Guest BossBhai Posted December 20, 2010 Posted December 20, 2010 -- Removed on request of the user --
The Outsider Posted December 20, 2010 Posted December 20, 2010 as soon as you stop sprinkling your beloved smilies in lieu of anything that is reqd for a debate you will get an answer. Just out of curiosity how big is the gap between Tendulkar the bowler and Sobers the bowler in terms of percentage? I'll hold back on the smiley till I read the answer!
Guest BossBhai Posted December 20, 2010 Posted December 20, 2010 -- Removed on request of the user --
The Outsider Posted December 20, 2010 Posted December 20, 2010 I think we should have a sub forum for lunatic supporters who happen to think that an Indian is always the best at something, specially when it comes to Tendulkar. It is nothing short of madness to even compare Tendulkar's part time bowling efforts with Sobers' bowling role as a regular bowler. Ideally such posts should be deleted as trolling, but what can you say about freedom of speech which allows such nonsense to exist on the board! In that unfortunate scenario where such steaming pile of crap has to be tolerated, one can only do the next best thing and laugh at it.
The Outsider Posted December 20, 2010 Posted December 20, 2010 ^ Yeah, why stop at Sobers. How about a thread comparing Tendulkar's bowling with Marshall? Maybe I will do the honors for you. When the line for madness has been crossed, does it really matter where you stop?
Sachin=GOD Posted December 20, 2010 Posted December 20, 2010 IMO Goddy is the greatest simply because of his consistency across 2 different formats over a period of 21 years. For a moment if we forget about all his records, milestones, centuries etc etc etc, even then the very fact that he's been the best batsman in the World in 2 different formats for such a long period of time is reason enough to call him the greatest. On top of all that you take into account his impeccable behavior on and off the field and you've got not only the best cricketer but also the most inspiring role model.
pensionplan Posted December 20, 2010 Posted December 20, 2010 Now that Tendulkar is as good or a better bowler than Sobers and an excellent fielder with as good an athletic abilities as Sobers which I agree with by the way how about any takers for Tendulkar for being a better skipper than Lloyd, Border and Brearley. I think so. He captained versus the best skippers in the history of the game in 90's who all had the best team while Tendulkar had the worst talent ever and despite all that he won 4 tests in 25 Tests he captained. If it were any other skipper but Tendulkar be it Lloyd or Border or Ponting or Brearley or Sobers or Bradman or Chappell brothers who led that Indian team in the 90's they would have won 0 games. That we won those 4 Tests in 25 tries in itself shows how much better Tendulkar is than the rest when it comes to captaincy too an area where Tendulkar is criticized and unfairly targeted. Are there any other categories that have been left out for us to show that there is Tendulkar and there are the rest. Also someone just told me the best umpires in cricket's history also happened to be the ones that mostly officiated in matches in which Tendulkar played because they were inspired by Tendulkar. EOD.
pensionplan Posted December 20, 2010 Posted December 20, 2010 IMO Goddy is the greatest simply because of his consistency across 2 different formats over a period of 21 years. For a moment if we forget about all his records' date=' milestones, centuries etc etc etc, even then the very fact that he's been the best batsman in the World in 2 different formats for such a long period of time is reason enough to call him the greatest. On top of all that you take into account his impeccable behavior on and off the field and you've got not only the best cricketer but also the most inspiring role model.[/quote']Yes yes he is also the best behaved player on and off the field the best in history of the game. Did we forget anything else?
pensionplan Posted December 20, 2010 Posted December 20, 2010 ohhh yeah .... lets resort to rhetorics while we are at it. Kiska baap ka kya jata hai. Bleddy morons.Remember we had a deal. You paid me $50 mill. I was only cracking up here. No offense. :-)
thongale Posted December 21, 2010 Posted December 21, 2010 Beg to differ on the fielding as you will have to dig really deep to find a match where Baasu dropped a catch. Reg wkt taking abilities ... SRT has won matches because of his Bowling (Both Kolkatta and Adelaide would have been draws but for his very crucial wkts of well set batsmen ) and whatever difference that still remains in the bowling dept is taken care of by the humongous gap in terms of batting ability . In other words the Gap between SRT the bowler and Sobers the Bowler is not as wide as SRT the Batsman and Sobers the Batsman.LMAO. Sobers regarded as the best batsman after Don by many. Saying SRT has a wide gap with GSS is pure farcical stuff. GSS was the best short fielder ever after Eknath Solkar. Tendulkar never enters the top 50 fielders ever. SRT may have won few matches with his bowling. But GSS has won many. I am also against the popular belief saying that GSS is a better bat than SRT, but the difference is minute. As a bowler and fielder GSS is few classes above SRT. You can try and try and try to post what ever you like but the stats don't lie when it comes to their bowling. BTW Garrys runs came against far inferior bowling with Truman and Willis being the only express bowlers of any note which is simply no match to the looong list of really high class quality bowlers that Baasu has had to face. This is "THE" key factor. But Sobers gets the hype because of his county cricket and world series cricket exploits. IF you want to include them then I can similarly use SRT's ODI career which will simply blow away anyone and everyone. Whether you like it or not ODI cricket has added that extra dimension on modern players and it is very difficult to shine in both forms of the game like Baasu has. So its not right to simply discard the ODI achievements.Once again you are talking rubbish. I never breathed about his FC record. You are answering imaginary questions, created by your self. Yes, SRT may have faced better quality bowlers, but have faced worst bowlers of all time too. GSS played with no helmet, and with inferior equipment. Still he averages more than SRT. The next aspect is Garry being more comfortable closer to home than away as is indicated by the diff in avg at home and away ( minus 16 ). There is no such difference for Baasu and ofcourse there was no SAF or SL in Garrys times. In short Baasu is the greatest thing that stepped on a cricket field.When minnows are excluded Against non-minnows GSS Away - 56.0, Home - 70.8 SRT Away - 54.0, Home - 53.8:hysterical: And that away and home record includes minnow SL of 1989 - 1995, which he has feasted on. Sorry, i beg to differ!
Guest BossBhai Posted December 21, 2010 Posted December 21, 2010 -- Removed on request of the user --
rkt.india Posted December 21, 2010 Posted December 21, 2010 who are the nonminnows u r talking about..hw many runs and matches..give full detail
ravishingravi Posted December 22, 2010 Posted December 22, 2010 Sir Garfield Sobers without even a shadow of doubt. He is in fact running on ESPN legends of cricket. Magnificent batsmen who destroyed great attacks. Brilliant against sheer pace and spin. Brilliant fielder and catcher. Deceptive swing bowlers who could surprise a batsman with his pace. Could bowl left arm spin and chinaman on occasions. Forget about his all round capabilities. If there was a batsman that played like him and still averaged more than 58 against brilliant attacks I would love to see him. His 254 against australia for ROTW regarded as one of the greatest ever. 4SzfWtTZOtA
Nirvanam Posted December 23, 2010 Author Posted December 23, 2010 Forget about his all round capabilities. If there was a batsman that played like him and still averaged more than 58 against brilliant attacks I would love to see him.Firstly, lemme make this clear...I think Gary Sobers is the greatest cricketer ever on days when I wake up on the right side of the bed and on other days I feel it is Imran...I just can't pick one of these 2 to anoint as the greatest...although the Niazi wins 51-49. Having made my stance clear, I want to focus on those specifics attacks you talk about. who were they, dear? And how do they compare with the bowlers that say Chappal, Gavva faced...or Sachin, Lara, and Inzy faced?