Ricky Ponting LORDS over the rest.

patriot

4th innings is as important jyest brahtahshri- and Punter truely lords over SRT in 4th innings stakes.:winky:
Your hyperbole about 420 Juari being in a league of his own this decade has been blown apart by me earlier. 15+ bats with 50+ avg, quite a few with better away averages. Some 'league' of his own he is. :cantstop:
Luzzolla !!! How cleverly Gambo bhai is trying to exclude Zimbabwe from the away records in the 90s.:orderorder:. There were no true minnows in the 90's.Zimbabwe team then, was the best they had in their history. We had never won a test in Zimbabwe let alone a series - Zim had also beaten cornered donkeys AWAY. Eddo Brandes and Heath Streak gave the little man a tough time on the spongy bounce wickets of Bulawayo and Harare - so don't you dare exclude that.:nono: . Purely on AWAY averages tu jhootha saabit hota hai.:haha:
This is gold!! Earlier, poor misfiring patriot missible bhai was delivered some serious pies on his face when shown that SRT was indeed in a league of his own being only one with 55+, highest away avg etc. Now to save face, he's trying to glorify the minnows :hysterical: And mind you, these are the same minnows he rubbished in an earlier thread(where his Lankan taklu was utterly obliterated when compared with SRT :winky:)when he contended that SRT only performed in finals against Kenya and Zimbabwe. What a sad state of affairs :((
Kissi mein toh achha kiya. The little man was a disaster in both forms.:hmmmm2:
SRT was the third highest run getter on the wonderbras on and only 1 of 3 batsmen on either side to make a 50. Taklu's pottered his way to an earth shattering average of 10 losing his wicket 3 out of 4 times to Bond. :dance:

Taklu is too high imho for SRT to aim. I'd rather go for someone like Ashraful or Toffee Kumar, may be SRT can give them a run for their money. And yes, Ponting is in a league of his own. There are not too many batsmen, and by that I mean none, that can be proudly called Bhajji's bunny. Yet another case of being lost in stats.

Ever considered that such a statement can hurt someone's sentiments? For example: Ishant's?:D

Usually, in discussions like these, the all important quotient is ignored. A player succeeding on 6 occasions out of 30 innings is not the same as one doing well in 6 out of 60 innings. The former is twice as likely to do well, in this case, in the metric under discussion, which is the 4th innings. If we define success as scoring 50 or above (dismissed or not), and failure as a score of under 50 and being dismissed, then Tendulkar has succeeded in 6 out of 36 fourth innings knocks, a proportion of 16.7%. Using the same criteria, Ponting has succeeded in 7 out of 29 fourth innings outings, a proportion of 24.1%. Therefore, just as a player who succeeds on half the occasions is twice as likely to play a decisive innings than one who succeeds on a quarter of such occasions, Ponting has succeeded 45% more often than Tendulkar in 4th innings knocks.

BTW, Shwetabh, I am catching up on all these threads and finding an opportunity to question some of the things. Why is it that you have pointed out Ponting's shocking 4th innings record in the subcontinent and yet failed to mention that Sachin averages 19 , 9, and 8 respectively in 4th innings played in Australia, SA and SL respectively?

BTW' date=' Shwetabh, I am catching up on all these threads and finding an opportunity to question some of the things. Why is it that you have pointed out Ponting's shocking 4th innings record in the subcontinent and yet failed to mention that Sachin averages 19 , 9, and 8 respectively in 4th innings played in Australia, SA and SL respectively?[/quote'] I didn't mention them because I did not look them up and was not aware of them. Surely, I am not going to form a judgment on how good or bad a player is in the 4th innings based on how he has done in places like Australia and South Africa. It's like calling some opener a poor player of pace because he has poor numbers in India in the first innings.

We all saw how Punter the great performed in 4th innings at Lords and at Oval. Freezing, choking, shivering and finally run out stupidly. yeah yeah, he's world's greatest batsman under pressure and thrives under those situations.

Ponting you choker. Flops chasing a patheticaly small total. He let his team down and his country down. Lets be frank chasing such a pathetic total Tendulkar would have chased them down batting with a tooth pick!