This topic came to my mind when I was surfing twitter and saw Ajay Devgn's profile. He had mentioned Ajay Devgn instead of Ajay Devgan which we normally know. His official website was also named ajaydevgn.com instead of ajaydevgan.com and so I thought it cannot be just a silly mistake and that too in official twitter profile or official website. Then I searched on google and it seems he has changed his name after he was told to so by a numerologist. And the funny part is that he has dropped an important vowel like "a" in his surname which sounds quite ridiculous. So, do you believe in numerology or changing names due to numerology? Some people add a few more vowels while some drops the vowels and it both cases it sounds ridiculous. Discuss.

No, I dont. It has some advantages though for those who believe it and it's purely psychological. I have seen people work with new enthu after the change as they believe that they change their names because they believe that luck is with them now. In fact it's their own confidence that does the trick. But they get the confidence from this name change. And that's how the numerologists run their shops. There is no dearth of frustrated strugglers who do that. Even celebrities who go through bad phases do that.

They pry on peoples emotion, take advantage of desperate situations. Pick up any Indian newspaper here, and you'll find ads for supposed holymen who can ward off black magic and change your fortunes for a fee. To me, they are no different from conmen, nothing more, nothing less.

Guest Gunner
Indian holy leader and BA stewardess arrested over prostitution racketJeremy Page, Delhi 3 Comments Recommend? (22) A self-styled Hindu holy man and a British Airways stewardess have been arrested in Delhi on suspicion of involvement in a multimillion-pound prostitution racket. Police said that Shiv Myra Dwivedi, a Hindu swami, used his temple in south Delhi as a front to provide as many as 200 prostitutes, including air hostesses and students, often to clients in five-star hotels. In his spiritual guise he claimed a following of more than 100,000 people, including leading politicians. Undercover officers arrested him, another alleged pimp and six alleged prostitutes including two air hostesses, one from BA and one from the Indian airline Jagson, on Friday evening, Delhi police said. The six women, aged between 19 and 30 and including an MBA student, each gave fake Indian names, apart from one identified only as “Ms Julie”. Delhi police did not specify their nationalities. BA told The Times that it was looking into the report. A police statement said that the suspects were detained as the alleged pimps negotiated a deal with a group of young men near a cinema in the upmarket Saket neighbourhood of the Indian capital. Police also found a network of tunnels and secret rooms at Mr Dwivedi’s temple as well as six diaries and other documents detailing his alleged involvement in prostitution, according to media reports. “In disguise of this spiritual façade, he is a pimp and tout who supplies sex workers in posh areas of Delhi,” the statement said. Some police estimated that he had earned $10 million (£6.5 million), while others put his earnings at more than ten times that amount, the reports said. Swamis have been revered in India for thousands of years, originally as leaders of Hindu religious schools or sects. They were often believed to have divine powers. Some claim millions of followers and have become hugely rich from donations. Mr Dwivedi is the latest in a succession of holy men to have become embroiled in sex scandals, which critics say highlight the need for better government regulation to expose charlatans. His arrest comes almost a year after Santosh Madhavan, a holy man from the southern state of Kerala, was jailed for 16 years for raping and illegally confining two young girls from an orphanage that he ran. Police said that they found drugs and pornographic videos in his ashram. http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/asia/article7044564.ece
Holy man. :woot::woot:

yes i do. that is why i changed my name to: mr. richasajewbag has worked out quite well ever since. i now have money to buy my own lunch (occasionally).

Found another absurd name change. It seems Celina Jaitley has also changed her name and dropped the vowel in the her surname. Her name is now Celina Jaitly. I mean how stupid can it be. Drop something else but why drop the vowel in a name. Dropping vowels in a name sounds absolutely ridiculous. :hmmm:

Found one more celebrity who has dropped letters in her surname. VJ Sophie has dropped the "h" in her surname and is now Sophie Choudry. Kya chal raha hai? Pehle fashion tha letters add karne ka aur ab letters drop karne ka fashion chal raha hai kya?

Thalaivar changed his name from Rajini to Rajni
Never heard his name before but if he is a male then it sounds even better. This name change is right and not ridiculous. The vowel was unnecessary in a male name and it was removed and that is fine. I am saying more about removing important vowels and messing up surnames especially for the sake of numerology.
Guest Gunner
Never heard his name before but if he is a male then it sounds even better. This name change is right and not ridiculous. The vowel was unnecessary in a male name and it was removed and that is fine. I am saying more about removing important vowels and messing up surnames especially for the sake of numerology.
you don't know thalaivar Rajnikanth? You haz :fail:ed please die.

Yes, I believe in the name part. It's nothnig to do with Magical overtones or anything like that but a name ( first and last ) can make a difference. If your name is irregular or different it can have a lasting effect since childhood, as you get called or teased by it and which can effect your psyche or lower self esteem. This is off course on each person but that name itself will take you places, jobs etc See the movie industry for example- Akshay Kumar >>>Rajiv Bhatia Imagine this, a new superstar is coming and his name is Rajiv Bhatia - Bhatia? although there is nothing wrong with it but it doesn't appeal to the public BUT Kumar, well kumar has a nice flow to it Saleem Altaf or Sharukh Khan on an immigration paper >> You bet its a warning ( but again, this is more to do with the current situation ) Applying for a job >>> Venkat Subramanyam Chirramppappli Iyenger ( MSC Computer Science IIIT Honors, great looking guy ) but on paper and his resume >>Cut it short to Venk Iyeng to get a job abroad For marriage >> A Pooja sounds better than Parvati Name makes all the difference