Re: A Picture says a 1000 words

LGM-118A Peacekeeper missile system being tested at the Kwajalein Atoll in the Marshall Islands. The lines shown are the re-entry vehicles -- one Peacekeeper can hold up to 10 nuclear warheads, each independently targeted. Were the warheads armed with a nuclear payload, each would carry with it the explosive power of twenty-five Hiroshima-sized weapons.
7A4043CC.jpg

Re: A Picture says a 1000 words What a thoughtful thread, Lurker! Some very nice photos, including the ones taken by Sriram. But the one posted by Anakin will haunt me for a long time. Just one question. How? How can we let this happen? With so much wealth and opulence in this world, how can children die like this? How can we sleep in our beds while this happens in another part of the world? What greater shame is there than letting a child die from hunger and illness? I am ashamed of myself because I haven't done nearly enough to help out. Not nearly enough. That must change.

How can we let this happen? With so much wealth and opulence in this world, how can children die like this? How can we sleep in our beds while this happens in another part of the world? What greater shame is there than letting a child die from hunger and illness?
No easy answers on this one Dhondy. For starters let us make it clear that the situation is not such only in Africa(though the picture was from an African country). I could bet that you would find many such cases of famine and malnourishment in India itself, specially around the Kalahandi area. Though obviously Africa's problem is maginified manyfolds. The problem with Africa is perhaps the same as problem in Afganistan. Most of the unstable countries have a new warlord every 100 miles or so. And in between the crossfire the ordinary citizen pays with his life everyday. What can the world do about it? Hard to say. For one, it is hard to help a country/culture if they do not first help themselves. This, in my opinion, is the greatest difference between say Japan/Germany and Middle East. The former countries took advantage of American help/economy and became powerful on their own, the latter are only too happy to keep killing themselves and Americans. It is the same with Africa. Unless African countries, and Africans take advantage of external aid it is very hard for other countries to help them much. The extrenal help shall remain limited to making "food-drops" to rescue the famished population. xxx

Re: A Picture says a 1000 words Coming back to topic here are some more pictures that speak of bygone era. 1971 surrender.. 17210581.jpg World Trade Center Attack... september11_wideweb__430x287.jpg This one's a rare one...India's first pilot... :wtg: image006.jpg

Re: A Picture says a 1000 words I don't think anybody here who is not a parent will understand. Everytime, I see that child, I think but for God's grace, that could have been my child. It's a thought more terrible than death itself.

I don't think anybody here who is not a parent will understand. Everytime, I see that child, I think but for God's grace, that could have been my child. It's a thought more terrible than death itself.
Where was God's grace for the hungry child's father? Love to hear your explanation for that. Btw was there some other photo posted before? Why is it not there any more? Can someone give me a link for it? I am curious now.

Re: A Picture says a 1000 words Fantastic thread Lurker! Not exactly a modern day picture but this illustration captivates me time and again. poster-024.jpg

Re: A Picture says a 1000 words Nice pic there Gambit, I've always been fascinated by the blessing arm of the Nataraja during the dance of destruction the attachment somehow messed up the screen :chin:

Where was God's grace for the hungry child's father? Love to hear your explanation for that.
Are you even on the same wavelength? Same planet?

Re: A Picture says a 1000 words Agree with gai here...For the kind of devotion God gets...one would expect him to atleast not let this happen to innocent children. ...

Re: A Picture says a 1000 words Problem is people put too much into the image of god. Why blame god for the tragedy, why not blame the people first who exploit other fellow human being or who steal millions of dollars worth of foreign aid?

why doesn't God punish these bad guys then?
Radhika devi aap Bhagwaan ko jaane dein aur apne Pati Parmeshwar ke paaon(feet) choote huye apni photo lagayein shaadi waali..Wahi jo drawing room mein laga rekhi hai.. chalo jaldi jaldi :club: