Everybody wants to be Sree's BAAP

Yantra

Ever since Sreesanth made his test Debut, every so called "seniors" in the team have some fatherly advise for him, early days it was Dhoni, Yuvraj, Bhajji, even most Babus in BCCI even Kerala cricket Asssocian, these guys who are advising Sree are advising as if they were like "doodh ka dhula" poor guy had just fount some form in the last test and Dhoni again became his father advising him not to cross line, and today sree was below his best, he should first define what is this so called line, because these Steyn, Harris, M Johnson, Ponting, G Smith are always found withing the line, but every time its Sree who's crossing the line. It appears that Dhoni does not have courage to say any thing to so called seniors other wise he would have said some thing to Bhajji atleast once, to me the turning point of the match was Sree/Smith clash, sree got in to the smith's throat making him loose control and therefore loose wicket, and started the collapse, even in today's match he got the better of Amla with some bouncers.

As much as Sreesanth annoys me, I was kind of taken aback when Dhoni publicly reprimanded him despite his great bowling performance in the Durban test. I agree that Dhoni needs to keep a tight control on Sreesanth to ensure he doesn't get banned but he could have done that quietly. Public rebuke is not necessary, in my view. After all Smith is hardly an innocent. I am sure he must have said or heard worse than what Sreesanth said to him.

LOL, its good cop, bad cop thing here. Dhoni telling the world about it..BUt did Sree control it..I thought he was sledging Amla, Kallis and company...Bhajji had to keep him quiet.

You are right there. That's what i thought. I don't think he condemns him in private.

Dhoni should lock him in a cage between matches while occasionally poking him with a stick wearing a SA shirt and make sure he isn't fed anything other than red meat

:hysterical: I want to do it myself lol

I would rather that Sree focus his aggression while bowling, like the bouncer to Kallis last test than the verbal sledging/whatever. All that crap that we accuse the Aussies of regarding sledging all of a sudden seems ok with some of you when an Indian player does the same.

I dont mind sledging from sresanth now that he looks a bit more bulkier n stronger. Sometimes he goes over the top esp with his facial expressions. Dhoni shouldnt reprimand him publicly though, thts wrong on dhonis part.

I dont mind sledging from sresanth now that he looks a bit more bulkier n stronger. Sometimes he goes over the top esp with his facial expressions. Dhoni shouldnt reprimand him publicly though' date= thts wrong on dhonis part.
Precisely...!! Nothing pisses me off more than Dhoni towing Smith's line in the newspapers.. wtf captain ! Learn from the like of Waugh who'd never ever throw one of his own under the bus...
I would rather that Sree focus his aggression while bowling' date=' like the bouncer to Kallis last test than the verbal sledging/whatever. All that crap that we accuse the Aussies of regarding sledging all of a sudden seems ok with some of you when an Indian player does the same.[/quote'] It is perfectly fine with me as long as you don't whine when the other guy says something back.
:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
Only Dhoni knows what it takes to kee a character like Sree losing it all. He can get real nasty without some control.
Nonetheless, keep it in the locker-room. There's no need for the press to have a feeding frenzy about this issue.

Sledging from Sree is perfectly fine if he can bowl fiery spells like this, even if it means crossing the "line". BTW who the eff decides where the line is?!? It isn't as if this is the first time family members were dragged into the sledges. Smith and Harris need to grow a pair and learn to take it if they want to dish it out. Dont see Gambhir making a big issue out of it, when that ugly SOB prince was chattering!

Nonetheless' date=' keep it in the locker-room. There's no need for the press to have a feeding frenzy about this issue.[/quote'] Absolutely!

I am no big fan of sledging, Sports person can be world beaters without being abusive or expressively aggressive, as can be seen with Sachin, Federer, Rahul, VVS etc... We don't have to emulate Aussie way of playing, this represent to some extent their culture and way of upbringing, we have different culture and we should be able to win it our way, However with this public advise, everyone in the team wants to prove they are seniors and have right to say over juniors, soon you will hear person like Raina, Kohli and some other recent entries giving free unwanted public advise to new comers, I think its lies within our culture, where you do "ji hazoor" to man with the power and Scold those who has no power to proove you point.

It depends on the person. Sledging motivates some, while it doesn't work for others. You got to do what works for you and i think sledging works for Sree, as long as he doesn't go over the top. Some guys I have played with were this way where they need to be in a "combat" mentality while competing.

I am no big fan of sledging, Sports person can be world beaters without being abusive or expressively aggressive, as can be seen with Sachin, Federer, Rahul, VVS etc... We don't have to emulate Aussie way of playing, this represent to some extent their culture and way of upbringing, we have different culture and we should be able to win it our way,
Pah...that's ridiculous! What is "our culture" and "our way of winning"? Can you kindly elucidate? Our passive attitude during the 70's, 80's, and 90's were very productive, weren't they? It took a Ganguly and his very vocal attitude to give us some moxie and we decided to build on it to much success. Fast-forward to the present- we have arm-chair experts who blackball such attitudes and feel the need to drag in "cultural sensibilities." So someone has some swagger and decides to strut his stuff and all of a sudden the masses of sheep collectively drag him down. Come to think of it- THAT pretty much sums up "our culture."

What I wanted to say is that you can still be aggressive without being cheap, by showing or saying cheap things, Agree, if some one says something abusive do not take it quietly, "jaise to taisa dena padega" you can also do this with your style of play also, i.e. determinded knock or hostile bowling, BTW, we were not that bad in the 80's when we won the world cup, world series cup, beat Aussies in Aus, and england in england. and who was leading cricketer then, Kapildev, he was aggressive but not cheap way. We don't have to be "chhichhora" to win, but, yes if some body starts it give them reply with due interest.