Sachin's sixes!

fineleg

That was done by one of my friend' date=' The 2nd one is mine :icflove:[/quote'] you ****ed up a masterpiece by adding the facebook link
This greatest of all time etc etc is more of a subjective than anything else and more of an obsession with people caught up in one man worship be it Tendulkar or some other player.
Yep, while Sach is a legend, some folks are getting blindly obsessed on him, that they are refusing to acknowledge other greats of the game such as Lara or DGB. Those others are equally legendary in their own ways. And what is funny is - they claim they are somehow more "Indian" or more "non-self-loathing" just because they are fanatically obsessed on only one single player. Can we get to reality? There are other legends of the game too, and lets acknowledge them and acknowledge Baasu as well.
Guest BossBhai

-- Removed on request of the user --

If you are so convinced about DGB being the best try to debate based on facts and logic
No, I am not. You need to get the reading comprehension right. I am saying - You cannot claim SRT greater than DGB or DGB greater than SRT. That comparison is an epic fail to begin with (since it is an invalid comparison!), and so are the other extrapolations and jingoistic claims that SRT bhakts are making.
No' date=' I am not. [b']You need to get the reading comprehension right. I am saying - You cannot claim SRT greater than DGB or DGB greater than SRT. That comparison is an epic fail to begin with (since it is an invalid comparison!), and so are the other extrapolations and jingoistic claims that SRT bhakts are making.
well boss has got the reading comprehension very much right there, atleast thats what u r trying to imply with your posts to a normal sane reader :asleep:
And yeah the reason I got into these DGB vs SRT debates was to fix the usual suspects who are good at shouting long and hard throw some smilies and inane bakwas and try to ridicule posters who have a different opinion on this matter. If you are so convinced about DGB being the best try to debate based on facts and logic else kindly STFU. you back again with the random BS ? any chance you going to find enough courage and moral fortitude to answer my question about Ernie Toshack instead of doing your hit and run sorties ?
awesome post man !! :hatsoff::hatsoff::hatsoff:

b555, I am saying there is no valid comparison. He is neither greater, nor lesser nor whatever with DGB. They are both legends in their own way. That's it.

Guest BossBhai

-- Removed on request of the user --

Technical question: Is the 'greatness' of a six determined by how high and how far the ball travels? If that is the case, I have seen Tendulkar hit much better sixers than the ones he did against England.

greatness of a 6 here we are talking about is a personal opinion and may differ from person to person but that doesnt make the other poster wrong
you back again with the random BS ? any chance you going to find enough courage and moral fortitude to answer my question about Ernie Toshack instead of doing your hit and run sorties ?
I answered everything that I find is relevant on the DGB thread. May be not to your liking but I did as I saw deem fit. Speaking of random BS for you anything not worshiping Tendulkar is such. Keeping that aside and resisting trading jabs however brings me to ask you the following. 1) Why did it take Tendulkar 15 innings more to surpass Lara's mark of 11,953? (You are outright claiming Tendulkar to be the 'absolute' best batsman ever so the scrutiny will be that much more tough) and something you never convincingly answered at least for me in terms of cricketing reasons 2) Why among a set of 400 FC batsman that played reasonable amount of cricket in the time in and around that of Bradman no one averaged more than 60 at the FC level while Bradman averaged 100 in Test matches? Contrast that to Tendulkar's time. He is among a elite group of batsman that have averaged between 52 - 60 in Test matches nothing to distinguish himself out of the list to be claimed indisputable. Anyhow as I said many times most of these best ever ratings are very subjective in nature given there are so many factors one can come with and justify their claims and take up for the player they want.
you ****ed up a masterpiece by adding the facebook link
One doesnt need to Log into FB to check that picture or view it full size. It was a Direct link.

What I fail to understand is that why some people very conveniently overlook Goddy's prodigious achievements in ODI cricket while making these comparisons with Sir Don Bradman. Over 17000 international runs are very conveniently swept under the carpet by Bradman fans because Bradman did'nt play ODI cricket and ergo it would'nt be a "fair comparison'.

Comparison of Goddy with DGB holds not much Good for a Person who has played only in England and Aus. And against Few Opposition. Most teams during DGB's days used to be minnows baring England and Aus, But this topic has been discussed million times on this Forum and is dead and Burried, Being SRT the clear Winner.

One doesnt need to Log into FB to check that picture or view it full size. It was a Direct link.
no - I mean you added a watermark of the facebook link ON that picture and it ruined it for me. The pic otherwise is just top-class. If you could give me a copy of that pic without the watermark, it would be awesome. But I understand if you feel the need to protect your work that way.

BossBhai - great reply. It is tempting to lose your cool when people raise questions or doubts about SRT but kudos to you for keeping your cool and responding to them in a scientific and logical manner. Now the only thing that prevents anyone from acknowledging the facts is their ego/stubbornness. I don't think there is a single question that you have not responded to in a logical manner. People often realize the value of history in retrospect. They fail to see it happening when they are in the present. Fellows, wake up and realize that you are seeing a legend - a kind of which will not be seen even by your great great great great great great great great grandchildren's lifetimes.

Ofcourse SRT is a legend, and a special one at that too. And, yes we are fortunate to watch the Little Master in action. :thumbs_up: The problem is only when people decrease the achievements of other special legends of the game. It is not DGB's fault that there were no ODIs back then, or that Eng-Aus were the main cricket teams of that era. The thing is that any special sportsperson is recognized by the drive to excel well and truly beyond others. SRT has the drive, and DGB had that. That's why we cannot rule out - that Had DGB played in today's era, maybe he would have been a super achiever too. We cannot rule it out, and hence all we are saying is Comparison between SRT and DGB is invalid. Totally different timeframes and situations. Just that some people abandon logic, and any rationale and go totally jingoistic instead of being able to calmly look at why the comparison is invalid.