someone Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 Don't include nehra. Replace him with praveen it should be Zaheer,Praveen,Harbhajan,Irfan/Jadeja. That a 7+4 formula. That is different. Be prepared to concede tons of runs with a 4 bowler attack. Remember bowling is our biggest weakness. IP can replace either PK or Nehra' date='considering,he much better suited for no.7 job.Jadeja can bat lower down,not 7[/quote'] To both of you, you are replacing our best bowler atm with a inconsistent bowler and is definitely not a opening bowler.(whenever he has opened, conceded tons of runs). And again no.7 batting should only be regarded as a bonus given our top order batting whereas we will always have to bowl 50 overs and therefore a good 5th bowler will only help the team in batting as less runs conceded.
Lord Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 IP can replace Nehra only. Because If he replace PK....3 pacers are left arm bowlers. "We need variation"-said by SOMEONE If IP replace Nehra........ Zaheer and PK starts with new ball IP is first change bolwer. Jadeja and Harbhajan can bowl after IP. In Sub continent IP,Jadeja,Harbhajan,Zaheer,PK..........all of these are able to contribute with bat also. It means all the 11 players will capable to bat in team. So minimum of 280 runs we can chase if we bat second. If we bat first...........I expect 320 runs our team can score easily(If two batsmen scores fifties/ One batsmen score hundred) Wats wrong with having 3 left armers?teams have 3 right armers all the time,if that isnt regarded as sameness,why 3 left armers is? That a 7+4 formula. That is different. Be prepared to concede tons of runs with a 4 bowler attack. Remember bowling is our biggest weakness. To both of you, you are replacing our best bowler atm with a inconsistent bowler and is definitely not a opening bowler.(whenever he has opened, conceded tons of runs). And again no.7 batting should only be regarded as a bonus given our top order batting whereas we will always have to bowl 50 overs and therefore a good 5th bowler will only help the team in batting as less runs conceded. the best bowler is also getting lots of assistance off the wicket,check his record in India,he too has got clobbered.
someone Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 Wats wrong with having 3 left armers?teams have 3 right armers all the time,if that isnt regarded as sameness,why 3 left armers is? Maybe, that would work with a bowling department where all 3 left/right armers are brilliant. However, in our case they are not. And of course by logic, variation is always wanted in any kind of work. And for a fact, nehra and PK are both better bowlers than him. the best bowler is also getting lots of assistance off the wicket,check his record in India,he too has got clobbered. So nehra is lucky rite when he gets wickets. Brilliant reason to drop him. Look, a lot changes and at the moment, he is our best bowler. Do not forget he is opening bowler and last overs bowler. And when Irfan once played his type of role, he got smashed and rarely did well in opening and bowling at the end. It was only first change where some things worked for him.
King Tendulkar Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 So nehra is lucky rite when he gets wickets. Brilliant reason to drop him. Look' date=' a lot changes and at the moment, [b']he is our best bowler. Do not forget he is opening bowler and last overs bowler. And when Irfan once played his type of role, he got smashed and rarely did well in opening and bowling at the end. It was only first change where some things worked for him. WTF:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
Lord Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 Maybe' date=' that would work with a bowling department where all 3 left/right armers are brilliant. However, in our case they are not. And of course by logic, variation is always wanted in any kind of work. And for a fact, nehra and PK are both better bowlers than him.[/quote'] yeah but for a same fact Irfan is better suited to no.7 than Jadeja.its all about compromises,to have Irfan at 7 u have to drop one of them So nehra is lucky rite when he gets wickets. Brilliant reason to drop him. Look' date=' a lot changes and at the moment, he is our best bowler. Do not forget he is opening bowler and last overs bowler. And when Irfan once played his type of role, he got smashed and rarely did well in opening and bowling at the end. It was only first change where some things worked for him.[/quote'] my bad,I thought u were talking about PK.yeah Nehra is good,he can stay,PK struggles on flat decks. Irfan has been dropped for a year now,he was in bad form then,whos to say he hasnt improved siince?atleast give him a chance.I think hes been doing wel in dom. cricket.thats all u can do after being dropped
saneindian Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 yeah but for a same fact Irfan is better suited to no.7 than Jadeja.its all about compromises,to have Irfan at 7 u have to drop one of them my bad,I thought u were talking about PK.yeah Nehra is good,he can stay,PK struggles on flat decks. Irfan has been dropped for a year now,he was in bad form then,whos to say he hasnt improved siince?atleast give him a chance.I think hes been doing wel in dom. cricket.thats all u can do after being dropped Irfans ODI batting and bowling from desserted hm completely during the 2006 tour of SA from where he was sent back mid way between the tour. Since then except for a brief period (t20 WC and the Perth test vs Australia), he has largely been disappointing. His bowling in domestic cricket or IPL didn't suggest he has got close to even 130 kph speeds or that he has got his natural swing back. His batting might have improved but his bowling has gone down considerably. His big chance will come during the Irani Trophy match (if he gets picked) or during the challenger trophy. If he does well in those matches, he could make a comeback otherwise a comeback looks impossible.
someone Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 yeah but for a same fact Irfan is better suited to no.7 than Jadeja.its all about compromises,to have Irfan at 7 u have to drop one of them Its back to the same old thinking. There is nothing wrong or correct. You will prefer 6.5 batting and 4.5 bowling but I will prefer 6 batting with 5 bowling. The reason for me is simple, India's 5th bowling is the weakness and I do not want to throw away the best solution. See my previous posts for more of my reasons. my bad,I thought u were talking about PK.yeah Nehra is good,he can stay,PK struggles on flat decks. Irfan has been dropped for a year now,he was in bad form then,whos to say he hasnt improved siince?atleast give him a chance.I think hes been doing wel in dom. cricket.thats all u can do after being dropped I think everyone of our bowling attack would struggle on flast decks as none of them is brilliant. However, PK is one of the better ones among them. I agree about chances but again the selectors have more problems which is no good 2nd right arm fast bowler in our squad. They will want to solve that problem before thinking about a 3rd left arm bowler. And btw, we will play with 2 spinners, so who will the 2nd one will be for you? Surely it would Jadeja for him. So Jadeja is definately in the team and now it is up to the likes of IS/IP/SS/AM to fight for the another fast bowler.
Lord Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 Irfans ODI batting and bowling from desserted hm completely during the 2006 tour of SA from where he was sent back mid way between the tour. Since then except for a brief period (t20 WC and the Perth test vs Australia)' date=' he has largely been disappointing. His bowling in domestic cricket or IPL didn't suggest he has got close to even 130 kph speeds or that he has got his natural swing back. His batting might have improved but his bowling has gone down considerably.[/quote'] He has been taking wickets in the FC cricket.that should count for something n as a rule, I dont take IPL performances too seriously,but even if u do,he had better stats than Praveen Kumar there PK is looking great in these helpful conditions,whos to say Irfan wont do well here,atleast give him a go His big chance will come during the Irani Trophy match (if he gets picked) or during the challenger trophy. If he does well in those matches, he could make a comeback otherwise a comeback looks impossible. I'm pretty sure they'll ignore him for that even.without Zak out it'd been perfect opportunity to test him in these conditions,but instead they chose Mithun n then Dadaji Munaf.thats pretty indicative of what they think of Irfan
Lord Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 I think everyone of our bowling attack would struggle on flast decks as none of them is brilliant. However' date=' PK is one of the better ones among them. I agree about chances but again the selectors have more problems which is no good 2nd right arm fast bowler in our squad. They will want to solve that problem before thinking about a 3rd left arm bowler.[/quote'] I actually dont believe this right arm/left arm thingy.u just got to select best XI And btw, we will play with 2 spinners, so who will the 2nd one will be for you? Surely it would Jadeja for him. So Jadeja is definately in the team and now it is up to the likes of IS/IP/SS/AM to fight for the another fast bowler. yeah,it'd be Jadeja.but he'd bat at 9.not 7.hes not fit to bat at 7.Irfan is better suited
someone Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 I actually dont believe this right arm/left arm thingy.u just got to select best XI yeah,it'd be Jadeja.but he'd bat at 9.not 7.hes not fit to bat at 7.Irfan is better suited Ok so one thing is clear Jadeja does deserve to be in the team at least in the 2nd spinner if not no.7. Hopefully, we will never have see those threads to kick out Jadeja of the team for no reason. If you want to select best XI, probably should have 5 good bowlers of which IP is not in terms of fast bowling.
Lord Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 Ok so one thing is clear Jadeja does deserve to be in the team at least in the 2nd spinner if not no.7. Hopefully, we will never have see those threads to kick out Jadeja of the team for no reason. If you want to select best XI, probably should have 5 good bowlers of which IP is not in terms of fast bowling. well if u wanna select 5 good bowlers,then Jadeja doesnt get in either,hes there coz he can contribute with the bat n is a good fielder,same with Irfan.he may not be among the best bowlers but lends balance to our side n seeing all our bowlers suck,thats not a bad thing
sudheer kumar Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 Ok so one thing is clear Jadeja does deserve to be in the team at least in the 2nd spinner if not no.7. Hopefully, we will never have see those threads to kick out Jadeja of the team for no reason. If you want to select best XI, probably should have 5 good bowlers of which IP is not in terms of fast bowling. I don't think Jadeja will survive in team if he makes one or two good performances in every series. Consistency is required.
sudheer kumar Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 ah ha, that's like a gambler doubling his stakes after losing :hehe: Unlike you, ppl don't have horns on their head :P Do you understood his post?
saneindian Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 He has been taking wickets in the FC cricket.that should count for something n as a rule, I dont take IPL performances too seriously,but even if u do,he had better stats than Praveen Kumar there PK is looking great in these helpful conditions,whos to say Irfan wont do well here,atleast give him a go I'm pretty sure they'll ignore him for that even.without Zak out it'd been perfect opportunity to test him in these conditions,but instead they chose Mithun n then Dadaji Munaf.thats pretty indicative of what they think of Irfan Aah and what has Irfan done to force them to select him? Hasn't reported to NCA for rehab sessions/working on his bowling, doesn't go to baroda cricket association's academy either, doesn't tour with Baroda team to Kenya, has not played in any of the corporate tournaments being played in India (RP SIngh has been playing those). Instead he is spending his time in Singapore conducting coaching clinics!! Hopefully he will turn out in some of the pre-season tournaments like the Buchi Babi tournament in Chennai, Moin-ud-dowla tournament in Hyderabad and the KSCA invitational tournament in Bangalore.
Lord Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 Aah and what has Irfan done to force them to select him? Hasn't reported to NCA for rehab sessions/working on his bowling, doesn't go to baroda cricket association's academy either, doesn't tour with Baroda team to Kenya, has not played in any of the corporate tournaments being played in India (RP SIngh has been playing those). Instead he is spending his time in Singapore conducting coaching clinics!! Hopefully he will turn out in some of the pre-season tournaments like the Buchi Babi tournament in Chennai, Moin-ud-dowla tournament in Hyderabad and the KSCA invitational tournament in Bangalore. I thought I told u that,he did well with both bat n ball in FC cricket,that should earn him a place in atleast the Emerging team,but he isnt Irfan should be the main player we should be trying out bcoz only position is up for grabs that is for the allrounder,n to an extent a seamer,it is obvious Irfan can satisfy both
saneindian Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 I thought I told u that,he did well with both bat n ball in FC cricket,that should earn him a place in atleast the Emerging team,but he isnt Irfan should be the main player we should be trying out bcoz only position is up for grabs that is for the allrounder,n to an extent a seamer,it is obvious Irfan can satisfy both Bhai mere he is injured (Nayan Mongia said this on Neo a few days back, but said he has no idea on the exact nature of treatment he has gone through), but he hasn't gone to the NCA or to the BCA's academy in Baroda. I agree he should have gone to England with India A and there is a definite bias against him. But what I fail to understand is when guys like Dravid, Dada, Sehwag , VVS all can play in domestic tournaments like Buchi Babu and Moinuddowla Cup to remain in touch with competitive cricket, why can't Irfan do the same?
someone Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 well if u wanna select 5 good bowlers' date='then Jadeja doesnt get in either,hes there coz he can contribute with the bat n is a good fielder,same with Irfan.he may not be among the best bowlers but lends balance to our side n seeing all our bowlers suck,thats not a bad thing[/quote'] Which spinner instead of Jadeja? Ojha or Ashwin All 3 are not very different but Jadeja has proven himself the most so far and have done nothing wrong in his performances so definitely deserve the 2nd spinner spot.
Lord Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 Bhai mere he is injured (Nayan Mongia said this on Neo a few days back, but said he has no idea on the exact nature of treatment he has gone through), but he hasn't gone to the NCA or to the BCA's academy in Baroda. I agree he should have gone to England with India A and there is a definite bias against him. But what I fail to understand is when guys like Dravid, Dada, Sehwag , VVS all can play in domestic tournaments like Buchi Babu and Moinuddowla Cup to remain in touch with competitive cricket, why can't Irfan do the same? sorry,want aware about his injury.thanx for the info:hatsoff: I agree Irfan is not making his case strong by missing out on these tournaments,but he has said that he'll only play if he fully fit.that pretty fair,if he play half fit,chances r that he'll get clobbered or his injury will get aggravated n that'll affect his chances
Lord Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 Which spinner instead of Jadeja? Ojha or Ashwin All 3 are not very different but Jadeja has proven himself the most so far and have done nothing wrong in his performances so definitely deserve the 2nd spinner spot. as of now,Ojha Jadeja has done nothing wrong?his performances r barely ahead of part timer like Yuvraj,averages 42.i expect much better from our 2nd spinner Ojha is much better,Ashwin can be good too if given chances
saneindian Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 sorry,want aware about his injury.thanx for the info:hatsoff: I agree Irfan is not making his case strong by missing out on these tournaments,but he has said that he'll only play if he fully fit.that pretty fair,if he play half fit,chances r that he'll get clobbered or his injury will get aggravated n that'll affect his chances Thas correct, but then if he is to get fully fit, don't you think he should be doing his rehab at the NCA like all our injured players do? Zaheer, Ishant, Sreesanth, RP, Munaf, Rohit, Gambhir, Sehwag, Yuvraj have all gone through rehab programs at NCA, why not Irfan? I agree the selectors have not treated him fairly, but then he has himself not followed the system (however crap it may be) to help himself! On a sidenote the last first class match he played was in January this year, since then he has played IPL and nothing thereafter. Needs to test his fitness somewhere. He cannot expect to get picked for the national side out of the blue especially with the national coach mentioning it in explicit terms that Irfan bowling 120 kmph or bowling at 50% of his ability doesn't quite work out for the team. Doesn't he need to show it to the coach that he has worked on those specific areas and has returned as a etter bowler (his abilities are beyond any questions).