therocky Posted March 17, 2011 Author Posted March 17, 2011 India without Sachin will be a man without his lover or wife. :facepalm:
OriginalCopy Posted March 17, 2011 Posted March 17, 2011 When Sachin retires: 1) Every collapse will remind the viewers what he brought to the team in terms of batting. 2) Indian cricket will lose many fans. 3) His legacy will become even greater than it already is today. 4) India's winning percentage will become lesser than it is now. 5) Test wins against top teams will become lesser and vulnerability will increase. 6) I will cry :-(
vaibhav_delhi Posted March 17, 2011 Posted March 17, 2011 Firstly, your entire argument is based on ODIs. Now even in ODIs, Sachin is the best batsman ever (roflol at saying Gambhir will replace him just like that), but ODIs are not a true measure of a team's worth. Tests are. And believe me, when Sachin retires and we have clowns like Rohit Sharma and Suresh Raina in our Test middle-order, you will see how quickly Dhoni's successful captaincy record declines. I don't mean to rubbish Dhoni who is a fine cricketer. But when you make absurd arguments like saying Dhoni is more valuable than Sachin, it happens. couple of valid points in your post. Yeps, In test matches, Sachin will be missed!! Although I feel Kohli will be his replacement, not rohit or raina. And in ODIs, yes, sachin > Gambhir, but not by a huge margin. Compare this to our best dhoni replcements kartick or parthiv. Not to mention that Dhoni's captaincy (2nd most successful captain in the history of cricket in terms of w/l ratio, if india wins 1 more test, he becomes THE most successful in the history of cricket.) 'Value over entire career' is not equal to 'more indispensable at present' !! hope you understand. For me, dhoni > sachin in terms of indispensability.
Aniruddha Posted March 17, 2011 Posted March 17, 2011 actually he should retire after world cup, wants to see more in test matches.......cant imagine a test match without him or dravid,laxman
vamos_rafa Posted March 17, 2011 Posted March 17, 2011 Dont mean to compare him with Akram but "What will happen to Pakistan (cricket) after Akram retires?" I thought it so hard 8 years back, I thought Pakistan's bowling will just finish, I thought I will not watch cricket anymore... Though we might not produce any Akram again but it was not an end of cricketing world in Pakistan, life moved on and no one stopped watching cricket, also we kept on doing reasonably well in bowling... Very right (W)asim bhai :--D
w4rlock Posted March 17, 2011 Posted March 17, 2011 i dont think there will b any loss in sachin's absence. V have players lyk kohlis, pujaras, dhonis etc who can definitely anchor the innings and can switch gears at will. Though sachin's contribution to indian cricket is unmatched, his retirement is inevitable. The only thing that is permanent is change.
vvvslaxman Posted March 17, 2011 Posted March 17, 2011 I don't know man... even if Sachin is from some other country i would miss him. Entire cricketing world will miss such a champion. But he will be talked about for years much like the past greats. From an Indian perspective Test team will take a hit. Fortunately Viru, Gauti, Kohli will be around for a while. Hope we will fidn some other good player.
Baad Indian Posted March 17, 2011 Posted March 17, 2011 Indian Cricket is nothing without Tendulkar , Tests and Odis will never be exciting after Sachin retires . People wont take much interest in Cricket than they previously did , Cricket will lose its popularity and will become an ordinary sport just as it was during the 80s before emergence of Sachin.
Sid Posted March 17, 2011 Posted March 17, 2011 I cant imagine Indian Cricket without Sach :((,but the game will go on...........................................................................
Javier Posted March 17, 2011 Posted March 17, 2011 No1 has been able to unite India the way Sachin has past 20 years , there will never be anyone more greater than him . Just imagine the weight of a Billion expectations that the little Master carries on his shoulders , even an ordinary fan like me expects him to score a century everytime he comes on to bat , for that one day its Sachin's performance on the field that decides whether I will have a good or a bad day. I wish I was lucky enough to watch Sachin bat as long as am alive but I know its not possible . I would never miss anything more in my life than watch Sachin bat , cant really get bothered about the likes of Kohli , Pujara , Dhoni , Raina , Sharma after him . Sachin is God and Dhoni is the opposite of what Sachin is , reverse God.
Baad Indian Posted March 17, 2011 Posted March 17, 2011 Sachin is God and Dhoni is the opposite of what Sachin is ' date=' reverse God.[/quote'] LOL . Dhoni would rather consider himself fortunate if he is able to garner even 1% of Huge Die Hard fans that Sachin possesses past two decades.
maniac Posted March 17, 2011 Posted March 17, 2011 LOL . Dhoni would rather consider himself fortunate if he is able to garner even 1% of Huge Die Hard fans that Sachin possesses past two decades. Let Dhoni first acheive atleast 10% of what Sachin has...then I will be the first one to jump on the Dhoni worship bandwagon... No disrespect to Dhoni but he hasn't so far displayed nor has the capability to carry the team like Sachin has.He is a good contributor with his keeping and face-saving notouts.He will always play a supporting role much like RD did but can never be the hero like SRT has been to his billions of fans. Obviously he isn't even in RD's league as yet.
ludhianvi Posted April 6, 2011 Posted April 6, 2011 India will implode.. I'm part of an organization collecting donations to make a place of worship for all the fans. The enlightenment centre will be a blend of tradition and modern technology.We will be collecting soils from all the grounds Sachin Tendulkar has made centuries. We're working with Tendulkar to give us his trophies and bats used throughout his famous knocks among other memorabilia. There will be atleast 2-3 movie theatres showcasing rare footage and going through the various milestones of his career. For the kids, there will be Tendulkar rides as well as interactive batting net sessions. In the 3rd hall, there will be a 'Test your Might' quiz contest. The winner will get a Sachin Tendulkar autographed Indian jersey. Other fun and enjoyable activities include a photo session where you can rewrite history and be captured alongside Sachin Tendulkar throughout his various cherished moments. This will truly be an once in a lifetime experience and a fun family outing. These are only some of teasers, there's more planned. We're currently looking at Mumbai for this centre but as the real estate prices are sky rocketing, please send me a PM with regards to donations. Your assistance is very much appreciated in this just and noble cause. May God be with you [EDIT] Please note that this concept has been patented and any copyright infringement will be strictly dealt with Idea has been stolen :mad: PMC allocates land for Sachin museum PUNE: The standing committee of the Pune Municipal Corporation (PMC) on Tuesday resolved to allocate an acre of land to the state government where a sports museum to showcase Sachin Tendulkar's cricket career can come up. Speaking to reporters on Tuesday, committee chairman Ganesh Bidkar said, "Last March, the state government in its budget had announced that it would set up a museum in Mumbai to showcase Sachin's achievements. Finance minister Sunil Tatkare also made a provision of Rs 40 crore for this. However, the Mumbai municipal corporation could not provide land for the museum and the funds remained unutilised. The standing committee on Tuesday resolved to allocate 1 acre in Baner-Balewadi for the museum." He said that the PMC had contacted state officials in this regard. "The land we want to allocate is reserved for an amenity space." Corporator Shrikant Patil, who tabled the proposal said, "As the Mumbai municipal corporation has failed to give land, the PMC has taken the initiative. It would be an honour for Pune city to have a cricket museum dedicated to Sachin Tendulkar." At its meeting, the standing committee also resolved to congratulate the Indian cricket team for winning the ICC world cup. "The PMC will organise a special function to felicitate the players of the Indian cricket team and an invitation will be sent to them soon," said Bidkar. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/pune/PMC-allocates-land-for-Sachin-museum/articleshow/7878838.cms
Rameshraja17 Posted April 6, 2011 Posted April 6, 2011 Intially a part of us will perish and many people around the world would ambivalently salute the Genius and lament over the Loss for International Cricket. But India still have the talent continue the excitement in cricket . I have thought so many times to stop watching cricket , but i dont think any body can . there are series were sachin was not playing but still exciting. Cricket will continue but with his memories.