Rajiv Posted March 2, 2009 Posted March 2, 2009 Singer vs Composer DUH!!!!! AR Rahman is ? Mahadevan is ? KK was singer and composer my friend
Rajiv Posted March 2, 2009 Posted March 2, 2009 Shanker Mahadevan was a fa.gg*t who got lucky ' date=' Still remember exchanging cigarette with this ********** along with my bro' in the corridors of SIES , Sion munbai .. At that time this guy was a nobody who lived on borrowed wealth ... now this FAC.K ****** refuses to take my bro' call , so much for loyalty ...![/quote'] most celebrities dont, unless u were close! If I start a list here then it would mean all those are SOB's and btw in bollywood - luck is 90% job done
Gambit Posted March 2, 2009 Posted March 2, 2009 you JOKING me!!! Shankar Mahadevan's BAAP cant sing Vande Matram, Yeh jo Des hai Tera, Lukka Chupiii with the way Rahman sung..All these 3 songs bring Goosegumps everytime i hear ..love these songs SM's baap might not be able to sing all that but SM is a better singer than ARR. Let's just accept that as fact and move on. Basically, ARR is a bowling all rounder and SM is a batting all rounder(where bowling = composing and batting=singing).
graphic23 Posted March 2, 2009 Posted March 2, 2009 Have a lot of respect for Shankar Mahadevan. His voice range is awesome and of course the ability to sing breathless for a 5 minute song is an awesome talent. As a composer, he cannot be judged alone (because of Ehsaan and Loy) but I (quite obviously) feel that Rahman's a far superior composer to the trio inspite of Dil Chahta Hai and Taare Zameen Par. They've come out with a lot of mediocre work along with very good works with great only belonging to the aforementioned works. As a singer, I think he pips Rahman in terms of pure singing ability. The songs he's sung is another matter because he sings all sorts of masala ones (for other composers as well )along with good ones while Rahman sings for himself and sings only the top-class stuff in his compositions that suit his voice. I think Rahman, the singer, chooses very very judiciously the songs he sings and so they come out very well (eg. "Rehna Tu" from Delhi-6 and all the songs mentioned above by Rahulrulez, and ofcourse "Dil Se Re" from Dil Se).
suraj Posted March 2, 2009 Posted March 2, 2009 AR Rahman is ? Mahadevan is ? KK was singer and composer my friend If you are comparing KK the composer to AR the composer I have nothing to say to you On the flip side If you are comparing AR the singer to KK the singer I have nothing to say to you again Your analogies are all screwed up because you are comparing North and South in 2 different categories where one doesn't hold candle to the other in each of his domain If you are combining both and comparing the two over vastly different eras I am not nerd enuff to get into that argument to me- AR Rehamn is the best composer we have had to date Kishore da is the best singer we have had to date!!!
Rajiv Posted March 2, 2009 Posted March 2, 2009 rahmans material is abstract and has lot of depth, the shankar eshan loy group caters to your new gen bollywood music with catchy tunes, recently the stuff from dostana was awesome
Gambit Posted March 2, 2009 Posted March 2, 2009 Also, just for the record, Sukhvinder pwns Mahadevan and ARR as a singer.
Rajiv Posted March 2, 2009 Posted March 2, 2009 If you are comparing KK the composer to AR the composer I have nothing to say to you On the flip side If you are comparing AR the singer to KK the singer I have nothing to say to you again Your analogies are all screwed up because you are comparing North and South in 2 different categories where one doesn't hold candle to the other in each of his domain If you are combining both and comparing the two over vastly different eras I am not nerd enuff to get into that argument to me- AR Rehamn is the best composer we have had to date Kishore da is the best singer we have had to date!!! I don't doubt your expertise and can't comment on the nerd factor! All I am saying is in IMO, no one better than KK - he was a perfect allrounder - music and composition
Rajiv Posted March 2, 2009 Posted March 2, 2009 Also' date=' just for the record, Sukhvinder pwns Mahadevan and ARR as a singer.[/quote'] hmm, perhaps a personal choice
Rajiv Posted March 2, 2009 Posted March 2, 2009 oh btw, whateva happened to Sonu Nigam..is he still around
varun Posted March 2, 2009 Posted March 2, 2009 Also' date=' just for the record, Sukhvinder pwns Mahadevan and ARR as a singer.[/quote'] Funny you mentioned these 3 names. I went for a concert in LA a few years back where all 3 of them were present. Sukhvinder was the best live performer out there, and the opinion was shared amongst our pretty large group which included some hardcore ARR fans. Mahadevan was good, though I wouldn't put him above ARR as far as live performance goes. Sonu Nigam was there too and he, despite having a large contingent of shouting female fans, failed to deliver.
satishg Posted March 2, 2009 Posted March 2, 2009 Shankar Mahadevan is no where close to ARR as a music composer..Rahman is way above him..as a singer I feel it is quite close but being a biased Rahmaniac i wud go with ARR as a better singer too..I still cant imagine anyone else singing this particular song better than ARR..this is his best ever song as a singer.. [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u7IhnhKr9Xs]YouTube - Sillunu Oru Kadhal - New York Nagaram - A. R. Rahman - [ High Quality ][/ame] he has literally lived this song :)
Cricketics Posted March 2, 2009 Author Posted March 2, 2009 And Kailash Kher and Sonu Nigam and K.K own all these Rahmans or any other singer. THREE CHEERS FOR THREESOME - KHER, NIGAM AND KK
suraj Posted March 2, 2009 Posted March 2, 2009 holy cow. it's about 1 feet of snow alredy. and still snowing. Yeh is thread mein kyun post kiya??
Cricketics Posted March 2, 2009 Author Posted March 2, 2009 galtise ho gaya yaar. let me post it in the other.
Shehezaada Posted March 2, 2009 Posted March 2, 2009 Umm..how about Dil Chahta Hai, Taare Zameen Par,Don,Rock On,Lakshya? The following songs are almost good as some of ARR's best tunes - Kholo Kholo - TZP Maa - TZP Dil Chahta Hai - DCH Aaj ki raat - Don Main Aisa Kyun Hoon - Lakshya What about them? any of the songs you've mentioned, do they mix hooks and beats as well as Rahman does? Listen to Baadal from Yuva, it's just outstanding. Especially between the first and second stanzas where he throws a keyboard, violin, and tabla at you. It's ridiculous. Maa? What's so good about that song? The lyrics maybe are touching but the song itself is nothing special. Rock on was TERRIBLE in every sense of the word. Aaj Ki Raat is good to listen to, but it doesn't touch you. Main Aisa Kyun Hoon is different and a wonderful listen, but it's not seamlessly put together like Oh Humdum Suniyo Re. Dil Chahta Hai vs Dil Se, Taare Zameen Par vs Roja, Don vs Saathiya, Rock on v s Delhi 6? Not one of those albums have nearly the variety and class to keep up with Rahman. Listen to Dil Gira Daaftan from Delhi 6...the music at the chorus is off the hook. He's a master at combining different, simple instruments together and slapping together good beats as part of the package. The other good thing is that he doesn't crowd together a piece with a LOT of instruments, he doesn't let them confuse you. Kholo Kholo is an example of Mahadevan's work that DOES do this. They each have their small part to play and it just works together. Keep in mind that Rahman is not perfect, he's come up with a lot of crap in the past couple of years. What's the difference between Tendulkar's straight drive and Nohit's straight drive? You might look at Nohit's drive and go...damn, nice shot, bastard looks in good form. But Tendulkar's? The purity, the simplicity, just shocks you. It stays with you for the longest time. Just makes you speechless. Rahman is Tendulkar, Nohit is Mahadevan. ARR is very similar to Dre in that sense. Willing to go out and just experiment with anything and everything. And he's a perfectionist. Dre's base lines in G-Funk are ridiculous, just like ARR's today.
Shehezaada Posted March 2, 2009 Posted March 2, 2009 Also' date=' just for the record, Sukhvinder pwns Mahadevan and ARR as a singer.[/quote'] how? Each has their positives and negatives, their own ranges, their own type of music that suits them. Sukhwinder Singh is one of my favorite singers..has a great range, very much in sur, excellent knowledge of beats and can sing in multiple languages. Also his voice has depth, can sing songs that are very high in pitch and very low as well. But imagine his voice in songs like Ishq Hua, Is Pal from Aaja Nachle. Not a good fit. Mahadevan is the more talented singer out of all three and his sense of music is outstanding as a singer as well. In Sa Re Ga Ma Pa he was freestyling alaaps at people like they was going out of style. ARR has the most limited range out of all three, but he's a master at picking the right songs to sing. Tere Bina, Eye Hairathe, Lukka Chuppi. All require a simplistic approach that's pure. Rahman's voice is the purest out of all three, and that's why Sukhwinder and Shankar are not good fits for these types of songs. Can't really determine who's the best singer. That's really upto the person and who they favor.
Holysmoke Posted March 2, 2009 Posted March 2, 2009 On a tangent, I never really appreciated Lata's voice until I heard Luka Chuppi.
Online Posted March 2, 2009 Posted March 2, 2009 His voice range is awesome and of course the ability to sing breathless for a 5 minute song is an awesome talent. Sorry to burst your bubble but he did not sing it non stop It was stitched (remixed types)