spectre Posted December 25, 2010 Posted December 25, 2010 Looking in a positive way, CSK snapped up Albie for 900,000 and Vijay for 500,000. If they went in auction, they certainly would have had to shell a lot more for these guys Raina and Dhoni would have gone for similar prices in auction. So CSK have 4 and Bambis have 3 proven performers at good prices. They are at an advantage. With just 4.5 million available, realistically, we can go for just two high profile players. Morgan and Gayle/Gilly will be my picks. Mathews is an excellent option though, as he would be available for the entire tourney and he is a pretty good player if used properly.
achilles Posted December 25, 2010 Posted December 25, 2010 PCB keen to send players to India for IPL 4 http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/iplarticleshow/7163098.cms Propaganda. They know that India's answer will be "NO". Hence, they are trying to show how innocent and good-hearted they are, trying to form a positive relationship with us, while attempting portray India as an irresponsible ally. This kind of behavior might be termed as "Pretentious".
jf1gp_1 Posted December 25, 2010 Posted December 25, 2010 Propaganda. They know that India's answer will be "NO". Hence' date=' they are trying to show how innocent and good-hearted they are, trying to form a positive relationship with us, while attempting portray India as an irresponsible ally. This kind of behavior might be termed as "Pretentious".[/quote'] Exactly . After we say No these guys will come out and blame IPL for its cheat. Why dont they criticize county cricket or aussie domestic structure to not accommodate more paki players. at the end of the day IPL is a domestic tournament; when was the last time Indian players were invited to play a pak domestic tournament ?
achilles Posted December 26, 2010 Posted December 26, 2010 Exactly . After we say No these guys will come out and blame IPL for its cheat. Why dont they criticize county cricket or aussie domestic structure to not accommodate more paki players. at the end of the day IPL is a domestic tournament; when was the last time Indian players were invited to play a pak domestic tournament ? Their thinking process at times rivals our vamps on television. "Agar hum aisa karenge toh India ki izzat uchal jayegi. Hahaha" :cantstop:
girishk14 Posted December 26, 2010 Posted December 26, 2010 Ablie wouldnt have gone for even 200000. Which team would want a half cricketer who was chucked out of his national team? There are MUCH better fast bowling allrounders available in the auction, such as Kallis. Mathews, Irfan, Oram, Elliot
Zelig Posted December 26, 2010 Posted December 26, 2010 Exactly, Albie was not a wise choice. I would have retained Ashwin or Murali instead.
Manny_Pacquiao Posted December 26, 2010 Posted December 26, 2010 The Pakistan Cricket Board is willing to provide all documents and clearance of its players if the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) decides to allow its cricketers to take part in the fourth edition of the Indian Premier League. its not gonna happen and its not worth it. their cricketers arent a big draw for the crowds because the majority of them are mediocre or just plain ****, and they are worthless as members of a team because of their pathetic attitudes. its also a security risk cos there is a good chance that some of them have terrorists in their families, or if not terrorists, than some sort of weird diseases that would require medical attention. they would be a cancer for any team that is stupid enuff to take them on i know ppl are gonna react to this by saying its political but thats not true. the IPL isnt about maintaining diplomatic ties and stuff like that, its a business. u pick the best players for your team, and u dont give preferential treatment to people just because they come from a specific country. if teams think they can build a solid crowd pleasing team without needing paki players, thats fair enuff
Sachin=GOD Posted December 31, 2010 Author Posted December 31, 2010 IPL: Laxman, Ganguly hike their price Sourav Ganguly and VVS Laxman have increased their base prices for the auction of the fourth edition of IPL. Ganguly and Laxman were originally put in the third bracket base price of USD 200,000 (appx Rs 92 lakh) but the duo have decided to put themselves in the highest base price bracket of USD 400,000 (appx Rs 1.84 crore). According to IPL rules, a player has the right to increase or decrease his base price. "Let's be practical. Although Twenty20 is a different format but players of the stature of Ganguly and Laxman would have found it difficult to digest that they have been clubbed in the third bracket of base price. "And since the rule allows them to increase their base price then why not? Now whether the franchises will be game to go for them at that price is a different ball game altogether," a senior official of one of the franchises said on Friday. Ganguly had been KKR's top scorer in the first and third editions while Laxman has had a wonderful season where he has single-handedly won three Test matches for India against Sri Lanka (Colombo), Australia (Mohali) and South Africa (Durban). Ganguly and Laxman are not the first players to have raised their base prices. Former India captains Anil Kumble and Rahul Dravid, who were also in the USD 200,000 have increased it to USD 400,000. http://www.espnstar.com/cricket/indian-premier-league/news/detail/item553796/IPL:-Laxman,-Ganguly-hike-their-price/
b555 Posted January 4, 2011 Posted January 4, 2011 Anil Kumble has pulled out of the IPL, citing business commitments, including his association with cricket and wildlife
hemanthjava Posted January 4, 2011 Posted January 4, 2011 Auction for IPL 2011 – Season 4 will take place on January 8 and 9 in Bangalore. Total 416 players would be put for auction in British style. Check ipltable for more details.
yoda Posted January 4, 2011 Posted January 4, 2011 Interesting concept of letting players bump up their own base price. :giggle: Guess they are saying they are not willing to play for less than that.
The Outsider Posted January 4, 2011 Posted January 4, 2011 Interesting concept of letting players bump up their own base price. :giggle: Guess they are saying they are not willing to play for less than that. Don't see anything wrong in players deciding their own base price. Maybe I am willing to play for $400,000, but in the event of being offered $100,000 find it a waste of my time and I would rather do something else for those 6 weeks.
yoda Posted January 4, 2011 Posted January 4, 2011 Don't see anything wrong in players deciding their own base price. Maybe I am willing to play for $400' date='000, but in the event of being offered $100,000 find it a waste of my time and I would rather do something else for those 6 weeks.[/quote'] I agree in a way, but wouldn't it be better if they did that before they announced the base price of the players? This makes the players look bad in a way.
Andy Posted January 4, 2011 Posted January 4, 2011 I agree in a way, but wouldn't it be better if they did that before they announced the base price of the players? This makes the players look bad in a way. Agree with you on that. What i know Players themselves decided their Base price.
spectre Posted January 4, 2011 Posted January 4, 2011 Nice, looking forward to the weekend. Hope the CSK selection unit gets it right once again.. IPL auction will be live on MAX:woot:
Zero_Unit Posted January 5, 2011 Posted January 5, 2011 Don't see anything wrong in players deciding their own base price. Maybe I am willing to play for $400' date='000, but in the event of being offered $100,000 find it a waste of my time and I would rather do something else for those 6 weeks.[/quote'] What other good things could they possibly do beside watching the IPL on tv lolz ...