Sachin=GOD Posted March 13, 2011 Posted March 13, 2011 As a keeper he has been top class in this WC but its his batting which has undergone a drastic change for the worse in the last few months. He has'nt been making runs consistently and even when he does, the strike rate has taken a massive dip from the old Dhoni - and that is worrying. He was a fantastic finisher but suddenly it seems Captaincy is affecting his batting :hmmm:
achilles Posted March 13, 2011 Author Posted March 13, 2011 ^ I forsee a Sachin of '06 phase for him... fail with the bat for 4-5 inngs, people start putting pressure, then he scores a random 50 saying, "I've answered my critics", fail for the next 4-5 games as well and the same story repeats. Ofcourse Sachin managed to get over this phase as if it never happened and is right now the most dangerous opener in the world, second only to Sehwag, I feel. Can Dhoni get his act together? Only time will tell. And kudos to Dhoni for being an oversmart wit, cutting all competition by.... you got it right... not giving them an opportunity. I think KKD is a better keeper, but well, the captain loves to unfairly cut competition.
Sachin=GOD Posted March 13, 2011 Posted March 13, 2011 ^ I forsee a Sachin of '06 phase for him... fail with the bat for 4-5 inngs, people start putting pressure, then he scores a random 50 saying, "I've answered my critics", fail for the next 4-5 games as well and the same story repeats. Ofcourse Sachin managed to get over this phase as if it never happened and is right now the most dangerous opener in the world, second only to Sehwag, I feel. Can Dhoni get his act together? Only time will tell. And kudos to Dhoni for being an oversmart wit, cutting all competition by.... you got it right... not giving them an opportunity. I think KKD is a better keeper, but well, the captain loves to unfairly cut competition. Nopes. Dhoni is by far India's best keeper and his keeping in this WC has ranged from very good usually to spectacular on a few occasions. Also, Dhoni the batsman, even in this kind of form is better than KKD the batsman.
Sid Posted March 13, 2011 Posted March 13, 2011 ^ I forsee a Sachin of '06 phase for him... fail with the bat for 4-5 inngs, people start putting pressure, then he scores a random 50 saying, "I've answered my critics", fail for the next 4-5 games as well and the same story repeats. Ofcourse Sachin managed to get over this phase as if it never happened and is right now the most dangerous opener in the world, second only to Sehwag, I feel. Can Dhoni get his act together? Only time will tell. And kudos to Dhoni for being an oversmart wit, cutting all competition by.... you got it right... not giving them an opportunity. I think KKD is a better keeper, but well, the captain loves to unfairly cut competition. Another one of those lunatic theories of yours :two_thumbs_up:
achilles Posted March 13, 2011 Author Posted March 13, 2011 @Sach=God... Well statistically, you are bang on target. However, statistics stem from opportunities too. I'm sure you agree that KKD has been shunned after a few failures. I don't advocate playing a non-performer. I however, advocate persisting with a player, the same way Ravi Jadeja was (for being an allrounder), for atleast 6 months. Dhoni however had different ideas. Maybe he thought that Buddhiman Saha is not buddhiman enough to retain his place for a long shot, something which a seasoned campaigner like KKD can. Hence, KKD doesn't get a crack more often. @ Dhon.... Sorry for shattering your heart :((
saneindian Posted March 13, 2011 Posted March 13, 2011 So what started out as OP's rant against Dhoni the batsman has now become Dhoni the "oversmart wit" who has killed all competition. BTW OP wasn't KKD going to Mumbai because his mentor and godfather TA Sekar is with Mumbai in IPL? Wonder why that did not happen.:--D
Sachin=GOD Posted March 13, 2011 Posted March 13, 2011 @Sach=God... Well statistically' date=' you are bang on target. However, [b']statistics stem from opportunities too. I'm sure you agree that KKD has been shunned after a few failures. I don't advocate playing a non-performer. I however, advocate persisting with a player, the same way Ravi Jadeja was (for being an allrounder), for atleast 6 months. Dhoni however had different ideas. Maybe he thought that Buddhiman Saha is not buddhiman enough to retain his place for a long shot, something which a seasoned campaigner like KKD can. Hence, KKD doesn't get a crack more often. @ Dhon.... Sorry for shattering your heart :(( Simple question - when Dhoni has been doing well behind the stumps for a long time where's the need to have another wicket keeper in the team? Or are you suggesting that KKD is such a good batsman that he should've been given chances just as a batsman ahead of the likes of Raina, Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Yusuf, Murali Vijay etc :hmmm: KKD did not get opportunities because Dhoni has been doing well behind the stumps - now if you blame Dhoni even for doing his primary job (wicket keeping) in a good manner, then I'm afraid you are obsessed with Dhoni aur ab tumhara ilaaz nahi ho sakta hai :--D
Sooda Posted March 13, 2011 Posted March 13, 2011 Dinesh is a quality batsman and was shunted up and down the order with no real consistency, that affected his performances. Not far off the likes of Rohit for one. Very useful squad player as he can play as a batter, pretty much anywhere- though he is a middle order batsman, being forced to open has affected him. And of course back up keeper. I guess you could argue the same for Partihv, and PPs last few ODI performances have seen him take DKs spot as back up keeper
don_corleone840 Posted March 13, 2011 Posted March 13, 2011 dhoni is averaging 48 in this worldcup(although he has not scored 40+ even once in this worldcup). :hysterical:
Sachinism Posted March 13, 2011 Posted March 13, 2011 Some people will complain about everything Seriously find another hobby. If he came up to bat and played a long innings then 'he doesn't give others a chance' - I remember a time he used to get constantly criticised about that was said to be 'keeping his average high by batting in the best places'. Now he's trying to give others a chance, people want the old Dhoni back If he came and swung and happened to get out he would be labeled 'irresponsible'
Andy Posted March 13, 2011 Posted March 13, 2011 Well he should have shielded Nehra atleast. You never know another 10-15 runs could have made the difference.
Sachinism Posted March 13, 2011 Posted March 13, 2011 If he shielded Nehra, Munaf would have been exposed. Is it his fault Indians don't know how to field If our best fielder Virat hadn't messed up a run out chance, maybe we would've won If Yuvraj hadn't missed Amla's catch....
achilles Posted March 13, 2011 Author Posted March 13, 2011 Simple question - when Dhoni has been doing well behind the stumps for a long time where's the need to have another wicket keeper in the team? Or are you suggesting that KKD is such a good batsman that he should've been given chances just as a batsman ahead of the likes of Raina, Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Yusuf, Murali Vijay etc :hmmm: KKD did not get opportunities because Dhoni has been doing well behind the stumps - now if you blame Dhoni even for doing his primary job (wicket keeping) in a good manner, then I'm afraid you are obsessed with Dhoni aur ab tumhara ilaaz nahi ho sakta hai :--D So Dhoni is so amazing, that he doesn't even pick a backup for a tourney as important as a world cup? I think we should simply agree to disagree on this one. Dinesh is a quality batsman and was shunted up and down the order with no real consistency' date=' that affected his performances. Not far off the likes of Rohit for one. Very useful squad player as he can play as a batter, pretty much anywhere- though he is a middle order batsman, being forced to open has affected him. And of course back up keeper. I guess you could argue the same for Partihv, and PPs last few ODI performances have seen him take DKs spot as back up keeper[/quote'] Between KKD & Parthiv, if you had to pick a keeper-bat, who would you pick and why? Some people will complain about everything Seriously find another hobby. If he came up to bat and played a long innings then 'he doesn't give others a chance' - I remember a time he used to get constantly criticised about that was said to be 'keeping his average high by batting in the best places'. Now he's trying to give others a chance, people want the old Dhoni back If he came and swung and happened to get out he would be labeled 'irresponsible' Dhoni is so noble that he gives newcomers the strike by taking singles in the 48th over... that too the tailenders, against the best bowlers of the opposition. That is indeed very thoughtful. As for the "irresponsible" part, is a ship built to stay at the shore?
achilles Posted March 13, 2011 Author Posted March 13, 2011 If he shielded Nehra, Munaf would have been exposed. Is it his fault Indians don't know how to field If our best fielder Virat hadn't messed up a run out chance, maybe we would've won If Yuvraj hadn't missed Amla's catch.... Yes, fair enough Virat spilled a chance. But what about the times Dhoni misses catches, stumpings? Does it make him a lesser Indian?
Andy Posted March 13, 2011 Posted March 13, 2011 Exactly the number of Byes, Leg byes he gave away made me think why Rahul Dravid doesnt keep anymore? And yes Nehra and Munaf both should have been shielded, atleast he should have shown some effort. Rather than getting to the Non striker end as early as Possible, Not expected from the 'Leader' of the national Team.
achilles Posted March 13, 2011 Author Posted March 13, 2011 ^ No. What is his fault if Indians can't bat! [/sarcasm]
Chaos Posted March 13, 2011 Posted March 13, 2011 if u r complaining about his keeping, i dunno what to say about ur cricketing sense...
yoda Posted March 13, 2011 Posted March 13, 2011 He is fine as a keeper. As a captain, he has his good qualities (coolness, decent managing of bowlers) and some issues (team selection, field placements). Overall I think his results speak for themselves in terms of captaincy. The area where he has sucked in is explosive batting. He can play percentage cricket, but simply can't accelerate even if needed.
Ultimate_Game Posted March 13, 2011 Posted March 13, 2011 Folks I think we have been spoilt rotten with Dhoni and have taken him for granted. Reminds me of the saying "ghar ki murgi daal barabar". You only have to look around at other teams to see how lucky we are. None of the other wicket keepers come close to him at the moment as Dhoni > Haddin, Akmal, Prior, Van Wyk etc. Only McCullum can get close but even he averages much less than what Dhoni does. We are talking about a guy whose record speaks for itself - an average of around 50 from 150-200 games and a SR around 90! Plus he's the captain to boot! Whom would you rather have in the team? Dinesh Karthik? Parthiv Patel? Be thankful for what we have as I still remember the days when the likes of Mongia, Saba Karim, Vijay Dahiya, Ajay Ratra kept for us and our tailenders started from the wk position.