dr_tooley Posted January 22, 2011 Posted January 22, 2011 there is no way Raina or Yuvraj will be dropped. Tendulkar Sehwag Gambhir Yuvraj Kohli Raina Dhoni Bhajji Praveen Zaheer Ashwin/Nehra that will be the team. Yusuf will miss out. On current form how can you possibly have Kohli batting below Yuvraj. Putting Kohli at 4 gives real balance to the side and sets it up for the big hitters - Yuvraj, Dhoni, Raina and Pathan to come in and finish off. Of real concern is the lack of confidence Yuvraj, Dhoni and Raina have showed in their batting. Raina has not had a good innings since the end of the Aus tour. They are currently the three worst players in the side. But all have the ability to turn it round. Learn from the great one - Sachin. Went through poor form, booed off Wankhede stadium in 2006, bullied by Greg Chappell in the team and in the press by Ian Chappell. But the chips were down he focused on his cricket and let that do the talking.
b555 Posted January 22, 2011 Posted January 22, 2011 At the moment, it looks like Virat will play. But the transition to a new batting is could be bumpier than you think. How do they juggle between Virat and Gautam at no.3 is something that I am completely fascinated about. Virat is our form player, and has been for over a year now. Yes, it would be pretty stupid to leave him out, especially with Yuvraj in scratchy form and Gautam’s fitness in question. well surely virat has got his place cemented int he team now the q is who will be the loser out of gambhir and yuvi if gambhir isnt fully fit he may have to sit out and given he is fully fit yuvi might have to sit out but thats not really an option if u look at the point that we have a bowler in yuvraj singh really interesting what our fina 11 would be once each and every player is fully fit
Sachin=GOD Posted January 22, 2011 Posted January 22, 2011 In 3rd match Yusuf scored runs and he was made a certainty in the batting order ahead of Kohli. In this match Kohli sored and Yusuf failed so now suddenly we've all made Kohli a certainty in the team ahead of Yusuf. :giggle:
b555 Posted January 22, 2011 Posted January 22, 2011 u r forgetting since how long virat has been scoring :headshake:
Sachin=GOD Posted January 22, 2011 Posted January 22, 2011 u r forgetting since how long virat has been scoring :headshake: I know that. I'm just saying how after every good performance from a player, the reactions on ICF change - Yusuf in one match, Kohli in the next match :winky:
zen Posted January 22, 2011 Posted January 22, 2011 For Ind, bulk of the hard work will have to done by Ten, Sehwag, GG and Kohli. If these four play consistently well, Ind would be doing good more ofthen than not. Depending up on how the playing 11 is the likes of Yuvi, Raina, YP and Dhoni will have to support those 4 well. These guys are not the ones who would have a high scoring series. If we lose early wkts, I don't see how these 4 can consistently play well to bail Ind out. Relying too much on them even at the cost of cutting someone like Kohli would be similar to Pak relying heavily to score big total consistently based on having Misbah, Afridi, Razzaq and Akmal playing in 4 to 7 positions. Bhajji looks all fired up now but come WC and I won't be surprised to see him being wacked around the park. The opposition will see him as one of our main bowlers and will try to unsettle him. Bhajji will have to use all his tricks to be successful and not bowl unidimentionally. If we dont pick early wkts, I find it hard to vizualize how Bhajji could be effective as even when we pick early wkts, he allows the opposition at times to crawls back in. If he struggles to pick wkts than we should not hesitate to play Ashwin. No need to say that Zak, PK, Munaf and Nehra have the work cut out for them.
Tendulkar_Bhai Posted January 22, 2011 Posted January 22, 2011 there is no way Raina or Yuvraj will be dropped. Tendulkar Sehwag Gambhir Yuvraj Kohli Raina Dhoni Bhajji Praveen Zaheer Ashwin/Nehra that will be the team. Yusuf will miss out. That is my team as well, but for me theres NO DOUBT Nehra would not even be in consideration, if we play 2 spinners itd be Ashwin and if pace bowler then Munaf. Also Kohli and UV would swap places.
ch1234 Posted January 22, 2011 Posted January 22, 2011 1Sachin 2Sehwag 3Kohli/Gambhir (may be both together, depending on the necessity to include 2 from the No. 7 slot down) 4Yuvraj 5Dhoni 6/7Yusuf/Raina/Aswin (depending on the pitch and the opponent team composition) 8Harbhajan 9Munaf/Nehra 10Zak 11P.K
Zero_Unit Posted January 23, 2011 Posted January 23, 2011 their forms are starting to piss me off a bit. We can't expect this type of show from them in the WC. The opponents will bite up our ass. Kholi is the only one who is even giving some effort and the rest are being useless! If middle order dosen't get thier acts right then we will lower our chances of winning matches in WC. Let's face it our bowling is not that great and we rely more on the batsmen to get us run.
zen Posted January 23, 2011 Posted January 23, 2011 PS Raina departs too. Oh boy! the guys who should be competing for #6 slot are all playing all over our line up :((
wanted_desi Posted January 23, 2011 Posted January 23, 2011 Drop UV and bring on Ahswin, he caan bat btr than UV
zen Posted January 23, 2011 Posted January 23, 2011 Calling Captain Flat Pitch :captain: to the rescue
saneindian Posted January 23, 2011 Author Posted January 23, 2011 This is now getting worrisome. These three look completely out of sorts. We have some domestic games between now and the World Cup. Should they be asked to play in the Duleep Trophy matches? (Yuvi and Raina , Dhoni's team East one is out of the Duleep Trophy)
CSK Fan Posted January 23, 2011 Posted January 23, 2011 Yuvraj's confidecne seems to be shot, dont think he will do well even on the flat Indian pitches. The form players Kohli and Pathan should be in
saneindian Posted January 23, 2011 Author Posted January 23, 2011 Yuvraj's confidecne seems to be shot' date=' dont think he will do well even on the flat Indian pitches. The form players Kohli and Pathan should be in[/quote'] He contributes with the ball and can be our 5th bowler. Maybe if isnt in form with the bat move him down to no 6. Top 4 have to be Sach, Viru, Gauti and Kohli.
CSK Fan Posted January 23, 2011 Posted January 23, 2011 He contributes with the ball and can be our 5th bowler. Maybe if isnt in form with the bat move him down to no 6. Top 4 have to be Sach' date=' Viru, Gauti and Kohli.[/quote'] So does Yousuf. Will you leave him out then?
Sid Posted January 23, 2011 Posted January 23, 2011 Raina going through best form his career in the last one year or so has really lost the form and confidence at the wrong time ,as cliche says he peaked at the wrong time and now he is looking out of sorts , in P.E he was struggling against even Peterson and ultimately got out to him. Yuvi anyday will be picked ahead of Raina becoz of his left arm spin option,which is the variety our team needs,so Raina will have to miss out
zen Posted January 23, 2011 Posted January 23, 2011 My top 5 would be as following: - SRT - VS - GG - VK - YP and then we have Dhoni, along with 3 positions for the seamers.... Yuvi, Raina, Bhajji, Ashwin and Chalwa can battle it out for the remaining two positions
saneindian Posted January 23, 2011 Author Posted January 23, 2011 So does Yousuf. Will you leave him out then? Absolutely not. Atter today's knock , not picking him in the 11 for the match vs BD will be illogical and unjust. Unless Raina scores heavily in practice matches, he has lost his spot in the 11 IMO.