IPL franchisees, coaches and captains say "strategy breaks" hamper momentum of the game

The newest addition to the Indian Premier League Season 2 is the intoduction of a "Strategy Break" slam bang in the middle of the innings. Do we really need a break of 7 1/2 mins to formulate strategies, NO its another one of Lodi's masterstroke to optimize ad revenues. However its frustrating for the Audiences both the ones watching at the Stadium and more so for the ones watching it on the Tely.If the team batting is blazing away to a flier, the momentum which the innings had possessed would have been put off by the break. Imagine yourself driving on a speed way and finding a seven and a half foot speed breaker right in the middle of it. Its no good for the teams neither the audiences. But ... There are some things which these breaks can ensure which should be good for the neutrals, now instead of having two sets of 20, we have four sets of ten overs which increases the degree of unpredictability in these games. Sides can make comebacks with a shift in momentum in the space of a few balls, one game on the Top of my head would be the Punjab v/s Delhi one last night, 6 overs 60 odd for the loss of no wickets and we all know what followed the two overs post the break, i wouldnt dare to say that it was the "Strategy Break" which won Delhi the game, they woould have won it anyways, but there was an evident shift in momentum which led to the Punjab collapse. Audiences in India Another so called benifit of having these ad breaks, atleast for those who are watching this in India, is by having them we are doing away with the "5-Ball" overs i.e. overs where the last ball would be cut in order to incorporate an extra ad, no more quick breaks at the fall of a wicket, where we would loose the replay of that particular dissmisal. If it hadnt been for these "Strategy Breaks" we would have been introduced to a whole new aspect of cricket "Four ball overs". So these "Strategy Breaks" might be frustrating but at the same time, it might and has already made the coverage more comprehensive than last year.

Next IPL, we will have T20 test matches. Team A plays 10 overs - break - team B plays 10 overs - break - team A comes back and plays remaining 10 overs - break - Team B chases the target in another 10 overs.

I think they should make it optional' date=' at times it can be useful for teams, but I reckon most teams wouldn't want it[/quote'] "It is all strictly business" so it will stay for this IPL alone.

IPL franchisees, coaches and captains say "strategy breaks" hamper momentum of the game NEW DELHI: The ongoing controversy over the so-called ‘strategy breaks’ took a dramatic turn on Monday when Team Chennai, who were coasting along at 106 for no loss after 10 overs in their match against Royal Challengers, lost crucial momentum when play resumed after the seven and-half minute break. The concept, a forced interruption to allow broadcasters to squeeze in extra slots for commercials, has generated heated debate with the likes of Sachin Tendulkar expressing their disapproval. Although Chennai still posted the highest total so far in IPL2 - 179 - they were looking good for 200 or more. Matthew Hayden, the tournament’s highest scorer so far, had bludgeoned his way to 65 off 35 balls and Parthiv Patel had been playing efficient second fiddle by the halfway stage. A 200-plus total looked a certainty until the break happened. The innocuous off-breaks of Kevin Pietersen immediately worked wonders for Chennai as two dramatic dismissals came about in two consecutive balls. The former England captain first broke the opening partnership, bowling Patel with his first ball, before orchestrating Hayden’s run out. The retired Australian, who entertained the St George’s Park crowd with nine fours and six sixes, failed to beat a Rahul Dravid direct throw to see his side reduced to 106 for two. Dhoni too did not stay for long and it was left to Andrew Flintoff and Albie Morkel to salvage the innings. Like for Team Delhi on Sunday, when Vettori’s spell altered the course of the game against Kings XI Punjab, the strategy break again worked in favour of the fielding team. No wonder, Kings XI coach Tom Moody said, "We had the momentum and we had seven-and-a-half minutes to lose it." In fact, the overwhelming opinion among players and coaches is that the break comes in the way of valuable momentum. "We have done well in our last match but I think the strategy breaks are hampering the momentum of a team," Mumbai Indians captain Sachin Tendulkar said. IPL commissioner Lalit Modi’s argument was that since the teams wasted a lot of time strategising, introducing the breaks would allow them to complete their strategising in the scheduled time. The question is, is it worth compromising the fast and furious pace which made T20 popular in the first place, just to generate more revenue? Royal Challengers coach Ray Jennings said, "Spectators are the ones they (administrators) need to be keeping their focus on. "The organisers could do interviews with four or five players in the change rooms, which can then be shown during these intervals."

ofcourse they hamper. Does Lalit Modi + sponsors care? It brings more $ - so they'll have two strategy breaks per innings if they can :roll:
Aunty ji , its a business ... IPL needs to make money. Do you think SAF is hosting these games for free ? dont u think moving IPL to SAF means lesser profit ? Its a business and if they think that people will wait for 10 mins for play to resume then they will milk it. Even I dont like the idea but hey its not like Im paying anything to watch it so I cant complain. :roti: