Tendulkar_Bhai Posted July 28, 2010 Posted July 28, 2010 Excellent analysis..But you missed one very important player..:giggle: If you mean Bhajji then im not going to fuel the haters on here who would find a way to blame him for Dravid getting out, but he still is one of our key players who doesnt seem to have had much assistance from this pitch. My only concern with him is that at times he needs something/someone to give him a kick and motivate him, like you saw with the jelly bean incident when he went on to bowl brilliantly and in Aus '08, you can see in his body language that he strives when having to make a point to someone.
King Tendulkar Posted July 28, 2010 Posted July 28, 2010 Raina with a delightful 50. If thats a glimpse of the test future I quite like it:--D
asterix Posted July 28, 2010 Posted July 28, 2010 Excellent 50 by Raina..Worthy batsman in place of erratic and unsure UV...
Lord Posted July 29, 2010 Posted July 29, 2010 Excellent 50 by Raina..Worthy batsman in place of erratic and unsure UV... UV scored a 50 in Galle too to be fair
asterix Posted July 29, 2010 Posted July 29, 2010 UV scored a 50 in Galle too to be fair I'm just hoping to get some fresh players in the team. Those players who are "willing" to do well and have a whole career in front of them...
HowardRoark Posted July 29, 2010 Posted July 29, 2010 I'm just hoping to get some fresh players in the team. Those players who are "willing" to do well and have a whole career in front of them... +1
Lord Posted July 29, 2010 Posted July 29, 2010 I'm just hoping to get some fresh players in the team. Those players who are "willing" to do well and have a whole career in front of them... i agree.i wanted him to be omitted from the squad.but once hes picked n made a 50 in Galle.it'be very unfair to leave him out
Ravi. Posted July 29, 2010 Posted July 29, 2010 Structure of our domestic cricket is not good. Neither we have good pitches nor good coaches. What we have in fast bowling department? Ans: highly rated Ishant,Mithun and Sreesanth. What we have in spin department? Ans: very mediocre Mishra and Ojha. If we wont have good bowlers in domestic cricket then the standard of batsmen will fall as well. Thats why players like Yusuf Pathan makes double hundred with ease who hardly performs in International level.
King Tendulkar Posted July 29, 2010 Posted July 29, 2010 Hot competition for places. LOVE IT!!! Yuvi with 50 last match, Vijay with 50 this match and Raina with ton. Not to mention Sharma and Kohli. So the glimpse of the future is loads of quality batters not making the team. Poor Inda
asterix Posted July 29, 2010 Posted July 29, 2010 i agree.i wanted him to be omitted from the squad.but once hes picked n made a 50 in Galle.it'be very unfair to leave him out Is it just for pride, UV wants to play Test Cricket? He can prolong his career by retiring from Test Cricket and play in the formats which he really 'enjoys' to play and which suits his life style. Play the day or evening game and then go to party and don't have to worry for the next days game.. He should really think hard and make way for young players who have to drafted as they are more important for India's cricket future because as long as the Maharathis are there, the new players (who are willing to learn and do well, not like a bored character like UV who is just playing for the sake of it) have to be SQUEEZED in here and there ot gain valuable experience while playing with the Maharathis..This is what I see: There are 3 Maharathis: Boss, Wall, Relaxman.. There are Junior Maharathis: Viru, Dhoni, UV, Zak, Bhajji and to some extent Gambhir Now in Junior Maharathi group, who are the players having potential to become Maharathis when the present Maharathis retire? Only Sehwag, I suppose and to some extent Dhoni.. Hence I'm just hoping some Junior Maharathis to make way for potential new Maharathis since they themselves cannot become Maharathis and train new ones to become Junior Maharathis.. I hope this makes sense..:two_thumbs_up:
Lord Posted July 29, 2010 Posted July 29, 2010 ^ agree(although it could've been gentle:giggle:).Yuvraj is better off concentrating on his LOI career.forget his abilities,i dont think hes even fit enuf to take the rigours of test cricket.hes a terrific ODI player n should aim to win the WC for India. but i also see where hes coming from,Tests r ultimate form of the game.Bevan,despite being a terrific ODI player is not regarded nearly as good as Lara,Ponting let alone SRT
Roshanrocks Posted August 22, 2010 Posted August 22, 2010 bump.... :hmmm: shall we continue? we have collapsed twice in this tri nation ODI tournament..
Roshanrocks Posted August 22, 2010 Posted August 22, 2010 ODI tourno being the key words so another thread? :hmmm: or do we brush this up under the carpet? :secret:
Gunner_Mania Posted August 22, 2010 Posted August 22, 2010 so another thread? :hmmm: or do we brush this up under the carpet? :secret: We bump this during the next test series.
King Tendulkar Posted August 22, 2010 Posted August 22, 2010 Well at least Bhaji cant be blamed:haha:
hari504504 Posted August 22, 2010 Posted August 22, 2010 Once Sehwag retires I am going to stop following cricket altogether... makes all this way less painful
saneindian Posted August 22, 2010 Posted August 22, 2010 More than anyone I am disappointed with Dhoni. On such pitches he needs to come in at number 3 and guide the team. In the last 12-15 months, after every 7-8 matches, we have crumbled badly. 2nd ODI vs WI in WI, at Guawahati vs Australia, at Dambulla vs SL early this year and 2 times in this series. The youngsters have disappointed and the captained too has failed to show the way.
thevortex Posted August 22, 2010 Posted August 22, 2010 I dont know whether it was this thread or one similar where a case was being presented for Rohit to make it to the Test side. He has a long way to go before that. If nothing else, these performances should reiterate to the team management that the ODI side needs solidity. It would be wishful thinking to believe that Tendulkar and Gambhir alone could do the needful. They are the top order. If there is one brilliant opening spell from the opposition we have very little left to build and pick up the pieces. The proverbial Michael Hussey or Bevan type of player. I like Dravid at No.5 or 6 in ODIs. I remember a few sizzling half centuries he made from that low down against Australia in Australia in ODIs. I think it was in the *** end of his captaincy tenure. But he was simply brilliant in that role then.