Far away from security fears, Indian players roam free in NZ..

veer

Ravi, Whats this yaar?? you guys are not haras$ing players?? kya re.. khali pili ka naam kharab kar rahe ho.. :cantstop: I wonder, being neighbors, why NZ is so different than Aus.. ?? NZlanders look down to earth kinda people but ozzies are too arrogant.. Christchurch: During the post-26/11 Test series against England, Zaheer Khan had got into an argument with police officials outside the team hotel in Chennai. The Indian paceman had snapped when his friend and former international bowler, T Kumaran, was stopped at the first checkpoint of the multi-layered security cordon. Later, during the Mohali Test, Yuvraj Singh was pulled up for driving in his hometown without an official escort. While the security debate again rages in India as the IPL nears, down here in New Zealand, the only barrier between the Indian cricketers and the outside world is the automated door of the team hotel. Some sign of security personnel is visible only when the team moves out together in the bus—one or two unarmed man from a private security company, who usually end up organising the queue of autograph hunters at the nets. So used to elaborate police cover back home and in most other countries they visit, the Indian players are making the most of their window of opportunity in this calm corner of the world. Sachin Tendulkar can afford to sit in a roadside cafe near the Wellington city centre, Irfan Pathan can shout to his brother Yusuf from across the street to ask for his fruit juice of choice, and Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir can have lunch together at a crowded food court above the Christchurch bus terminal. The manager of the Indian team, Niranjan Shah, says that unlike most other tours, there are not many dos and don’ts on this trip. “It’s a different scenario when we’re at home. Everybody has security guards provided by the police or the government. Here we don’t need much security. New Zealand is a good country to visit—there is very little crime here. Even at airports, nobody disturbs us and we can move around freely,” Virender Sehwag told The Sunday Express. Though airports here give almost total access even to non-travellers, there is no fuss when international cricketers are in the midst of the general public. As the first boarding announcement was made in Wellington, for instance, the players gingerly got up from a table next to a coffee kiosk to head towards the designated gate. Munaf Patel and Gautam Gambhir decided to stray away for a few minutes, checking out sunglasses at a nearby counter, while Zaheer decided to pick up a few CDs from the music shop next door. Fans occasionally asked for pictures or autographs, and the players happily obliged. On Saturday afternoon, Suresh Raina sauntered out of the Christchurch hotel at the sun-basked Cathedral square to have a look around. “This is so relaxing, being able to walk on the streets without any problems. It helps us get into a better frame of mind for matches and it’s good for bonding with teammates. The other day, we all went to Nando’s, and the team and had a really good time. In India, doing these things is tough because there is so much emphasis on security,” he said. Expat Indians Cricket fans also have it easy. At a net session at Basin Reserve in Wellington, Ganesh, who claims he’s Tendulkar’s biggest fan, managed to get an autograph from the batsman on his shoulder for a tattoo. “Anywhere else, it may not have been possible. On the first day that Sachin was here, I asked him to sign on my shoulder with a marker pen. The next day, I got it tattooed. At the second net session, Sachin asked me if I’d got the tattoo done, and he posed for pictures with me,” Ganesh said. http://www.indianexpress.com/news/far-away-from-security-fears-indian-players-roam-free-in-nz/432297/1

I don't think the aussies are arrogant against any tourist. I have lived their and never really been disappointed by the locals of Aus. Let's not mix Aussie team and Australian public in general. @ Topic - Great to hear that our players are enjoying the beautiful paradise nation of NZ.

This is dangerous. I have been saying this for a Looooooooooooong time now. Security is security and should not be compromised. There are friggin Paki Terrorists all over the world, including NZ. What if they know where the Indian Players are hanging out and come out? I dont like this and hope somebody takes note of my post.

What? They cant allow the Indian players to just roam around without security, there are threats everywhere. Will they allow Manmohan Singh to roam freely if he goes on a state visit to NZ? ? Of course not. Just like he is given head-of-state level security in India, the same thing's done if he goes to NZ too. How can it be any different for the Indian players? Threat is a threat, always, irrespective of where the players are.

Even the Kiwi PM doesn't have great security let alone sportsmen. Only the Indian team has a bit of a security and that's about it. The Kiwi team has absolutely no security whatsoever because none hounds them or stalks them. The advantage of being a very small country in some remote corner of the world is that there is peace and freedom. I had joined a few Indian players to few pubs the other night too. They aren't a bad bunch and are enjoying their time here. I hope this doesn't change. BTW even the Hollywood stars like it here too as they are not stalked like they are in US of A. The Lord of the Rings crew used to wander the streets with their make up on. There definitely is respect for one's ability but at the same time we have to respect their privacy. I'm sure a lot of us folks won't like to be followed by people when we are hanging out with our mates or family.

Yeah King -- all is well in a wonderful world, but the Indians are always in danger of the ever lurking Paki Terrorist round the corner. Remember we used to say the same thing about England and guess what since they have had their share of terrorism -- they have changed their minds and Pakis are the most hated bunch there. It is very difficult to contain a person whose sole idea is to kill another -- which is what exactly what the Pakis are trained in.

I sometimes wonder about the Pakis playing for England and the Pakis from England in padosi site, theres no way in HELL that these guys are patriotic Englishmen.