varun Posted November 8, 2006 Posted November 8, 2006 Re: the dreaded question. Driving cars isn't a sport ! Desis are too serious to take sports seriously , i think :shrug:
Anakin Posted November 8, 2006 Posted November 8, 2006 Re: the dreaded question. Anand, one of the greatest chess players ever
Gambit Posted March 18, 2008 Posted March 18, 2008 If anyone has been asked this question recently, use this thread as info. :D Also don't forget to mention that we are 20/20 World Champs.
cochise Posted March 18, 2008 Posted March 18, 2008 Kabaddi man, we are the Asian champs! World champs man! Kabaddi rules!!! http://www.kabaddiikf.com/article9.htm
suraj Posted March 18, 2008 Posted March 18, 2008 We are extremely good at Polo, thanks to the fantastic Manipuris. We are kabaddi world champs. Hey wait, I'm proving your point. Obscure sports. Beta/beti bade huey nahi ki ma baap ne kahan doctor bano engineer bano. Lots of students do TP in the games/recreation period. We are quite a lazy bunch. We don't go cycling. We hardly do trekking. I guess its because we don't have a sporting/outdoor recreation culture in India. Which is where this problem stems from. People prefer to laze around on Saturday/Sunday afternoon, drink tea and watch social melodramas on television. In fact, we should be rather thankful for our Sachins and Leanders. Pata nahin kahan se aa gaye Very good & extremely realistic post
living Posted March 18, 2008 Posted March 18, 2008 We are pretty decent in Billiards :D The problem in India is that we have lots of extremely talented kids under the age of 15/16, then a huge chunk of them give up on their sport and concentrate on studies instead. I know many good swimmers, tennis, table tennis players who were really good at the age of 15 and then started studying for the JEE. Sad plight, and not most of them have become another one of those studious type kids.
PaiN_KiLLeR Posted March 18, 2008 Posted March 18, 2008 and how could you guys forget chess? we have the world number 1 male chess player & the world number 2 female player.
Desi Cartman Posted March 19, 2008 Posted March 19, 2008 ^ true & our number one player prefers to live in Holland than in India ...
PaiN_KiLLeR Posted March 19, 2008 Posted March 19, 2008 he lives in Spain during the chess season. It suits him logistically because all the main chess tournaments are held in Europe. Nothing wrong in that.
Desi Cartman Posted March 19, 2008 Posted March 19, 2008 he lives in Spain during the chess season. It suits him logistically because all the main chess tournaments are held in Europe. Nothing wrong in that. I thought he lived in Holland and that too all year around ..Maybe I am wrong :omg:
coffee_rules Posted March 19, 2008 Posted March 19, 2008 We used to have a decent squash team in the 80s and 90s. I don't know now. I am not in the jansher Khan level, but still a decent intl team.
triam Posted March 20, 2008 Posted March 20, 2008 Badminton we are pretty good, didnt we used to be good in weight lifting (particularly in the womens side?), squash pretty decent, golf we are doing good, tennis average, hockey average, shooting average, archery average, The sports we reallly really suck at are football (not the american one), athletics, almost all olympic sports like swimming, track and field which are the high profile events. Winter olympics, dont even know if we have anyone doing these stuff in india.
THX_1138 Posted March 20, 2008 Posted March 20, 2008 we excell at shooting, archery, field hockey, cricket, and are rising in the ranks of asian soccer playing nations. we are not a multidiverse in our sport interests and that is not a neglectable fact. and obscurity of a sport is determined by your geographical location. soccer is obscure in canada and united states but a religion just below the american southern border; similarly cricket is obscure in iran and china... but inbetween the two nations, its a national sport of sorts. and finally, how dare the prejudiced western europeans and americans critique our obscure sports when they celebrate "winter" olympics or as they were recently and rather notoriously refered to as the "white man's olympics" with sports such as kurling. mind you i enjoy kurling (or curling), its incredible fun to watch... helps pass the time like watching sand grains in an hourglass; but it is more obscure and rare than hair on a bald man's scalp.
triam Posted March 20, 2008 Posted March 20, 2008 But the point is, the only "global" sports we are half way decent are Tennis, Golf ( although I have a hard time considering Golf as a sport). By Global I mean more than atleast 60% of the countries are interested with. Soccer may not be as popular as other sports in US and canada but can never be called obscure in these countries.
Guest HariSampath Posted March 22, 2008 Posted March 22, 2008 Here is a real fact of life. Last 20 odd years I have seen this in my neighborhood. 3 sportsmen live/have residences in my neighborhood, all within 3-4 blocks of each other. Vishy Anand, former hockey captain Bhaskaran and Krish Srikkanth. Krish Srikkanth is recognised by everyone , anytime all the time. ( whether they know him personally or not AND he is the least achiever) Vishy Anand is recognised by a few who know his face, or those who have known him last 20 years/friends , neighbors etc whenever he takes a walk to the beach, shops etc when he is in town V Bhaskaran , former Hockey captain is hardly known to anyone , and he is literally anonymous as practically no one even stops and speaks to him. How sad , this man is the greatest achiever of the above 3 as he led India to an Olympic Gold in Moscow. I once ran into him some years back, late at night when I had gone out for a smoke and I introduced myself and told him I had been in this neighborhood for many years. He was so genuinely happy, and I even spent some time discussing Ashok Kumar, Govinda etc. This is the state of other sport in India.
cochise Posted March 22, 2008 Posted March 22, 2008 I say! High density of talent where you stay man! Are you a champ of sorts yourself? Agree though...sad state of affairs with sportsmen in India...outside of cricket... p.s. when I had gone out for a smoke You go out for one? I must be a bad boy...I light up in the house...
Guest HariSampath Posted March 22, 2008 Posted March 22, 2008 ^..LOl I am no champ of any sorts , but I had played U-19, U-15 and club cricket years back, and I had played for my univ cricket team 3 years and led it too, but in my place these standards are not even average, as there are indeed several state/international sportsmen . a small example : within 1 mile of my home, there are half a dozen state cricketers, another half a dozen former state cricketers, 3 Int'l cricketers , 3-4 national athletic champs , apart from the 3 top sportsmen I mentioned earlier. But even then, apart from Robin Singh and Srikkanth, not many faces are easily recognized I am a bad boy too, I smoke at home always, but of course many times I do have to go out to get a pack or smthng :D
THX_1138 Posted March 23, 2008 Posted March 23, 2008 We rock at stick cricket. thats a global phenomenon.
suraj Posted March 24, 2008 Posted March 24, 2008 Here is a real fact of life. Last 20 odd years I have seen this in my neighborhood. 3 sportsmen live/have residences in my neighborhood, all within 3-4 blocks of each other. Vishy Anand, former hockey captain Bhaskaran and Krish Srikkanth. Krish Srikkanth is recognised by everyone , anytime all the time. ( whether they know him personally or not AND he is the least achiever) Vishy Anand is recognised by a few who know his face, or those who have known him last 20 years/friends , neighbors etc whenever he takes a walk to the beach, shops etc when he is in town V Bhaskaran , former Hockey captain is hardly known to anyone , and he is literally anonymous as practically no one even stops and speaks to him. How sad , this man is the greatest achiever of the above 3 as he led India to an Olympic Gold in Moscow. I once ran into him some years back, late at night when I had gone out for a smoke and I introduced myself and told him I had been in this neighborhood for many years. He was so genuinely happy, and I even spent some time discussing Ashok Kumar, Govinda etc. This is the state of other sport in India. you are in a good neighbourhood
cricketman Posted March 24, 2008 Posted March 24, 2008 If any foreign girl/person asks you what sports India are good at - please refrain from using the 'geeky' games - Chess, Badminton, ect. Just doesn't float too well, stick to Cricket and Tennis :)