Texy Posted December 27, 2009 Posted December 27, 2009 Delhi: Unruly crowd erupted in anger after the fifth and final India-Sri Lanka one-dayer was abandoned on Sunday because of a dangerous pitch at Ferozeshah Kotla. The Sunday morning crowd had come with the anticipation of another Indian win in the last match of the series and had an early reason to cheer when Zaheer Khan removed in-form Lankan opener Upul Tharanga with the first delivery of the day. With the Sri Lankans struggling on the treacherous track and losing their top five batsmen for just 83, an Indian win looked very much on the cards and the crowd was simply incensed when Sri Lankan batsman Thilina Kandamby complained to the umpires. The next one-and-half hours saw an on-field conference involving match officials and captains from both sides while the crowd got impatient. Realising the chances of further play was slim, they started hurling water bottles and chair covers into the ground, while some raised banners reading "I want my money back". They also screamed "hai hai" and "sack the curator". Some others then started breaking the chairs in the stand and hurled it inside ground even though Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA) officials, including Vice-President Chetan Chauhan, offered an adjoining pitch to Match Referee Alan Hurst in his futile attempt to save the match. The entire outfield was littered with missiles and the security personnel were on their toes to prevent any untoward incident. This is for everyone who were bringing up riots at Eden in the 4th match.....:finger:
EnterTheVoid Posted December 27, 2009 Posted December 27, 2009 In all seriousness, as unpleasant as the incident was, I am glad it happened in some meaningless dead rubber ODI rather than a high profile test match. Doesn't this idiot crowd ever learn ?
Nova Posted December 27, 2009 Posted December 27, 2009 I hope money was refunded....but I want to know what if this was the deciding match.
maggot_brain Posted December 27, 2009 Posted December 27, 2009 All the idiots criticising the Kolkata crowd can shut up now.
EnterTheVoid Posted December 27, 2009 Posted December 27, 2009 What happened to that curator who prepared that shocking pitch for the '96 cup semi final btw ?
Nova Posted December 27, 2009 Posted December 27, 2009 Money has been refunded by the way. This is what I read: The DDCA, meanwhile, has apologised for the fiasco. "[The] DDCA regrets the inconvenience caused to all spectators and others. We offer our apologies to them. All gate tickets will be refunded,"
DomainK Posted December 27, 2009 Posted December 27, 2009 All the idiots criticising the Kolkata crowd can shut up now. What the Delhi crowd did today does not justify what the Calcutta crowd did in 96. Both need to be criticized. What happened to that curator who prepared that shocking pitch for the '96 cup semi final btw ? That was not the curator's mistake.
Desi Cartman Posted December 27, 2009 Posted December 27, 2009 Domaink , it was curators fault. The pitch was turning 90 degrees within 4 hrs :orderorder:
DomainK Posted December 27, 2009 Posted December 27, 2009 Domaink ' date=' it was curators fault. The pitch was turning 90 degrees within 4 hrs :orderorder:[/quote'] Yeah, but after the pitch was destroyed in the inaugural ceremony, the pitch had to be relaid in a hurry.
EnterTheVoid Posted December 27, 2009 Posted December 27, 2009 So, what happened to the curator ? Can't find anything remotely relevant on google.
DomainK Posted December 27, 2009 Posted December 27, 2009 So' date=' what happened to the curator ? Can't find anything remotely relevant on google.[/quote'] Whatever. BCCI has dissolved the Ground and pitches committee. So they are dealing at the right level. The curator can be dealt with later.
EnterTheVoid Posted December 27, 2009 Posted December 27, 2009 DK, I meant that '96 curator. This BS brings back the bad memories from '96
achilles Posted December 27, 2009 Posted December 27, 2009 I missed the entire "action" today. What a crime I committed :((
DomainK Posted December 27, 2009 Posted December 27, 2009 I missed the entire "action" today. What a crime I committed :(( Don't worry, you are not alone. I missed it all as well.
Anonymous Posted December 27, 2009 Posted December 27, 2009 The media is ripping the BCCI off :P They sure are..:bumsmack: http://www.ndtv.com/news/videos/video_player.php?id=1188895