Munaf Patel

Lord

first I must admit I was very much against his comeback.but that was mainly due to his lazy attitude.but he has really surprised me with his performance I went through his ODI stats n they r good.his E/R is 4.8 which marginally rises to 4.9 in India.considering the flatbeds.thats mighty impressive.his S/R in India is 36,which means he is likely to give returns of 48-2 on average .I'd take that anyday since the WC is in India where it would be more about containing then taking wickets,is Munaf a serious contender for WC spot,would u pick him in the squad?if yes would u pick him in XI

atleast he is better than Ishant "short ball" sharma... i would say he has a good chance to be in the squad... wether he will be in the XI is to be seen as Zaheer, Praveen, Nehra, Sreeshant seem to be the top 4 at the moment.

atleast he is better than Ishant "short ball" sharma... i would say he has a good chance to be in the squad... wether he will be in the XI is to be seen as Zaheer' date=' Praveen, Nehra, Sreeshant seem to be the top 4 at the moment.[/quote'] Sreesanth?u gotta be joking.he has a career E/R of 6.which rises to 6.55 wen he plays in India.thats pathetic.I'd even pick Agarkar ahead of him. Sreesanth's good in tests,not in ODIs
Sreesanth?u gotta be joking.he has a career E/R of 6.which rises to 6.55 wen he plays in India.thats pathetic.I'd even pick Agarkar ahead of him. Sreesanth's good in tests,not in ODIs
hmmm u may be right... he got a pasting in the IPL too... i didnt check the stats.. u may be right... so Munaf is fourth may be :hmmm: anyway we can check his progress and find out.... we never know when his next injury will arrive though....
first I must admit I was very much against his comeback.but that was mainly due to his lazy attitude.but he has really surprised me with his performance I went through his ODI stats n they r good.his E/R is 4.8 which marginally rises to 4.9 in India.considering the flatbeds.thats mighty impressive.his S/R in India is 36,which means he is likely to give returns of 48-2 on average .I'd take that anyday since the WC is in India where it would be more about containing then taking wickets,is Munaf a serious contender for WC spot,would u pick him in the squad?if yes would u pick him in XI
Does that mean we can axe goofy:yay:

Munaf Patel is a good bowler when the conditions suit him and there's a bit of seam movement of the pitch. His problem for the past few years has been that even though he bowls a tight line that doesn't give the batsmen enough room to open their shoulders and play their shots, he doesn't have variations and intelligent changes in length to counter when batsmen attack him. For example a good batsmen will be able to use his feet to give himself room or move down the pitch to attack Munaf and in those occasions I haven't seen him adjust his length or outfox the batsmen. He's very limited in that way and batsmen have figured out how to play him which is a shame because he has the control and accuracy to really trouble batsmen but not the intelligence to think ahead.

i would love to have Praveen and Munaf bowl in India... probably alongside Nehra? ( not the finals Nehra ofcourse )... its highly debatable and i sopose it all depends in who is in form and who is not ahead of the WC... my concern is the batting lineup... for god's sake.. bring back Dravid. ( i know ill prolly recieve some hate for this, but face it... our middle order lacks solidity )...

Munaf Patel is a good bowler when the conditions suit him and there's a bit of seam movement of the pitch. His problem for the past few years has been that even though he bowls a tight line that doesn't give the batsmen enough room to open their shoulders and play their shots, he doesn't have variations and intelligent changes in length to counter when batsmen attack him. For example a good batsmen will be able to use his feet to give himself room or move down the pitch to attack Munaf and in those occasions I haven't seen him adjust his length or outfox the batsmen. He's very limited in that way and batsmen have figured out how to play him which is a shame because he has the control and accuracy to really trouble batsmen but not the intelligence to think ahead.
did u see him outfoxing Sanga with the slower ball,shortening his length.maybe he has developed this aspect of his game
did u see him outfoxing Sanga with the slower ball' date='shortening his length.maybe he has developed this aspect of his game[/quote'] We can't comment on Munaf's progress so early but whatever I saw in the finals did impress me. And even on the field,though he wasn't a tiger per se, but still he did make 1-2 sprints and saved a 4 or 2. And his bowling was certainly better than others.

Well it shows all this their is no one else better then Nehra and he is best of bad bunch is BS! Thats been my point all along. We are not even exploring the options and giving players ago. Its we must never drop Nehra and keep him in the team at all times and not allow any competition for his place nonsense which drive me bonkers!

u start by dropping the worst.n Nehra isnt our worst pacer
He gots smoked every were. PK, ZK, Munaf and Ishant are all better. He can very feasibly be axed. Yet has some bizzare untouchable status
PK n Ishant got smoked too in the final:dontknow:

Lets see him for a couple of more games before coming to a conclusion.Even in the past he has had a good start and than thrown it away with shabby performance later on consistently.

Munna should play the next few ODI series to see of he can cement his place. Bowlers should always be picked on form and if he is in good form at that time then definately play him in the WC I liked the way Trivadi bowled in T20s (IPL). Took the pace off the ball nicely. May be he can be tried out too. Pool (as of now): Zak, Nehra, Munaf, PK, Ishant Youngsters: Trivadi (don't know his age), Yadav, Udinkat, Mithun, may be Dinda

He gots smoked every were. PK, ZK, Munaf and Ishant are all better. He can very feasibly be axed. Yet has some bizzare untouchable status
Ishant better than Nehra? bhai kaunse brand ki daaru pi rakhi hai tune? :hehe: