dps rpk
Is DPS acronym for Delhi Public School ? If so, count me in as one of your alumni ( even if i only did KG & class 1 in DPS :haha:)
Thats pretty cool CC.. Though it comes to my mind , if you so constantly kept shuttling from one place to place , did you ever start feeling "home" at any city at all ? I mean , by the time you got the hang of one city , it seems as though you were out of it !
Well i've always felt Kolkata is home because thats where i am from. Plus 90% of my family,including most extended family, lives within a day's journey from Kolkata. Plus i spent 3 yrs in Kolkata in my teens and my mom's been living mostly in kolkata for the last 8-9 years. But otherwise, i've felt at home in Vancouver only...maybe because its the city i've been in the longest apart from Kolkata at a stretch ( its been over 5 yrs in vancouver at a stetch...everywhere else but Kolkata i've done 3 or less at a stretch). To me, feeling at home is a lot dependent with my social life & their situation...here i have friends who are born and brought up 'vannies' and their families are here. In a lot of other places, like Kingston,Ottawa, Doha, etc, most of my friend were expats/visiting students etc who didnt have any family there....so we as a group never felt as 'part of the town' before...i dunno if that made any sense..

Cities for me: Gaya: Born, raised, went to school there. Still the city closest to my heart. Very old town with lot of history & mythological background. Perhaps the best part is that it is still a very affordable town, specially when it comes to eating. You have authentic Gaya ki mithai that is not made anywhere else(and they are wonderful too). Being an agriculture area the vegetables are the cheapest I have seen anywhere. The last time I was at home there was this elderly woman vendor who came to my house selling palak ka saag(spinach). My Dad buys a kg from her everyday. That day he had gone out and so I opened the door. I asked her the price and she told me 1 rupaye ser(1 Rs Kg)! Just about this time my Dad came home and told her that I was his son. She was so happy that she gave an extra kg of saag for no price. Hard to find that kind of love in this material world. Patna: Went there for my Intermediate though I never really studied. First big town for me. Had the ball of a time living in hostel. Watched movies almost every other day, picked the cycle and went to Gandhi Maidan area which had about 4-5 theaters then. Good time. Jamshedpur: Did my Engineering there. Beautiful town and easy to see why the TATAs are so revered in India. Again did not study but did manage to come out with a job at the end which I suppose is what matters. Jamshedpur was unique in the sense that it has its own language. Just like Bombay has its, "Apun bola na" in the same way Jamshedpur has its own lingo, "Abbe hum bola na be". It is very infectious and within the first 6 months most of us had started using it. Bombay: Reached Bombay with 2000 rupees. Within a week realized how tough it would be to survive(going rate for a house then was 5000 rent with 50,000 deposit). But it was also worth noting that if you did survive this was the city of dreams. Remains city close to my heart since it made a man out of an otherwise fresh Engineer. Within USA I have lived in many towns. Some big ones like Chicago, New York, San Francisco, Phoenix etc, many small towns as well. The smallest town I lived in had a population of 1000 people with no cell-phone coverage, no McDonald/Walmart/Buger King etc. It was a Industrial Township and for about a year I was cut-off from the civilized world. Worked a lot, worked out a lot and came out a better man overall. xxx

That was wonderful to read, Lurker. People's struggles en route their present day status inspires me so much, I do wish they would write about it, but I realize that constraints of time and perhaps reservations about airing personal details stop many of us from doing so. You did your engineering from RIT, Jamshedpur? (actually in Adityapur, that). One of the best regional colleges with some amazingly good lecturers, and yes, a very vibrant town, blessed by the benefaction of the best industrial house in India in terms of employee welfare.

which section?
:hysterical::hysterical: Saala tum log ab section pe bhi aa gaya? Waise is it possible that you two would have met each other? I mean how many students are there in one class at DPS? Dekha to jaroor hoga ek doosre ko? And I am sure you two looked number 1 ch****a even back then :tounge_smile:

Excellent write-up by Lurker ! No Walmart/McDonald in that town ? The surprising. An american town witout burger king/mcdonald !

I do wish they would write about it, but I realize that constraints of time and perhaps reservations about airing personal details stop many of us from doing so.
I belong to the same school of thought Dhondy. It is far more interesting to read about real-life experiences, experience that you can connect with directly rather than talk about Arab-Israel conflict. Dont get me wrong the latter is important too but there is that connection which is always missing. I think people do not write much about themselves for a variety of reason. For one there is always the danger of coming across as self-congratulation. Then there are experiences which people would much rather keep close to their hearts, not to mention avoid insensitive situations with strangers on MB. Regardless the best conversation are always personal and it remains true on MB too.
You did your engineering from RIT, Jamshedpur? (actually in Adityapur, that). One of the best regional colleges with some amazingly good lecturerers, and yes, a very vibrant town, blessed by the benefaction of the best industrial house in India in terms of employee welfare.
Yes I did my Bachelors in Engg from RIT Jamshedpur. It was a nice institute. It is funny how I ended up there really. I mean I have always wanted to join NDA, then joined and left it(thats a story for other time), then somehow(and dont ask me how) got a decent rank in state Engg. Could have taken one of the higher ranked REC's but my Dad wanted me to be close to home,. and frankly I didnt care. It really amazes me, in a disappointing way I must concede, that I did not have any idea of what branch of engineering I would pick when I went to counselling. RIT is a pretty decent institute though. Some nice lecturers and faculties. The better part was the experience outside of it. By the end of first year most of us have sat on top of a Matador(407), College Bus and even on Locomotive Trains. Life was rough but you know what they say - what doesnt kill you makes you stronger. Amazing experience. Would go back in a heartbeat. xxx

bhai ..aisa nahi hai... during my counseling time for the admission to my college...we were standing outside the auditorium .... we were 6-7 guys standing together.. and were discussing ranks..school...branch..etc etc...just then one guy told another..." I THINK you were in my class".. saala...mai chakra gaya..... i knew my whole school mates..( XI and XII)...or at least my schoolmates knew me too well... no wonder..they were from factory ( DPS RKP)..

I Amazing experience. Would go back in a heartbeat.
Wonderful experiences there Lurker ! Dont mistake me fellows.. but nostalgia does more damage than good, i think.
No Walmart/McDonald in that town ? The surprising. An american town witout burger king/mcdonald !
Yep. It was a Copper Mining town in Arizona. The people who lived there worked in the Mines. There was a gas-station and a Co-Operative operated by the company. And of course a Chinese restaurant(they seem to be everywhere). No McD or Walmart. The nearest barber was 40 miles away, the nearest Walmart about 150 miles. There was 1 theatre which showed a grand total of 4 shows in a week! I went there for 2 months work and ended up staying for a year. I actually liked the place. Facilities were great, natural beauty was amazing and local girls thought be to be "exotic" lol. xx
:hysterical::hysterical: Saala tum log ab section pe bhi aa gaya? Waise is it possible that you two would have met each other? I mean how many students are there in one class at DPS? Dekha to jaroor hoga ek doosre ko? And I am sure you two looked number 1 ch****a even back then :tounge_smile:
Lurker you wont believe but in 11th and 12th there were 20 sections in DPS RKP... A-D for Bio, E-H for Computers, I-K for Economics, L-M for Engineering Drawing, O-R for Commerce and S for Sociology. sunkar phati? :cantstop:
Excellent write-up by Lurker ! No Walmart/McDonald in that town ? The surprising. An american town witout burger king/mcdonald !
Goto Princeton and you will not find any fast food restaurant. Princeton city administration does not permit any common fast food joint. There is one subway which is also to go. Even no starbucks. They have Princeton's best coffee
Lurker you wont believe but in 11th and 12th there were 20 sections in DPS RKP... A-D for Bio, E-H for Computers, I-K for Economics, L-M for Engineering Drawing, O-R for Commerce and S for Sociology. sunkar phati? :cantstop:
20 sections??? :confused_smile::confused_smile: Abbe Mamoo bana reha hai kya? That is like 1000 students in one class?(assuming 50 students per section)

It's become the refuge of the moneyed in South Bihar, Jamshedpur, Lurker. People moving into an ever expanding township in purpose built apartment blocks, many of them owning cars. The roads remain the same, so the main road in Bistupur, for example, resembles a car park. The last time I went to Dimna, there were around 5000 people there, and people have taken to driving to "resorts" outside the town to find a bit of a breather.

I still look like one! :hysterical::hysterical: DPS RKP on an average has 18 sections in class XI and XII with about 45-50 students in each section! Apo, I was in G.
By the end of first year most of us have sat on top of a Matador(407)
Haha! I've done that quite a few times. Hitched a ride on that from Dhanbad to Dumri. On some occasions, it was so crowded that the poor driver had to ask the person sitting next to him to press the clutch when needed! :hysterical: