Enthiran/Robot

SachDan

RoBOT Gets 4 stars in indiatimes.com :hail: Link:- > http://movies.indiatimes.com/reviews/bollywood/Robot-Movie-Review/articleshow/6652167.cms

For anyone and everyone who has ever complained that Rajnikant's onscreen antics are overblown of heroism, director Shankar this time justifies his larger-than-life screen persona by making him a robot and imbibing him with fanciful superpowers. Unlike every Rajnikant film where he has a very flamboyant and gimmick-oriented entry, the superstar makes a very casual and unassuming entry in this one. But before you start assuming that Rajni has gone reticent in Robot , director Shankar introduces Rajnikant's prototype in the form of a mechanical andro-humanoid who is the real hero of the film. Post that Shankar starts his blitzkrieg technique of nonstop bombardments of eventful episodes through its runtime and there's no looking back. Dr Vasi (Rajnikant) is a scientist who has created an andro-humanoid robot named Chitti (Rajnikant again) who is programmed to fight, dance, drive, speak and do everything that humans can. Vasi has designed Chitti with the intention of offering it to the Indian Army as a machine which can fight wars in place of humans and avoid casualties. However his invention is rejected by senior scientist (Danny Dangzongpa) for the machine's inability to understand human emotions. So Vasi upgrades Chitti's processor and simulates human emotions in it without realizing the implications. With its new acquired human ability, Chitti discovers the feeling of love and falls for Vasi's girlfriend, Sana (Aishwarya Rai). As sentiments of jealousy and revenge corrupt his assessment, he becomes uncontrollably wild and violent, wrecking havoc on the city. For a pleasant change, director Shankar doesn't delve into his favourite theme of bureaucratic corruption like he has been doing over the years in Sivaji, Anniyan, Nayak, Mudhalvan and Indian . However by means of the mechanical robot, he almost creates a superhuman alter-ego in compelling contrast to the vulnerable scientist, like he did with the split-personality protagonist in Anniyan . And then he makes his superhero so strong that you start idolizing him over his creator, even if it turns endlessly evil. Interestingly through the first half the Robot remains the best buddy of the scientist and very soon in the second half the two are pitted against each other. Whether it's the storytelling, stunts, special effects or song picturizations, Shankar exactly knows how to keep the audience engaged. The story gets to the point from scene one without straying into unnecessary subplots. The romance between Rajni and Ash is already established and not much screen-time is expended on their love story other than the customary song-n-dance ritual which the director can't do away with. The screenplay has a lot to offer with the major highlights in the first half being an extended fight sequence on a local train and another derived from Spiderman where the Robot rescues humans trapped in fire. And perhaps this would be the only film other than 3 Idiots where a delivery operation on a woman in labour pain earns as much applause from the audience, if not more. The second half is no short of excitement with a hilarious sequence where the Robot has a negotiation with (believe-it-or-not) mosquitoes and another extended freeway action sequence. The climactic combat where a hundred Rajnikant clones attack, assuming different colossal contours (like in the Hollywood flick Transformers ) is visually mind-blowing. The visual effects take a cue from Hollywood films like Terminator, Spiderman, The Mask, Godzilla and many more but amplify it to gigantic proportions and full-blown sequences. Shankar used the expertise of Hollywood technicians like Vance Hartwell ( Lord of the Rings ) and Allan B. Holt ( Terminator Salvation, Iron Man 2 ) for makeup, Mary E. Vogt ( Men in Black series) for costume designs, Woo-Ping Yuen ( Kill Bill, Matrix ) as stunt coordinator and Stan Wilson Company ( Avatar, Terminator, Jurassic Park ) for animatronics technology and ensures that the visuals don't look corny or tacky at any instance. And despite the action and effects, the movie never gets too intense and keeps amusing you through its amazing and unusual sense of humour. R. Rathnavelu's cinematography is magnificent, Anthony's editing is flawless and Sabu Cyril's art direction is impressive. The scale at which Shankar mounts his film and the outcome that he achieves is simply unmatchable. On the downside, the song picturizations, like in any Shankar film, are spectacular but act as major distractions from the plot and even A.R.Rahman's music can't pull you back. Rahman's score is absolutely uninspiring this time and there is no single chartbuster in the entire soundtrack. While the dubbing isn't bad, Swanand Kirkire is so chaste with the Hindi translation of dialogues that at times the dialect sounds heavier than in a normal Hindi film. The pace of the narrative drops intermittently at the start of the second half with the Robot's romance track but soon picks up. And Aishwarya's seduction song in the climax is the most clichéd pretense for the hero to intrude the villain's den. But all these inconsistencies are overshadowed by Rajni's aura. Not only is Rajnikant a superstar in every sense, he comes up with a superlative act. He immaculately adapts the body-language in the grab of Robot. His action, dance, style, grace and histrionics need no substantiation. You love to watch him as the good-intentioned robot and adore him as much in his villainous act. His vicious laugh reverberates his evil intentions. Aishwarya Rai is supposed to look gorgeous, which she ably does throughout the film. Danny Dangzongpa is able to hold his own in front of Rajnikant which is commendable. Beyond all the visual extravagance, Shankar succeeds in ending the film with a simple message on how human emotions can manipulate a machine. Thankfully he conveys it effectively without getting preachy, lending a lot of heart to his heady science-fiction. Robot is the flawless combination of biggest superstar and best special effects ever on the Indian screen. Watch it and watch again.

Saw this movie. Enna kodumai saar idhu. :(( Over simplified cringe worthy Sci-Fi movie, like it's your poor mans hollywood movie with CGI n stuff. If I had to watch it I'd have watched a hollywood movie not this one. Where are the Rajni punch dialogues, action sequences etc? Why else would one bother to watch a Rajni movie? Anyway just my opinion, lots of guys here seem to like it.

Where are the Rajni punch dialogues, action sequences etc? Why else would one bother to watch a Rajni movie?
Actually it may be good in a way that they have toned down the punch dialogs. Anyway will watch it tomorrow, so will update the thread.

lol this movie was pure crap, i just cant believe how people think that this is a good movie. As Zodiac mentioned the CGI was very bad, and the screenplay was horrible. Shankar just wanted to use Rajini's image and direct a "sci-fi" (well at least according to him). The only good point in this movie is the glimpse of Rajini's true acting talent in the 2nd half but that is very very brief, it is pure hype and i am seriously perplexed how people call it a good movie.

lol this movie was pure crap' date=' i just cant believe how people think that this is a good movie. As Zodiac mentioned the CGI was very bad, and the screenplay was horrible. Shankar just wanted to use Rajini's image and direct a "sci-fi" (well at least according to him). The only good point in this movie is the glimpse of Rajini's true acting talent in the 2nd half but that is very very brief, it is pure hype and i am seriously perplexed how people call it a good movie.[/quote'] now this makes me want to wait for the DVD than spending $30.

ROBOT : Movie Review by Taran Adarsh

ROBOT is a crowd-pleasing and hugely mass appealing tale of android revolution with a thrilling plot, rich and imaginative screenplay, super action, astounding effects and most importantly, Rajnikant, who is the soul of the film. It's the Big Daddy of all entertainers. Miss it at your own risk! ROBOT, directed by Shankar, is a Rajnikant Express that transports you to a world you can't envision. Rajnikant's feats are legendary by now. In ROBOT, he goes a step further. The Robot in ROBOT not only follows orders of his creator, but also cooks, fights, romances and wonder of wonders, has a lengthy conversation with a mosquito and scan loads of books/magazines and an entire telephone directory in a second. Yes, you read it right! That's not all, this Robot is Superman + Spiderman + Terminator + Godzilla, all rolled into one. There's more to this Robot. It can replicate itself, wage a vicious battle, turn into an Anaconda or a monster ball and wipe off an entire army. Whew! Known for larger than life canvas, ROBOT is Shankar's most expensive and if I may say so, his most imaginative film thus far. And who better than Rajnikant for the pivotal role! Final word? A Rajnikant film is an event and this combo's [shankar - Rajnikant] new outing ROBOT is sure to strike like Tsunami. Let me make it short-n-sweet. If you miss ROBOT, it's YOUR loss! Location: Chennai 2010. Mission: Creating a robot Chitti. Purpose: To help the society. Development time: 10 years. Special Features: A human who is not born, but is created. He can dance, sing, fight, is water and fire resistant. He can do all that a human can and more. He feeds on electricity. He takes instructions literally. Where a human can lie to save himself, this robot cannot lie. Where he has a razor sharp memory and can memorize an entire telephone directory by just running through the pages, he cannot understand human emotions. Dr. Vasi upgrades Chitti's processor and simulates human emotions without realizing the repercussions. Chitti gets transformed. He can now feel and the first feeling that he discovers is Love. Will this love come in the way of Dr. Vasi's purpose of creating Chitti? Will Dr. Vasi's own creation destroy him? A title like ROBOT automatically puts tremendous responsibility and pressure on the director's shoulders. And ROBOT is not merely a display of VFX, but it also has soul, a story to tell. At first, ROBOT comes across as a clash between the virtuous [Rajnikant] and wicked [Danny Denzongpa]. But ROBOT changes gears in its post-interval portions as the focus shifts to the creator [Rajnikant] and his creation [Rajnikant]. It's a Rajnikant film and it would be incomplete if his loyal fans don't get to watch his stylish actions and feats. Thankfully, ROBOT showcases it all. He can glide on the railway tracks, run horizontally on a moving train, transform into an Anaconda, can swallow helicopters and even fire at people with his fingers, without using a pistol. These are truly clap-trap moments! Even otherwise, the screenplay is really well penned and absorbing. While the film is a super ride from start to end, it's the penultimate 25 minutes that leaves you awe-struck and speechless. You can't imagine a Hindi film having such an out of the world climax. There will be pandemonium inside theatres when the climax unfolds, I am sure. Let me confess, it's the mother of all climaxes! Only thing, Shankar could've controlled the length of the film. It could've been shorter by at least 10 to 15 minutes, which includes doing away with a song or two. Of course, like all Shankar movies, the songs are filmed most imaginatively on exotic locales, but what's the point of having songs if they act as speed breakers? That Shankar ranks amongst India's best directors is well known by now and ROBOT only cements the fact. His vision and execution of the difficult subject deserves the highest praise, in fact distinction marks. He not only dreams big, but the outcome is incredible too. A.R. Rahman's music doesn't compliment the content of the film, but like I pointed out earlier, every song has been filmed exquisitely. The action and chase sequences are outstanding [Yuen Woo Ping, action choreographer in the MATRIX and KILL BILL sequels, was the stunt coordinator]. Visual effects are spectacular [stan Winston Studio, the studio behind JURASSIC PARK, PREDATOR, TERMINATOR, IRON MAN, AVATAR, provided the animatronics technology]. Cinematography captures the grand production values with precision. The locations of Austria, Machu Picchu in Peru, U.S.A. and Brazil only enhance the visual appeal of the film. The sets are mind-blowing. Dubbing is near-perfect. ROBOT is a Rajnikant show from start to end. And no other actor, not from Bollywood at least, would be able to do what he does with such amazing ease. Aishwarya Rai Bachchan looks stunning and acts most convincingly. Danny Denzongpa is efficient, as always. The remaining actors enact their parts well. On the whole, ROBOT is a crowd-pleasing and hugely mass appealing tale of android revolution with a thrilling plot, rich and imaginative screenplay, super action, astounding effects and most importantly, Rajnikant, who is the soul of the film. It's the Big Daddy of all entertainers. Miss it at your own risk!

REVIEW from Behindwoods.com Where do I start and where do I end? This movie is such a beauteous blend!! Shaped intact for a roller-coaster run!! After much hooplah, here is our 'Enthiran'!! Human beings, they call us! We are lovable, but long for lust. We are kind, but crazy. We are generous, but greedy. We sympathize, but are selfish. We empathize, but are envious. We are truthful, yet tricky. In a robot's language: We have a green chip, yet we have a red chip. In our simple language: We are good, yet bad. This is the theme that 'Enthiran' revolves around. Having said that, humans are a mix of ethics and evil, even their creations are pretty much the same, be it a robot or be it a movie. 'Enthiran' is one such movie that has its own 'Red Chips' that are comfortably covered up by its 'Green Chips'. Enthiran's 'Green Chips': Direction/Screenplay: All hail Captain Shankar. His dream-project makes us really wonder if we are in our dream-world or we are right awake watching a Tamil movie. Simple story. Yet, a splendid narration. This man with the midas touch never fails. Does he? Graphics/ Special Effects: If you wonder what is the myth behind this mammoth budget, this is your answer. Man! I tell you. Indian Cinema, for the first time, witnesses so much of grandeur and gala. Are your ticket prices touching the four digits mark? Never mind! Feel happy to watch such splendid sequences made of, with, by and for you people. Aishwarya Rai: Proves her mettle yet again. Guys out there... Beware! She could drive you wild in spite of being a middle aged woman. She is THE best fit for the character 'Sana'. A lavishing lioness for our leading lion. Songs/BGM: Allah Rakha Rahman! Now, the name is enough! Why do you even bother? :) And hey folks! Ever listened to the lyrics carefully in spite of losing yourself to the tunes? If not, give an ear to them! One of its kind, really! Tamil cinema re-defined: With 'Enthiran', Tamil Cinema reaches the next best level. Am sure the movies that are to come are going to have better collections and innovative scripts because their trend-setter is "Enthiran". Enthiran's 'Red Chips': A draggy second half: The screenplay and direction take a reasonable dig here, especially with the first forty five minutes of the second session. Shankar could have sharpened it better with a song cut. Comedy: Santhanam and Karunaas still seem amateurish. High time the guys adapt to larger movies. The industry is sure in need of crafty comedians considering the recession at Vivek's and Vadivel's office. Not a vintage Rajnikanth's movie: The movie is certainly not a vintage Rajnikanth's movie. So the expectations from the rural and 'C' center masses could go in vain. Songs' picturisation: I personally feel they could have been better considering the expertise of Shankar and Sabu Cyril. Nevertheless, they were not less than mind-blowing. Enthiran's Gold Chip: Now, this is a special chip. No brownie points for guessing. I was saving the best for the last! The man. His presence. His style. His acting. The differentiations he showed between the roles. Hey you, there! Do you even have the cheek to say that he can't act? Ha ha... Come watch Enthiran to see our Netrikkan's Chakravarthy back. Plot/Story of the movie: The movie is not even a day old. So I better not get hit by you all by revealing it. :D Now, what are you waiting for? Go grab your tickets for 'Enthiran' (only if they are available!) Now, taking my critic's hat off: Thalaivaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa! Pinni pedal yeduthuteenga thalaivaa! In spite of knowing that people would still love to watch you throwing cigarettes up and bashing the goondas speaking out your usual punches, you still wanted to do something different to set a trend. There you go. Whistle podungada! :D My rating: 7/10

http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-reviews/reviews-2/endhiran-movie-review.html ENDHIRAN MOVIE REVIEW Review by : Behindwoods review board Starring: Rajinikanth, Aishwarya Rai, Karunas, Santhanam. Direction: Shankar Music: AR Rahman Production: Sun Pictures With a bevy of machine guns in hand; all triggers locked, Superstar delivers a resounding punch line; ‘Happy Diwali folks’. Yes, it was Diwali, minutes before the start of the first show here in Chennai with crackers going off in thousands, flowers flying around and people going delirious with excitement. This is Diwali; no matter even if the real one is still a month away, Superstar has arrived! Well, let us get down to the task. There is nothing much to reveal about the plot of Endhiran; one supposes. Thousands of speculations, predictions and of course, a mad frenzy about the trailer has given a rough idea about the plot. Endhiran is about Dr. Vaseegaran and Chitty, his creation- the robot with a 1 Zettabyte memory and a speed of 1 Terrabyte. From then on it is a ‘Chitty showcase’, of action, dance, emotions, fun and frolic. Watch Endhiran for the experience. The foremost thing about any Superstar film is Superstar himself. He is the air the film breathes, right from the first frame. The biggest entertainer that India has produced, weaves magic on screen; even a nonchalant saunter on screen makes theatres erupt in celebration. Watching Endhiran one feels no doubt whatsoever that no one other than Rajnikanth could have pulled off this character. It is destiny that brought Endhiran to Superstar after travelling all through Kollywood and Bollywood. He delivers a tour de force performance – he owns the film. Be it as the workaholic scientist, the obedient Chitty or the destructive Chitty (‘upgraded version – Chitty 2.0’), he scores; exuding brilliance and charisma in every frame. Yes, there are the trademark styles and mannerisms, but Rajnikanth transcends style and goes one better with Endhiran. His restraint while playing the scientist, the frustration that he shows while his scientific endeavours go wrong, underscore the fact that he is a brilliant actor who has been bogged down by commercial demands and compulsions. But, the focal point of the performance is definitely the robot. Chitty, the innocent child like robot is cute and loveable and dashing once romance starts flowing through his veins – wires. And, it is when the destroyer arrives that we see the Rajni in all his splendour. There seems to be absolutely no one who can come even close when playing a devilish destroyer. The outrageous and maniacal laugh as he proclaims his invincibility is a masterpiece – a throwback to the heydays of Rajnikanth the villain. The decades have not dimmed his brilliance and charisma one bit. And, the effort he has put into Endhiran shows in all frames; be it the fights or dance sequences; the desire to excel still burns bright. Aishwarya Rai looks ethereal as always. Though it is a bit difficult to still accept her as a college student, she delivers when it matters. Not the usual Shankar heroine (songs and dance only stuff) here, she is almost the fulcrum of the story. Scripting wise, Endhiran does have its flaws, which is a bit disappointing. The first half is a smooth and jolly ride as the cute Chitty takes centre stage. A couple of fights set the tone for the fans to go overboard with excitement, a few lighter moment most of which are enjoyable and two songs make it a relatively light hearted affair. Shankar’s ability to write commercial Tamil cinema elements (hero rescuing damsel in distress, witty one liners etc.) into a sci-fi script is commendable. That stops Endhiran from being a pure sci-fi flick, making it apt for all class audiences. Beginning of the second half is however not an apt extrapolation of the expectations raised in the first half. Though too much does not go wrong, there are portions which one feels could have been tighter. Some sequences, especially the ‘Ranguski’ part, are dragged along for more than a reasonable length. A couple of songs follow each other in quick succession which dampens things a bit. But, if you are willing to be patient through these minor glitches, the rest of the second half is racy, action packed and intelligent. Action, as all might now, has been the talking point of Endhiran with world famous visual effects supervisors doing the job. The sequences have been conceived by Shankar (as shown in the titles) and do not lack in awe and magnificence. Be it on the train, on the truck or the highway – action is taken to a new plane in Endhiran. As expected, logic does fly out of the window now and then, but then, what is a Superstar film if there is no suspension of belief. As expected, technical aspects of Endhiran are top notch. Special effects are world class (except a few occasions here and there) as they have been done by the best in the business, Stan Winston Studios and Industrial Light and Magic. The sheer effort that has gone into the CGI work is humungous, be it Rajni running along the side of a train or doing a Michael Jackson jive; everything looks as original as it can get. Camera by Ratnavelu captures what Shankar has envisioned, and translates it effectively on screen. Make up, by Banu, is exceptional and has made Superstar look even more stylish than he usually does. Re-recording does not look like the work done by an Oscar winner, especially in the final portions, but still manages to impress. Rahman’s songs which are already a rage sit well on the film, adding to the entertainment quotient. Dialogues by Shankar, Sujatha and Karki are sharp, using proper technical terminology well balanced with Tamil lines. Sabu Cyril shows his class once again, be it with the sophisticated labs or grand songs. His work stands out in particular in the ‘Irumbile Oru Idhayam and ‘Arima Arima’ songs. Anthony is as deft as ever with the scissors, adding to the tempo of the film. Hats off to Shankar for the vision and the effort! He has taken Tamil cinema to a new plane on technical terms, showing that nothing is impossible. The sets, effects, sound, style are all amazing and good enough to rub shoulders with Hollywood counterparts, give or take a few points. But, the basic story is still a desi love triangle! That is where Shankar has shown his skills; making state of the art film merge with our regional cinema tastes. His genuine desire to take Indian cinema to greater heights reflects throughout the movie. But, it is not just Shankar who has this vision, Superstar too shares it with him. The man whom we have known for total style and charisma has shown that he is game for something new that does not fit in to the conventional Superstar mould. Even after years of stardom he genuinely wants to bring in and be part of change that will take Indian cinema to higher levels. Overall, Endhiran is a ‘robotic, hypnotic, supersonic, Superstar’ experience, the first of its kind in Tamil cinema and the only one of its kind for a long time to come. It is going to take a Herculean effort to equal or better Endhiran within the confines of Tamil cinema. Let’s hope the day comes soon. For now, an ovation to the Endhiran team, Sun Pictures and Kalanithi Maran for showing faith in Shankar’s vision and to Hansraj Saxena for masterful execution of the project. If not for the faith, confidence and vision of these men, Shankar’s ten year dream would still have been just a dream. Do Indian cinema a favour, watch Endhiran; let a 100 other Shankars feel bold enough to dream. Verdict: Indian cinema’s pinnacle of evolution – ‘Robot sapiens’