varun Posted October 21, 2009 Author Posted October 21, 2009 Tim Nielsen is their coach and not their wicket keeper' date=' please check that once again.If that is the case, is he the surprise wicket keeper that aussies were searching for :hmmmm:[/quote'] :giggle:, sorry bout that. dont include jadeja in he list coz hes a sure benchman instead have mishra' date=' [/quote'] Source: http://www.cricinfo.com/indvaus2009/content/squad/429655.html
Lord Posted October 21, 2009 Posted October 21, 2009 ^wat about this Varun http://www.cricinfo.com/indvaus2009/content/story/429631.html Rahul Dravid, brought in to shore up the middle order in bowler-friendly conditions in South Africa, has been dropped for the first two ODIs against Australia, a home series expected to be played on flat tracks. Both Virender Sehwag and Yuvraj Singh made comebacks from their injuries, taking the places of Dinesh Karthik and Dravid. Yusuf Pathan and RP Singh - struggling for form - and Abhishek Nayar, tried only for three overs in three games, have been dropped for Ravindra Jadeja, Munaf Patel and the uncapped Sudeep Tyagi. Ishant Sharma has been persisted with despite his struggles in the limited-overs format. The thorniest question of the selection, though, remained Dravid. Since his comeback, he has scored 14, 47, 39, 76 and 4 in five innings; the 39 came in a crucial 95-run opening stand in the final of the tri-series in Sri Lanka. It was expected that Sehwag and Yuvraj would replace Karthik and Virat Kohli, their original replacements, but the selectors put faith in Kohli. RP and Yusuf have been disappointing and added to India's struggles in the last few months. RP, after his comeback in the West Indies, averaged 53.20 and gave away 5.91 runs an over. Yusuf, in his last 11 innings, reached double-figures twice, and in 30 matches overall has sent down 111.2 overs. It does not reflect his captain's faith in his bowling. The same applied for Nayar, who has been in the squad for three different series did not score a run or take a wicket. Jadeja, Munaf and Tyagi, their replacements, all impressed during the Irani Cup and Challenger Trophy. Jadeja's 77, scored with the lower order in company, and Munaf's five-for got Rest of India the match-winning first-innings lead in the Irani tie. Munaf was the highest wicket-taker in the Challenger Trophy, while Tyagi's five wickets came at 18 apiece and Jadeja bowled 20 overs at an economy-rate of 3.7. India squad MS Dhoni (capt/wk), Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Ashish Nehra, Munaf Patel, Sudeep Tyagi, Praveen Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Amit Mishra. include Mishra to avoid the cofusion:P
varun Posted October 21, 2009 Author Posted October 21, 2009 ^wat about this Varun http://www.cricinfo.com/indvaus2009/content/story/429631.html include Mishra to avoid the cofusion:P Arrey bhai, the Superselector is automatically synced to the Cricinfo squads. Agar wahan nahi to yahaan bhi nahi :(( Agar tum sab ko itni hi lagi hai to i'll do some jiggery pokery to manually include him .. (later.. gotta run now)
Dinx - the Jinx Posted October 21, 2009 Posted October 21, 2009 Tim Nielsen is their coach and not their wicket keeper' date=' please check that once again.If that is the case, is he the surprise wicket keeper that aussies were searching for :hmmmm:[/quote'] joined in Oct 09, 3 posts and you already have 1 million ICF dollars.. :hatsoff: bhai..
ViruRulez Posted October 21, 2009 Posted October 21, 2009 ^wat about this Varun http://www.cricinfo.com/indvaus2009/content/story/429631.html include Mishra to avoid the cofusion:P Yup I was also surprised to find only one specialist spinner in the 15 member squad mentioned in SS.. please include Mishra.. I was really confused yesterday and thought it was absurd not to take a backup spinner
Laaloo Posted October 21, 2009 Posted October 21, 2009 Made some changes yesterday and now tied for 7th place from 15. I'm thinking about a few changes but I feel I should not change anything. Let's see how this will play out tomorrow.
Shane Posted October 22, 2009 Posted October 22, 2009 Will there be an increase in the no. of players per side for the final? or Will it be unchanged?
Dinx - the Jinx Posted October 22, 2009 Posted October 22, 2009 Will there be an increase in the no. of players per side for the final? or Will it be unchanged? i think it should remain the same.. assuming it is increased, everyone will pick almost the same squad and then there wont be any movement in the points.. currently you are having a lead of 100 so point.. there is still a chance for umanga to catch up if he made better selections than you.. by increasing the no. of players per team.. its highliy likely that you'll pick the same players he would also pick and there wont be any movement in terms of points.. and you'll win easy without any chance of an upset win for umanga..
Bradman99 Posted October 22, 2009 Posted October 22, 2009 Should make a series, where no subs are allowed. Would give a chance to others who don't get on as frequently to win.
Dinx - the Jinx Posted October 22, 2009 Posted October 22, 2009 Should make a series, where no subs are allowed. Would give a chance to others who don't get on as frequently to win. then it wont be like super selector.. even if u dont maKE many changes u still can win, if you have picked players who go on to make consistent score and.. but u have to make atleast once in a while, to accomodate injuries, someone better emerges from the team etc.. my point is... those who dont make frequent changes can still find themselves in the top 10. but to be on top 10 consistently, and to give urself a chance to win.. you have to make changes atleast once in a while.. your theory of not allowing any changes - you can see the results in the upcoming 7 match series between ind and aus. there are only 2 teams and 7 matches and ppl will hardly make any changes and will stick to the original team they picked, unless ofcourse if there are any injuries.. so even when you allow subs.. chance of ppl making freq subs is very less and the ones who got the best squad at the beginning will go on to win
Shane Posted October 22, 2009 Posted October 22, 2009 i think it should remain the same.. assuming it is increased' date=' everyone will pick almost the same squad and then there wont be any movement in the points.. currently you are having a lead of 100 so point.. there is still a chance for umanga to catch up if he made better selections than you.. by increasing the no. of players per team.. its highliy likely that you'll pick the same players he would also pick and there wont be any movement in terms of points.. and you'll win easy without any chance of an upset win for umanga..[/quote'] I concur, should remain the same, I was asking coz the last time it was changed.
Bradman99 Posted October 22, 2009 Posted October 22, 2009 Hmm yeah fair enough, but maybe for series like 20/20 one at the moment, when teams get knocked out, they should make subs free or something ? It'd just make it easier
Shane Posted October 22, 2009 Posted October 22, 2009 Love playing the T20 SS, especially when the likes of dinakkar, bobbydhillon, tapioca, karteek are around, they put some serious thought into both the game and the subs they make. Staying connected on the go helps. :winky:
Sachinism Posted October 22, 2009 Posted October 22, 2009 ^^ You guys do make too much of an effort in SS for us others to stand a chance. I usually pick a team and don't bother changing it at all. There are soo many unknown members playing SS, hope they would contribute to the forum a bit more
Lord Posted October 22, 2009 Posted October 22, 2009 ^^ You guys do make too much of an effort in SS for us others to stand a chance. I usually pick a team and don't bother changing it at all. There are soo many unknown members playing SS' date= hope they would contribute to the forum a bit more ya too many of them,only active members must be rewarded :protest:
Shane Posted October 22, 2009 Posted October 22, 2009 ^^ You guys do make too much of an effort in SS for us others to stand a chance. I usually pick a team and don't bother changing it at all. There are soo many unknown members playing SS' date=' hope they would contribute to the forum a bit more[/quote'] Funny that, I have made Subs on most days barring one and that was when I was bumped 3 places ahead to numero uno, so I would say mass substitution isn't the name of the game (to name a couple, ViruRulez, bobbydhillon who were hardly active during the early stages). I remember when I started with SS last year, in the Eng-SA ODI Series, there were 21 players and now I guess it averages 110-130 every tournament. The SS is certainly a hit. I hope we can have some tweaks when it reaches to around 500. Agreed, Ideally would like to have many of them post (amitkalra :hehe:), but then it should not be made compulsive.
Dinx - the Jinx Posted October 22, 2009 Posted October 22, 2009 I concur' date=' should remain the same, I was asking coz the last time it was changed.[/quote'] It was changed by Rajiv.. dont know frm where he got that idea.. he kept changing the rules towards the end.. for the semis and then for the finals. he allowed 10 players to be picked from same team.. i thought it was not a very good idea.. but Rajiv being mod.. i dint say anything... after all he is the site owner and he can do what he wants... :--D but what amazes me most is these guys disappear on days when the match starts late and there is a need for some admin to be present to open/close as per the actual start of the matches... there are some good suggestions from ppl in recent posts on tweaking the game a little bit.. i think the need of the hour is to address the issue of opening/closing the substitution window during delayed starts, without putting pressure on varun alone... it does create a lot of frustration when that happens.. mods who are online at that time should come for help... :two_thumbs_up: before the bomb scare delay i would hav definitely picked ross and viru. but i was denied the opportunity and those who had them already in their squad benefitted. I lost 160 (200 scored by ross and viru together and -40 for changes).. ppl may say it applies to everyone.. yeah.. right. but some ppl like me have the strategy that revolves around subbing every game... being able to sub and then those players biting the dust is one thing and being denied the chance to sub is another.. especially when you adjust your entire schedule for the day in order to make urself available at home to make changes... so.. my kind requrst is the first thing that varun and mods should think of doing is, how to ensure that such hiccups dont happen.. the best case scenario is to synch it with cricinfo in such a way tht subbing closes only when the match actually starts and not based on pre programmed scheduled start time.. if thats not possible, there should be a larger pool of mods, atleast 1 each from each geography who can open/close manually.. hope the concerned ppl will think about it...
varun Posted October 22, 2009 Author Posted October 22, 2009 Would you any of you volunteer to be SS Mods ?
Guest Hiten. Posted October 22, 2009 Posted October 22, 2009 Would you any of you volunteer to be SS Mods ? State out the responsibilities, I might be interested :--D P.S: This has nothing to do with my bottom of the table performance(s) :giggle:
varun Posted October 22, 2009 Author Posted October 22, 2009 State out the responsibilities, I might be interested :--D P.S: This has nothing to do with my bottom of the table performance(s) :giggle: lol, sure. 1. Be Honest 2. Get familiar with the SS Admin interface 3. Be present at match starts in case it gets delayed, and do the needful (from the main SS interface) 4. Try to take care of user requests for re-syncing squads/match timings with Cricinfo using the Admin interface 5. Be Honest I'll have to warn you, the the Admin interface was coded by me in a hurry, and you'd have to tread carefully while making changes. I might start off new SS Mods off with the responsibility for just item 3 (and of course 1 and 5 :giggle:)