Sooda Posted April 5, 2010 Posted April 5, 2010 Indians are unfair- grossly unfair for demanding that kind of perfection from Tendulkar yet subjecting other Indian greats or really any other cricketing greats generally to nothing like the same kind of examination Why not look at Dravids record against the great bowlers of his day- Im guessing his stats vs McG and Donald and the like arent particularly flattering. Kumble is routinely hailed as Indias greatest bowler ever but his away record is ordinary at best Neither of those two are compared nearly as much (at all) to past legends (Indian or otherwise) In fact people here and on the old ICF used to attempt to show us Dravid > Tendulkar. When it comes to Tendulkar the standards we set, comparisions we make, are grossly unfair.
Dhondy Posted April 5, 2010 Posted April 5, 2010 Inevitable orgy of self justification and obfuscation of facts follows. Boss, you are a brilliant statsman- one of the best around. However, show me one thread...just one thread you have started, celebrating the record of a non-Indian player. You haven't. So, please keep your peace.
Lurker Posted April 5, 2010 Posted April 5, 2010 Yeppers ... someone who batted while being a medical wreck for the best part of the last decade and yet managed to beat the sheet out of imposters with literally one hand does not deserve to be run-down ... :winky: So SRT beating off imposters (Ponting, Lara etc) = BB beating off everyone born before 1970. Sahi hai bandhu. Brahm uvaach sunne ko mila aaj :--D
Lurker Posted April 5, 2010 Posted April 5, 2010 Why not look at Dravids record against the great bowlers of his day- Im guessing his stats vs McG and Donald and the like arent particularly flattering. Kumble is routinely hailed as Indias greatest bowler ever but his away record is ordinary at best Neither of those two are compared nearly as much (at all) to past legends (Indian or otherwise) In fact people here and on the old ICF used to attempt to show us Dravid > Tendulkar. When it comes to Tendulkar the standards we set, comparisions we make, are grossly unfair. How is it unfair mate? Dravid, Kumble, Ganguly, Sehwag, VVS etc etc are all Indian greats but noone enjoys as good a stature as SRT. You said it yourself, Kumble is hailed as India's greatest bowler but certainly not world's greatest bowler, right? So when SRT is judged as world's greatest bat till date there are bound to be a bit more scrutiny than what would come Kumble's way.
goose Posted April 5, 2010 Posted April 5, 2010 So SRT beating off imposters (Ponting' date=' Lara etc) =[b'] BB beating off everyone born before 1970. Sahi hai bandhu. Brahm uvaach sunko mila aaj :--D we still talking cricket here? steady on chaps.
Dhondy Posted April 5, 2010 Posted April 5, 2010 I mean, can you believe it, that guy from Madras actually posted all the temparatures from different parts of the city as an argument in support of the randomness of SRT's adverse stats. He expects me to take him seriously. Two fellas have actually asked me if I have ever played cricket. So what do I say here? If I say that yup, I represented my University, I'd be called a show-off. If I keep silent, it's an assumption of defeat. Funny, I don't recall reading about their cricket achievements in cricket gazettes?
patriot Posted April 5, 2010 Posted April 5, 2010 Luzzlers ! " Medical wreck " . There should be new word added for the extreme exaggeration that this word represents in the case of the world's most exaggerated cricketer, that little man from Mumbai. I guess it should come from that most utterly dishonest and manipulative poster who coined the term , earlier in this thread. Dhondo usko. Needless to say that this " medical wreck " or " walking hospital " or whatever you wish to call him ...has been fit enough to play 6 week circus cricket, 3 years in a row now. What more, this " medical wreck for the better part of the decade " din't show any noticeable " medical wreck " symtoms in ODIS are any period of time, unlike tests. Of course. He is special because.... Umpires always conspire against him.. His dismissals are always lucky moments for bowlers.... He is mostly injured during crunch moments...... His team is always non supportive... He is so unlucky......... ......................................................... ......................................................... ........................................................ His cook always adds so much masala powder in his food that a certain ICFer, (who claims to be eligible to stay in an old age home ) , has actually confirmed that he heard the Mumbaikar fart while walking back after getting dismissed. He reported the exact sound the fart emitted to our own Dr. Dhondy. Dr. Dhondy confirmed on " that " posters observation, that it was a case of too much masala in his food added by the idiotic chef of Tendulkar. This is true story. Anyone can confirm with Dr. Dhondy. Infact, if you are " lucky " enough, " that " poster will himself replicate that fart and any other medical expert would confirm from the sound of the fart, that it is a case of too much masala in the food. Yeap " that poster" is the same poster, who diagnosed SRT to have been a medical wreck for most of his playing career.
Lurker Posted April 5, 2010 Posted April 5, 2010 I mean, can you believe it, that guy from Madras actually posted all the temparatures from different parts of the city as an argument in support of the randomness of SRT's adverse stats. He expects me to take him seriously. Two fellas have actually asked me if I have ever played cricket. So what do I say here? If I say that yup, I represented my University, I'd be called a show-off. If I keep silent, it's an assumption of defeat. Funny, I don't recall reading about their cricket achievements in cricket gazettes? :hysterical::hysterical: Take it easy Dhondy, internet discussions is more a test for patience than knowledge these days. I mean in every other thread about a potential great (an obituary, or an all-time XI list) you have youngsters popping up with a "Who was that? Never heard of him". But they are all steadfast that SRT is the greatest :winky:
patriot Posted April 5, 2010 Posted April 5, 2010 If not for that extra masala in his food, Tendulkar would have avg 7 more points. Roshan rocks ..please add this too, bhai. It is very important. And give the the total tally to Bossbhai. He is a great stats cruncher and will do the relevant stuff.
Dhondy Posted April 5, 2010 Posted April 5, 2010 One of those fellows, Lurker, actually has been paying his doctor to tell him that you keep growing ad infinitum after 21. Apparently he is "studying" something in "University". Rather worryingly for you, he's been following your regimes. Watch out!:hysterical:
patriot Posted April 5, 2010 Posted April 5, 2010 who did the crunching in your masala thread last week ? Ofcourse you did it Bossbhai. So far you are renowned at ICF only for your stats crunching and munching abilties. I am only trying to get people to know your awesome smelling and hearing abilities.
Dhondy Posted April 5, 2010 Posted April 5, 2010 Patriot, it's hardly fair to direct all your ire at Boss. He is a gentleman and will do anything for you if you ask nicely. What's your opinion of the various other "fans" who want you quartered and dismembered for being a renegade? (although you could go easy on the aggro, you know. It's rather off-putting).
Lurker Posted April 5, 2010 Posted April 5, 2010 Ofcourse you did it Bossbhai. So far you are renowned at ICF only for your stats crunching and munching abilties. I am only trying to get people to know your awesome smelling and hearing abilities. Go easy on BB mate, he does have excellent stats knowledge, and cricket by and large(my differences not withstanding), by the by whats with the aggression?? Hamesha talwar lekar nikal lete ho, sab khairiyat??
Dhondy Posted April 5, 2010 Posted April 5, 2010 The first few stat threads for which you wrote brilliant articles had nothing to do with SRT ... just look at the sparse responses we got ! What about fairness, Boss? Or should it just remain a British concept?
patriot Posted April 5, 2010 Posted April 5, 2010 Dhondy jee, Bossbhai because.... Bossbhai is damn good with his stats. The best we have. But it is annoying to see his utter bias and dishonesty in everything to do with SRT. Honestly, it is nauseating. Every other thread. The others ..( won't mention names) ..don't even matter. They neither understand the game nor statistical analysis. As for those baying for my blood because I am a harsh tongued " non - beleiver " , I believe your chatto chaiya , will see me through.:hysterical:
patriot Posted April 5, 2010 Posted April 5, 2010 Go easy on BB mate' date=' he does have excellent stats knowledge, and cricket by and large(my differences not withstanding), by the by whats with the aggression?? Hamesha talwar lekar nikal lete ho, sab khairiyat??[/quote'] Lurks - Jaani hum teekha khatein hain aur teekha boltein hain...Koi shak ? :haha: Jokes apart. Nothing personal against, BB. Just both of us have extreme opposite views and I unfortunately have a very spiced tongue.