fineleg Posted March 29, 2009 Posted March 29, 2009 Um why? With Sehwag there is some technical deficiencies that gives the bowlers hope they can get him cheap. They would dread IVAR more. They are both great in that sense, but certainly Viv was in a different league altogether. The fear factor is just vast. As I said this is an opinion, I can understand if you feel you have a different POV.
fineleg Posted March 29, 2009 Posted March 29, 2009 The whole team (mainly the Windies pacers) - yes people were scared. But, just batting - The only person people feared so much was IVAR. Next in line Gordon Greenidge. The remaining players were consistent - Haynes, Lloyd, bacchus, gomez, logie -
cochise Posted March 29, 2009 Posted March 29, 2009 shut up u made a new id and posted it. Yes' date=' I know everything :finger:[/quote'] Bloody Flamy...next you will accuse me of being Dandaroy too and making the whole tamasha up.
graphic23 Posted March 29, 2009 Posted March 29, 2009 With Sehwag there is some technical deficiencies that gives the bowlers hope they can get him cheap. They would dread IVAR more. They are both great in that sense, but certainly Viv was in a different league altogether. The fear factor is just vast. As I said this is an opinion, I can understand if you feel you have a different POV. Same with Richards. He was also a big-scene player, and would love to play his shots. There was always a feeling for the bowler that he might be able to get Richards if he kept going for his shots.
graphic23 Posted March 29, 2009 Posted March 29, 2009 The whole team (mainly the Windies pacers) - yes people were scared. Yes. Agreed. But, just batting - The only person people feared so much was IVAR. Next in line Gordon Greenidge. Again, I think Sehwag, being an opener, is so audacious that he's made bowlers pay in Australia (um, I don't think I have to remind you of anything here), WI (where he almost got a century in one session), India (duh.), Pakistan(averages nearly 90 against Pakistan), SL (201* + 51 in one match.) , England (where he started off as an opener). The only bad record he has is against Bangladesh and Zimbabwe - I really don't care.
Kohum Posted March 29, 2009 Posted March 29, 2009 Sehwag plays like Richards ' date= sometimes they don't click . No need to biatch.. Give this legend some respect ! He played like who in this Test? The avatar of ravi? /facepalm :finger: Read the bold part again. gawd - jaane kahaa kahaa se aate hai.
EnterTheVoid Posted March 29, 2009 Posted March 29, 2009 50 odd off 200 odd balls What concentration. If India finish the day with only one wicket down, than Dravid should be awarded man of the match for his match saving innings Dravid = THE WALL. What a fighter. What a legend. How can one concentrate for so long after being put in such a hopeless situattion? I wouldn't have backed any of the t20 generation to play such an innings
graphic23 Posted March 29, 2009 Posted March 29, 2009 50 odd off 200 odd balls What concentration. If India finish the day with only one wicket down, than Dravid should be awarded man of the match for his match saving innings Dravid = THE WALL. What a fighter. What a legend. How can one concentrate for so long after being put in such a hopeless situattion? I wouldn't have backed any of the t20 generation to play such an innings Argh! Nice job jinxing him.
Deleted_User_1 Posted March 30, 2009 Author Posted March 30, 2009 Man is a freak/idiot It appears bringing whiteboards into a game is a novel idea. There were a bunch of desi spectators sitting with the following sign when Sehwag came into bat "Man is a freak - Sehwag" After he got out in the most ridiculous fashion, the sign changed to "Man is a idiot - Sehwhack" :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
Sachinism Posted March 30, 2009 Posted March 30, 2009 Seem them before. I've wanted to take it to matches too, but Lords policy is BS Oval becoming gay too, looks like I'll have to travel to take a whiteboard :(
Deleted_User_1 Posted March 30, 2009 Author Posted March 30, 2009 Seriously the other five top batsmen saved his ass! He should be thanking them and also learning from them how to bat in such situations.
amits Posted April 4, 2009 Posted April 4, 2009 sehwag should be banned for 1 test for his irresponsible batting somebody should tell sehwag this is test cricket & not odi cricket where u have to keep a sr of above 100 sehwag, batted irresponsibly in this whole series looking to hit 4s & 6s off every ball & even got out cheaply failing to make even 1 50+ score in the entire series batting explosively in 1st innings is fine to some extent as we have 4-5 players who can play the long innings, but when in 2nd innings, sehwag should assume more responsibility & shouldnt go for his shots before crossing 40-50 & becoming well set and its time sehwag was slapped with a 1 test ban by the bcci for irresponsible batting :mad:
Sachinism Posted April 4, 2009 Posted April 4, 2009 wtf who hacked amits account The day he got out to a pretty good ball, you complain about his batting lol
Dirty_South Posted April 4, 2009 Posted April 4, 2009 The Way I Are - Timbaland ft Virender Sehwag :giggle:
amits Posted April 4, 2009 Posted April 4, 2009 i am complaining about his batting in whole series. i was waiting for the series to end before starting this thread and nobody hacked into my account. its just that i am not biased towards any city/region while supporting & and all players of india should be treated equally without any player benefitting from quota and its not my fault that sehwag & gambhir r so good
DomainK Posted April 4, 2009 Posted April 4, 2009 i am complaining about his batting in whole series. i was waiting for the series to end before starting this thread and nobody hacked into my account. its just that i am not biased towards any city/region while supporting & and all players of india should be treated equally without any player benefitting from quota and its not my fault that sehwag & gambhir r so good Then some evil scientist kidnapped you and changed your DNA. You are a mutant now.:omg:
Chandan Posted April 4, 2009 Posted April 4, 2009 somebody should tell sehwag this is test cricket & not odi cricket where u have to keep a sr of above 100 sehwag, batted irresponsibly in this whole series looking to hit 4s & 6s off every ball & even got out cheaply failing to make even 1 50+ score in the entire series batting explosively in 1st innings is fine to some extent as we have 4-5 players who can play the long innings, but when in 2nd innings, sehwag should assume more responsibility & shouldnt go for his shots before crossing 40-50 & becoming well set and its time sehwag was slapped with a 1 test ban by the bcci for irresponsible batting :mad: Two cheap dismissals in pursuit of sixes have suddenly made some people call Virender Sehwag an irresponsible batsman. From a match-winner whose audacious strikes to even good-length balls were being hailed as strokes of genius, he is now being castigated for being reckless and not playing in the team's interests. Funny how perceptions change from one extreme to another because of the premium we seem to place on success. We live in times where the success percentage has to be 100 for you to be any good. Had Bradman lived in the India of today, he would've been criticized for failing to maintain an average of 100, and not been celebrated for his astounding skill. Perhaps it is the fate of men like Sehwag — who live by the sword — that opinion about them continue to vacillate. The day they decimate bowlers with shots not found in the textbook, the world will acknowledge them as a genius. And the day they fail to conjure up strokes in defiance of batting grammar, they are berated and cautioned to play responsibly. You can make runs the Rahul Dravid way: with sound technique as the cornerstone on which to build a skilful, patient innings. You can make runs the Sachin Tendulkar way: striking a fine balance between perfect technique and daring. And you can make runs the Virender Sehwag way: toying with technique to create strokes that put the fear of God in bowlers. Someone like Tendulkar, who combines the skills of Dravid with the audacity of Sehwag, and also knows which method to use when, falls in the category of immortals. It is pointless discussing him. But needless to say that in the long run, batsmen like Dravid will score more runs and have a better average than Sehwag, who is a rare breed. His genius lies in mocking conventional wisdom that technique is central to batting success. His genius also lies in having created a path you admire but always dread to follow. He's created his own grammar, and made capital out of it. When he hits a six to reach his hundred, we all celebrate it. When he fails to repeat the same feat and gets caught at the boundary line, we are shocked and wonder if the risk was worth taking. The thin line between success and failure separates genius from mediocrity. In Sehwag's case, that line gets blurred too often. When he wins us matches, we hail him the greatest ever. When he fails, we feel he's made us lose, and react with anger. Maybe the fault lies with us. We don't respect him for what he is — a path breaker and an entertainer par excellence. I think the fault lies with us and it is true. We never learn to respect the genius!!! ritwik 1