pappu_kanghi Posted January 30, 2010 Posted January 30, 2010 :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:@impure indians these impure indians r paying the price for leaving india & going to some foreign land. had they been loyal to their country, they would have never had to face these things I wont call them impure indians. Most of them who go outside india want to improve their lifestyle and to improve their children's future.
straight.drive Posted January 31, 2010 Posted January 31, 2010 In a nutshell we are taking jobs from the locals(professional or otherwise), not creating jobs for the locals, and also inspiring people back home to join the immigration line. I think as a nation we have to look hard at that. As a country we need to upgrade from job consumers to job creators(read entrepreneurs). The day we do that would also be the day we can stop addressing the issue of migrartion in a very effective way. xxx :hatsoff::hatsoff::hatsoff: I second your thoughts. But that day is not long. If you can see Immigrations of South Koreans to West has fallen drastically in the last 10 years, thanks to their economic growth. Same will happen in our country after one or two decades
beetle Posted February 2, 2010 Posted February 2, 2010 It is their own mistake. I dont know what is this lust for firangi job. Nowadays there are thousands of MNCs in India and they can waste less money of their parents and then get a good job here in India. But they and sometimes their parents too are adamant that they would go to UK, Canada, US or any other firangi country instead of working in their own country. I dont blame anyone else except them for a mess. If the university would have been that great then how come they would get admission so easily. They should have basic knowledge that they would not get admission to IIT, IIM or NIT equivalent in UK, Canada, US etc. so easily. It is better that they utilized the money and energy for studying and then working in India instead. Anyways if they are so talented they would anyways get a job in firangi land with their Indian degree. I see this firangi lust trend especially amongst most of my Punjabi friends who are really crazy about studying and working or at least living in UK, Canada etc. No offence to anybody but I think these people are themselves to be blamed. And the UK govt. is also right in not helping them much. In the future when India becomes a superpower I personally would not prefer allowing foreigners coming here for living and job. Maybe I would never prefer India allowing to the extent to which US, UK, Canada or other countries allow foreigners to take jobs. agree....andI find it difficult to sympathise with such idiots.
Lurker Posted February 2, 2010 Posted February 2, 2010 during my visit to India, two things were very significant, corruption & pollution, that's why I rather live here & enjoy life than put up with all that...I'm very patroitic, but I hate corruption, hopefully superpower India can stem this rot in future. I have heard that argument, corruption, as one of the main drivers why many Indians have immigrated to the West. Is that a fair argument or more of an excuse? Or maybe a little bit of both?? Consider this: a) The most corrupt states in India, UP/Bihar, have less migrants in the West than the less corrupt states, Tamil Nadu and Gujarat. By any independent accounts Gujarat, Tamil Nadu, Punjab etc are not only less corrupt(or polluted for that matter) than say Bihar, but also have lot more economic oppertunities. Then why is it that every othe citizen from these states is in a hurry to jump abroad? When I was studying at REC Jamshedpur about half of the students, as per the regulations, were from rest of the country. It would be wrong to generalize but while Biharis/UPites were busy getting into a job, study for MBA(or IES) bulk of my South Indian buddies were busy preparing for SAT and looking at overseas for education, even if they landed at a University that was not even in top 50. Maybe this is not about corruption as much as quality of life? Corruption simply become a valid reason but more of an excuse? b) Some of the largest Indian companies still seem to suffer from another form of corruption - nepotism?? Fairly recently a friend of mine whose judgement I trust, refuse to go back to India because the company(an Indian IT giant) she worked for is heavily Tamil influenced and it is very difficult to be simply good and be appreciated. Since I did not have much of an idea of the company I ran it by another Southie friend, a Hyderabadi, and he shrugged his shoulders and said - Yes, thats true, how come you didnt know that. If this is true for a leading IT company based in one of the most educated states of India is there any reason why we blame the country and not the people(ourselves)? xxx
Guest Gunner Posted February 2, 2010 Posted February 2, 2010 b) Some of the largest Indian companies still seem to suffer from another form of corruption - nepotism?? Fairly recently a friend of mine whose judgement I trust, refuse to go back to India because the company(an Indian IT giant) she worked for is heavily Tamil influenced and it is very difficult to be simply good and be appreciated. Since I did not have much of an idea of the company I ran it by another Southie friend, a Hyderabadi, and he shrugged his shoulders and said - Yes, thats true, how come you didnt know that. If this is true for a leading IT company based in one of the most educated states of India is there any reason why we blame the country and not the people(ourselves)? xxx Lurker, Maybe slightly offtopic but I think still valid. Why is it that I always hear these accusations in India by people of one state about the other? The company which I work for has a lot of Marwadis and is generally accused of having a bias towards them. Its kind of interesting that we always accuse eachother of this.
Lurker Posted February 2, 2010 Posted February 2, 2010 Lurker, Maybe slightly offtopic but I think still valid. Why is it that I always hear these accusations in India by people of one state about the other? The company which I work for has a lot of Marwadis and is generally accused of having a bias towards them. Its kind of interesting that we always accuse eachother of this. Because it is true, isn't it Gunner? Why else do you think an overwhelming population of India have sympathy for English over Hindi as the dominant language? Hindi shall kill the local culture, tradition and what have you but a foreign language shall sustain it?? Really? My larger point of the earlier post - nepotism - was basically hinting at it. We tend to group together with minimum common denominator, most of the times which happens to be linguistic. I have not lived in Europe for an extended period so can not comment on the same but in US it is very common to see Indians huddled together in their own linguistic groups. heck sometimes even within the same linguistic groups there are subgroups as the Telugu folks shall attest readily. The exception, and I have to be careful here as I dont want to put one state over a pedestal, are the folks from UP/Bihar. Maybe it is because they lack the numbers, or maybe because Biharis are more comfortable fighting with each other than folks from other states :giggle: (a couple of good friends of mine Dada_Rocks and Sandtest shall quickly attest to that :giggle: ) xx
coffee_rules Posted February 2, 2010 Posted February 2, 2010 Most people with families that I come across, who tried to go back to India, have come back here within a year having not adjusted to the lifestyle there. For singles or DINK couples (that is double income no kids), probably Mumbai or New York is all the same. But it is difficult to go back once you have kids. I think there is too much division in India - language based states, castes, sub-castes, color, class. It is a small wonder life goes on smoothly over there. The first time in Mumbai local trains, I was wondering how/where to get in the train. I learnt it and found the easiest way. Just stand in the crowd, people behind you will push you and make sure you can get in the train. I think that sums up life in India. Just stand in the crowd, you will move on.
Desi Cartman Posted February 2, 2010 Posted February 2, 2010 My first cousin lost his brother and Father in a road accident, father passed away on the spot in HP and the son died in Chandigargh. He bribed as many people as he could till his brother was alive. The PGI chandgargh is worse than any poor hospital shown in Indian movies. Unhelpful Nurses and warboys. The doctors who would operate on him ( not in the theater but in the room with curtains around) would often joke .. while my cousin fought for life. He died 8 days later... then what happened makes me ashamed even today. Some sarkari guy asked him for bribe to give the death certificate. The brother is someone who was one of the brightest physiotherapists in India, who had returned from UK to work with handicapped in India> He came back for good to help the needy and was working with NGOs. That guy died where better facilites could have saved him or maybe not ... but when a babu asks for bribe from a 29 yr old UK resident ( the surviving brother ) then do u think he will ever talk about coming back ? This happened more than 4-5 months ago. The younger son still cant go back to the UK and start his life again as he has to work with banks, insurance companies , courts ( well his father was a magistrate ) ... You know in Dilli .. people in courts/offices ask him " Acha tera baap marr gaya .. bhai bhi gaya " ... I cant tell u what I felt when I heard all this and much much more ... This is even 1% of what his family went through. Just imagne even now he is dealing with Deli Police , Himachal police and Chandigargh Read this http://www.indianexpress.com/news/she-battled-disability-crises-to-offer-others-access-to-hope/554191/0 This is about him & his wife .. who is handicapped .. They both won Helen Keller award. Read the article and tell me , did Vikas make the right choice when he came back to India ? I am telling this since there have been couple of instances in which i have seen from very close where the police-court-hospital-even mortuary have made me literally cry in India. You can have all the money but still you cant protect your own. Its all for sale but not everything can be bought in time. I always thought about going back to India .. Now honestly, I dont want to...
Guest Gunner Posted February 2, 2010 Posted February 2, 2010 My first cousin lost his brother and Father in a road accident, father passed away on the spot in HP and the son died in Chandigargh. He bribed as many people as he could till his brother was alive. The PGI chandgargh is worse than any poor hospital shown in Indian movies. Unhelpful Nurses and warboys. The doctors who would operate on him ( not in the theater but in the room with curtains around) would often joke .. while my cousin fought for life. He died 8 days later... then what happened makes me ashamed even today. Some sarkari guy asked him for bribe to give the death certificate. The brother is someone who was one of the brightest physiotherapists in India, who had returned from UK to work with handicapped in India> He came back for good to help the needy and was working with NGOs. That guy died where better facilites could have saved him or maybe not ... but when a babu asks for bribe from a 29 yr old UK resident ( the surviving brother ) then do u think he will ever talk about coming back ? This happened more than 4-5 months ago. The younger son still cant go back to the UK and start his life again as he has to work with banks, insurance companies , courts ( well his father was a magistrate ) ... You know in Dilli .. people in courts/offices ask him " Acha tera baap marr gaya .. bhai bhi gaya " ... I cant tell u what I felt when I heard all this and much much more ... This is even 1% of what his family went through. Just imagne even now he is dealing with Deli Police , Himachal police and Chandigargh Read this http://www.indianexpress.com/news/she-battled-disability-crises-to-offer-others-access-to-hope/554191/0 This is about him & his wife .. who is handicapped .. They both won Helen Keller award. Read the article and tell me , did Vikas make the right choice when he came back to India ? I am telling this since there have been couple of instances in which i have seen from very close where the police-court-hospital-even mortuary have made me literally cry in India. You can have all the money but still you cant protect your own. Its all for sale but not everything can be bought in time. I always thought about going back to India .. Now honestly, I dont want to... That is heart breaking daisy. I can't say much more.