open the lid. This is a very easy method too :) I use microwave method too.... Hope this helps !
Holysmoke Posted January 29, 2009 Posted January 29, 2009 Take rice in plastic bowl Wash with tap water. Add filtered water from brita mug.. such that level of water = ~1 inch above level of rice. microwave for 10 mins and eat
Dirty_South Posted January 29, 2009 Posted January 29, 2009 Do you folks use Sona Masoori rice? Basmati and Sona Masoori :)
Mr. Wicket Posted January 29, 2009 Posted January 29, 2009 Do you folks use Sona Masoori rice? No. Aged basmati for most Indian cooking, Thai Jasmine for most things Thai/Chinese/Singaporean, Bomba occasionally when I can find it, and white arborio in my risottos.
Holysmoke Posted January 29, 2009 Posted January 29, 2009 Mr' date=' Einstein’s second Cousin, think a little before posting. He has also mentioned the time and for that I need to know how big the measurement is. I don’t want to put in a small amount of rice and microwave it for too long and find it has been burned.[/quote'] That also depends on the wattage of your microwave. I had a cheap 700-800 watt microwave, and that microwave used to take a LOT of time to heat up pretty much anything. If I ever got a frozen pack, I had to add atleast a couple of mins to the instructions for it to come out well.