Sachin=GOD Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 That was done by one of my friend' date=' [b']The 2nd one is mine :icflove: just saw it. Its very nice. Looks like you've applied black and white (or maybe some other) effects to the background :hmmm:
Andy Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 Nice work Andy :nice: :icflove: just saw it. Its very nice. Looks like you've applied black and white (or maybe some other) effects to the background :hmmm: Yes added Glow, Desaturated the Picture with Green and Red filter.:two_thumbs_up:
fineleg Posted March 1, 2011 Author Posted March 1, 2011 Well if you are not certain what DGB could do today then logic dictates that you pick the one who has excelled under higher standards. This is what I'am saying. No, if we are not certain of that, logic dictates that we say SRT is the best among his peers. However, we cannot say SRT is the best even if DGB had played in the current era. Because the latter statement cannot be proved. It is hypothetical. How can we say that DGB (had he been born and brought up in the same era as SRT) cannot have played better than him? He may have, he may not have. Cannot be proved one way or the other.
zen Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 When a simple thread on Sachin's sixes gets turned into vs Bradman thread, you know where the problem lies :winky:
akshayxyz Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 For once I have to agree with Rett. Pulling Bradman in this thread was uncalled for - whoever started and then whoever else continued - there is some problem.
Raghav_12 Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 For once I have to agree with Rett. Pulling Bradman in this thread was uncalled for - whoever started and then whoever else continued - there is some problem. Gingerly I would also agree with post above. There was no need to pull Bradman in this thread. However, now while we are at it anyways :winky:, i'll highlight one point which greatly undermines batting achievements of Bradman's era, including his own. Sometime back I got to know that bowlers used to deliver some 130-140 overs in a day in those times. Now I can't take that bowling seriously. As a bowler you can't deliver that mnay overs in a day unless you have been employed just to keep throwing ball at other end so that game can be kept going. Look at the Australia's second innings scorecard in this match. http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/62585.html Australian openers were on ground for 148 mins. It means that second innings of Australia lasted for two and half hours. And, now best part, West Indians delivered 56 overs in two and half hours...!!! Now how on earth any set of SERIOUS bowlers can deliver 56 overs in 148 mins ?? No I don't think if these bowlers were serious or bowling was taken as the serious job.
fineleg Posted March 1, 2011 Author Posted March 1, 2011 I am not saying DGB was the greatest ever. All, I'm saying is that you cannot conclusively say that SRT would surely have trumped him in a level playing field if both are of the same age. You are the one extrapolating. You are extrapolating DGB to say that - if he was SRT's peer, he'd have underperformed SRT. Thats the extrapolation that should not be done. And, I dont think the posts need to be moved anywhere. I created this thread, and some thread digressions are natural (I feel that way). So, I am not going to be super strict that posts cannot digress. As the OP of this thread, I think its ok to have this discussion and digression. So, I hope the posts can remain here. And Andy - that was a great pic :two_thumbs_up:
yoda Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 Digression started cause BB couldn't accept my statement which referred to SRT as "The greatest ODI player ever". LOL! He has to be regarded as the best of all times, best of all formats, best of all ages, best of all sports, best of all galaxies, best of the universe and most importantly best amongst all GODs, or else back to a 100 page discussion. :giggle:
zen Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 Anyone w/ better test record than Sachin has to be attacked :hitler:
Raghav_12 Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 Digression started cause BB couldn't accept my statement which referred to SRT as "The greatest ODI player ever". LOL! He has to be regarded as the best of all times, best of all formats, best of all ages, best of all sports, best of all galaxies, best of the universe and most importantly best amongst all GODs, or else back to a 100 page discussion. :giggle: Though often I am on other side of the fence, but can't stop laughing on this :haha::haha: God is Sachin. All hail great Sachin :giggle:
fineleg Posted March 1, 2011 Author Posted March 1, 2011 and the funny thing is the term DGB bhakts :D When the truth is some are SRT bhakts One need not be a bhakt of either, just a fan is sufficient. This bhakt/worshipping is just OTT. And let us acknowledge the greatness of DGB and SRT - they are both legends. That's all.
fineleg Posted March 1, 2011 Author Posted March 1, 2011 And the bodyline bowlers were all lallu? Well, that strategy was new at that time, and many batsmen found it difficult. We need to be open about this, I suppose. We havent watched any of this live, and video footage is not great those days. But bodyline strategy troubled batsmen and DGB faced upto it. Its not like now, when batsmen expect it, and work on it a lot more. And lets not forget modern PROTECTIVE GEAR which cricketers of those days lacked.
Raghav_12 Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 And the bodyline bowlers were all lallu? Well, that strategy was new at that time, and many batsmen found it difficult. We need to be open about this, I suppose. We havent watched any of this live, and video footage is not great those days. But bodyline strategy troubled batsmen and DGB faced upto it. Its not like now, when batsmen expect it, and work on it a lot more. And lets not forget modern PROTECTIVE GEAR which cricketers of those days lacked. Bodyline was series where bowlers raised voice for their rights but it was smothered because it was against basic notion of bowlers (which was prevalent at that time) that they are there just to keep the game going. In fact, stats of bodyline series again reduces halo around Bradman and brings him back to Sachin like mortality. From Australian side, Bradman scored 396 runs in series while Steve McCabe did 385. Steve McCabe had a career average of 48, but in Bodyline it went down to 43 only. Bradman had a career average of 100, but in bodyline it came down to 56. Bradman scored 1 century in series and so did Steve McCabe. Point I am trying to make here is, though Bradman was still best Australian batsman in bodyline, but he was no where proved to be in different league. Mind you his being in different league has always been a corner stone of Bradman's Bhakt's argumens. The huge difference between Bradman and his peers was there only for easier conditions. When standards went up they were at same level, almost.
zen Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 fineleg ji, Don't lose your sleep over this. The test records speak for themselves, there is nothing to prove. Do we see Bradman fans feeling the need to go around shouting who is the best? That's understood, I guess. Some folks go :fishing: on many threads trying to get a vs Bradman discussing going to cater to their fantasies :giggle: I hate to say this but despite being so smart, I got sucked into this discussion too :((
fineleg Posted March 1, 2011 Author Posted March 1, 2011 Boss Bhai, You are lost in SRT :D He is a legend, but there other legends of the game too. Hope you can see that
pensionplan Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 He is a legend, but there other legends of the game too. Hope you can see thatWithout a doubt. Take Lara for example. An equal if not better in some people's mind than Tendulkar. Consider this. To cross Lara's mark of 11,953 it took Tendulkar 15 innings more playing in the same era and opponents. That right there proves the game is much bigger than any single individual or team. This greatest of all time etc etc is more of a subjective than anything else and more of an obsession with people caught up in one man worship be it Tendulkar or some other player.