The Tendulkar Fatigue Syndrome

My two rupees: I have been part of forums which have tried to grow themselves to generic cricket sites and even sites with a general world perspective powered by an Indian majority member holding. In my experience it has not worked. It would be silly to blame the Indian psyche for not being able to maintain adequate distance from its heroes. For that is a failing which affects human beings as a whole. Given time everybody will fall in front of the 'familiarity breeds contempt' syndrome. Unless something newer and greater and fresher keeps coming in. Inevitably in the case of Indian sport this keeps happening. I am all for unbiased flow of opinions and equitable treatment of players/characters all over the world. But it is unreasonable and more than a bit idealistic to expect every member to be the same. There will be worshippers and there will be haters. As long as language is controlled and debates/discussions are healthy, I think the forum is doing a good job of putting the content out there on the world wide web. All said and done, I really do not see a need to tone down the celebrations when one of the finest cricketers of all time touches a landmark (albeit in an ODI) which is rarefied and has never been breached before. Let fans have their fill! Until the next time....

Lulzers. When you have been found out as a petty statistical manipulator' date=' it is not unexpected to focus on others things. It is even funnier considering that the loser who must have spent a considerable part of his life fantasizing and peddling senseless stats on a certain player gets so offended when faced with cold facts/stats. Geez..what a worthless, aimless life for dufferbhai.[/quote'] U know what that ''statistics '' analysis is all about.It tells about those matches where Akhtar dismissed Tendulkar.It doesn;t say anything about matches where infact they faced each other but Akhtar didn't dismiss him.
2 cents - you are not even worth your petty name. Did you know those finals that you talking about have alot of numbers from the many finals we played against Kenya and Zimbabwe in late 90's ? How many finals can you count against decent sides apart from the 98 Sharjah knock, CB series in 2008 and the tri series final against Lanka last year. Thats bloody 3. Tell me how many more. And lets divide that by the number of finals he has played. You can eff off and not get your sorry worth replying to my posts if you don't want to. Refrain from getting personal, if not then don't expect any better, SOB.
i apologise for losing my temper, even though it was against you His toltal knocks in the finals against decent oppostion is still much better/more than any other india player
I haven't forgotten how Sachin walked without nicking Shoaib in that series and at that point of time' date=' it said a lot about the respect, even fear, Shoaib commanded from top batsmen. That's the sort of ruthless comment that's missing far too often on this website.?[/quote'] i have heard this a lot from Pakistani fans but didnt know that an indian fan would be making this statement. This is a classic example of how by keeping on repeating misinformation, even the ones who have actually SEEN it live, would only remember the false version of what happen! So did Sachin actually walk without nicking the ball? Nope. The fact that he gloved it was never in contention. It was a big nick and Sachin walked immediately. So what was the controversy? That at the moment he gloved it, his glove was off the bat. According to ICC rule, a gloved catch is out only if the glove is on the bat handle. There is no way Sachin would have realised that in the split second it happened in and the nick was big enough for him to think that the descision was a clear one Edit :- Thanks To Rajiv. Sachin was Sohaib's only wicket in the match and everyone was playing his easily. Dhoni in fact gave some special treatment to him. I refuse to believe someone as experienced as Sachin would be 'scared' of Sohaib.
I don't make up stuff. Avg against Akhtar = Test runs SRT has scored against Akhtar's bowling / ( no. of innings he faced Akhtar - dismissals through Akhtar ). The total runs is 79 @ avg of 26 The " merciless spanking " that dufferbhai is alluding to is certainly NOT that. This is listed in cricinfo under : Records / Test matches / Bowling records / Bowler/batsman combinations The below list shows the record ones. Obviously the Actor/SRT combo is not listed as they have not faced each other that often. http://stats.cricinfo.com/ci/content/records/283450.html More worms will come out of the woodwork shattering the countless myths about SRT's domination of top bowlers, giving dufferbhai more sleepless nights if a similar combo is drawn out for SRT vs Mcgrath, Donald, Steyn, Murali, Ambrose..etc ...for I am dead sure those avgs are in the early 20's. The only great bowler SRT has dominated is Warne.
You do realise that the stats do not include the matches where he did score runs against the bowlers but was not dismissed by them? Basically its a stat for the bowler not the batsmen. Sachin averages around 42 with Akhtar in the team. Not a great stat but not bad either One thing I have issues with is that if you give a large set of numbers and figures to a person who does not have any analysis experience, what conclusions can he draw from them? Would those conclusions make sense? Heck, Analysts are payed 6 figure salaries for just this purpose. Then why do these people think that just because these numbers are cricket related they can form any meanigful conclusion without knowing how to include/disregard all factors, how to make sense from a ton of data and how to notice patterns.

Shoaib Akhtar to Tendulkar, OUT, Akhtar to Tendulkar, OUT (Caught) - got'm! another nasty short delivery aimed at the rib-cage, Tendulkar fends at it awkwardly, ball moves in just enough to clip the glove and Akmal makes no mistake, Akhtar nets the big fish - India five down and in deep trouble here Mr. Chucker was directing all towards the body Shoaib Akhtar to Tendulkar, no run, Akhtar to Tendulkar, good line and back of a length, ball stays low and hits Tendulkar on the body Mr. Chucker was directing everything towards the body, he would have killed Dhoni here and the Pig didn;t have the courtesy to apologize Shoaib Akhtar to Dhoni, no run, Akhtar to Dhoni, attempted yorker ends up as a wide full toss outside the off stump, Dhoni driving is down to mid-off, not a convincing shot 126.2 Shoaib Akhtar to Dhoni, FOUR, Akhtar to Dhoni - shot! full and on the stumps, Dhoni drives through the line and the ball rockets away to the long-off fence, powerful shot and the man at mid-off had no chance of cutting it off 126.3 Shoaib Akhtar to Dhoni, no run, Akhtar to Dhoni, short and wide of the off stump, Dhoni leaves it for the keeper 126.4 Shoaib Akhtar to Dhoni, FOUR, Akhtar to Dhoni - short rising delivery outside the off stump, Dhoni stands tall on the back-foot and lofts it over the slip cordon , more of an edge but the ball went well over the slips 126.5 Shoaib Akhtar to Dhoni, FOUR, Akhtar to Dhoni - short ball, bowled from round the stumps and coming in with the angle, Dhoni rocks back and pulls it away to the midwicket fence, made it look easy - Akhtar being taken apart here 126.6 Shoaib Akhtar to Dhoni, (no ball) FOUR, (no ball) Akhtar to Dhoni - nasty chest high fulltoss, looked like it slipped out, thankfully it went well down the leg side, glares exchanged 126.6 Shoaib Akhtar to Dhoni, 1 run, Kaneria to Dhoni, short ball, pulled away towards square leg, not a well timed shot P.S Sachin was his only wicket Can't believe we are giving Aktar respect

^^^ in fact after his first seies against India (where he took out Sachin and Dravid in two balls), he never had any success against us. He averages 34.50 against us including his first dream series

With reference to the accusation that SRT has not scored when it mattered i.e. in matches of importance..finals etc.. I'll agree that he may not have not scored in all matches of importance. But that does not make him a less great player...do not forget that Cricket is team sport and it would be insanity of the highest level to expect SRT to score big in every final and win us that tournament. The selectors must have chosen the 10 other players to play with some purpose. They aren't meant to sit in the dressing room and applaud Sach's innings. e.g. In the match where Sachin scored 175 the target was 350(if i am not mistaken). 350/2=175 which means that one man scored half of the needed runs..now if he gets out at that stage and the team loses is it his fault that the 10 other people could not manage to do what he alone did? And that Sachin's scared of Akhtar???to that i say this: :hysterical: Why not talk about the bowler whom batsman all across the world feared: Shane Warne This bowler had the magic in him to spin the ball meters and get the well set and well experienced batsman look like a fool....even after all of his exploits in his own words..he had nightmares of Sachin dacncing down the track and smashing him over the top of his head!! If one of the worlds greatest bowlers says something about a batsman(having the experience of bowling to him)...and another guy says something(having the experience of just seeing him)...i'd rather go with the bowler.

I am still learning the ways of ICF and the personalities. Even so, posters such as Bossbhai, The Outsider, Dhondy, marris_mania have all caught the eye. And I am sure I have missed other names as well. This piece of prose by Dhondy is interesting to read but disturbing to reflect on. It is even entertaining - in a macabre, morbid sort of way. Not to put it down at all. Very few dark pieces end up having the ability to arrest attention and to entertain. With that out of the ways, lets get down to facts. Tendulkar scored a double century in a meaningless ODI fixture? Excuse me? That was a decider in that series. Next Dhondy goes on to derisively ask - how many centuries does he have in World Cup finals? Well, how many World Cup finals has Sachin featured in Dhondy? You rightly point out that it was only the one time he got to feature in it. How then can you find it right to criticize him for not scoring a century in that one match? Perhaps you feel that is the fairness of things. If so, I will disagree. Lastly why should Sachin be a 'Vicar'? Why not 'buccaneering bronco' or whatever funky title is hot and happening right now? I think the answer to this is present in the article titled 'Crickets own Vicar'. Just to remind you (that is in case you did read it), the argument was that sports as an activity was one that provided vicarious pleasure to its followers and that being that, nobody was quite as much qualified to be the Vicar as Sachin Tendulkar. While the allusion was towards religion (as in Chrisitianity) every cricket fan would know that the connotation was more towards the game and its culture. Or rather that was the premise. There are people such as Nasser Hussain reflecting that Sachin is the 'greatest' after this ODI double century. In my mind this ODI double century did not drive any nail in any coffin. If Tendulkar had to be graded against the Don then that has to be done in Test matches. Not in ODIs. But then, my own preference of rating Tendulkar higher than Bradman did not take root after this particular momentous ODI. It took shape much earlier. Being a 'stick in the mud' cynic does not quite explain the derision apparent in these posts. Against Sachin Tendulkar and the millions of people who count themselves as his fans.
:omg::hail: Fantastically written :hatsoff::hatsoff:

Not difficult at all to get player v player stats if you are willing to spend half an hour. Over his entire career, Sachin has faced 141 deliveries from Shoaib and scored 79 runs, a SR of 56. Sehwag has played 188 deliveries off Shoaib, and scored 156 runs, a SR of 83. You'll find the same pattern with most top bowlers. Since Sehwag's debut, Sachin has faced precisely 45 deliveries from McGrath and scored 5 runs, a SR of 11.1. Sehwag has faced 156 deliveries off the same bowler and scored 98- a SR of 62.8. Player v player records are not available before mid 2000s. if one wishes, one can go back to 1999 and 2001 and find out how Sachin fared in those matches against McGrath, but I suspect it won't be a lot different. You guys didn't want to hear this, I suspect. He is a masterful batsman and picks off the weak links in the attack to score off. His record against the very best bowlers, particularly MTC, the quick ones, tells a story of survival...and waiting for the next over.

You guys didn't want to hear this, I suspect. He is a masterful batsman and picks off the weak links in the attack to score off. His record against the very best bowlers, particularly MTC, the quick ones, tells a story of survival...and waiting for the next over.
You should tell Sachin this.... so that next time he gives his wickets to part time bowlers and hit out against the better bowlers... oh oh.. then his detractors will say... he is losing his wickets to part time bowlers.... to improve his record against the best bowlers... oh no.... If Sachin would think of each and every record in all kinds of permutations and combinations he would land up in a mental hospital... I bet his primary concern is to be at the crease for as long as possible and to score max runs as possible rather than bother about his reputation verses xxxx bowler :)
Shoaib Akhtar to Tendulkar' date= OUT, Akhtar to Tendulkar, OUT (Caught) - got'm! another nasty short delivery aimed at the rib-cage, Tendulkar fends at it awkwardly, ball moves in just enough to clip the glove and Akmal makes no mistake, Akhtar nets the big fish - India five down and in deep trouble here Mr. Chucker was directing all towards the body Shoaib Akhtar to Tendulkar, no run, Akhtar to Tendulkar, good line and back of a length, ball stays low and hits Tendulkar on the body Mr. Chucker was directing everything towards the body, he would have killed Dhoni here and the Pig didn;t have the courtesy to apologize Shoaib Akhtar to Dhoni, no run, Akhtar to Dhoni, attempted yorker ends up as a wide full toss outside the off stump, Dhoni driving is down to mid-off, not a convincing shot 126.2 Shoaib Akhtar to Dhoni, FOUR, Akhtar to Dhoni - shot! full and on the stumps, Dhoni drives through the line and the ball rockets away to the long-off fence, powerful shot and the man at mid-off had no chance of cutting it off 126.3 Shoaib Akhtar to Dhoni, no run, Akhtar to Dhoni, short and wide of the off stump, Dhoni leaves it for the keeper 126.4 Shoaib Akhtar to Dhoni, FOUR, Akhtar to Dhoni - short rising delivery outside the off stump, Dhoni stands tall on the back-foot and lofts it over the slip cordon , more of an edge but the ball went well over the slips 126.5 Shoaib Akhtar to Dhoni, FOUR, Akhtar to Dhoni - short ball, bowled from round the stumps and coming in with the angle, Dhoni rocks back and pulls it away to the midwicket fence, made it look easy - Akhtar being taken apart here 126.6 Shoaib Akhtar to Dhoni, (no ball) FOUR, (no ball) Akhtar to Dhoni - nasty chest high fulltoss, looked like it slipped out, thankfully it went well down the leg side, glares exchanged 126.6 Shoaib Akhtar to Dhoni, 1 run, Kaneria to Dhoni, short ball, pulled away towards square leg, not a well timed shot P.S Sachin was his only wicket Can't believe we are giving Aktar respect
I was so pissed off when that happened, fecker just carried on like nothing had happened. Couldn't accept he was being taken to the cleaners by Dhoni [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bcuYVs-wArk]YouTube- dhoni n akhtar[/ame]

A Tendular fatique thread gets overloaded by Tendular-this-that-and-other-routine? Another reason to keep away from Cricket section by and large.

^^ yes Kapil is not playing anymore and his ICL is dead.. and more importantly SRT averaging more than 50+ these days... so cricket section is not really interesting anymore..

Dhondy, what you are doing apropos Sehwag is worse than what you accuse Tendulkar worshipers of, at least the Tendulkar worshipers don't attribute his teammates' runs to him. You complain about the adulation Tendulkar gets here and then take fawning to an entirely new level when it comes to someone who averages in the 20s in seaming conditions of SA and NZ.

His record against the very best bowlers, particularly MTC, the quick ones, tells a story of survival...and waiting for the next over.
Dhondy' date= what you are doing apropos Sehwag is worse than what you accuse Tendulkar worshipers of, at least the Tendulkar worshipers don't attribute his teammates' runs to him. You complain about the adulation Tendulkar gets here and then take fawning to an entirely new level when it comes to someone who averages in the 20s in seaming conditions of SA and NZ.
Can't speak for Dhony Shwetabh but I think I do understand where he is coming from. As a cricket fan, and Indian cricket fan, who has been around a while you can see the overrun of this nonsense that is "Sachin saga" these days. Many decent posters who tend to be objective would either keep silent or simply ignore the celebration. And the silence in most times is considered as "haters" by the morons that make Sachin fan brigade. Kinda reminds me of that monologue from Scent of the Woman where Al Pacino says - Boys snitch on your friends, anything short of that and you would be burnt at stake. Personally I think Dhondy made his point brilliantly, but then he has carried it a bit long, knowing fully well it wont change anyone opinions much.. Dhondy mate Humko unse hai wafa ki ummeed, jo nain jaante wafa kya hai.. dil-e-nadaan tujhe hua kya hai, aakhir is dard ki dawa kya hai. xxx