WC2011INDIA Posted March 28, 2011 Posted March 28, 2011 I am actually very interested in pursuing civil services, but I am not sure what subjects to take. Anyone here preparing for it? Or has someone attempted civil service exams and cleared it? I would highly appreciate if someone here could help me out. I want to do something for my country, which I can only achieve if I go for civil services. I have the following questions- 1) Best coaching institutes in New Delhi? 2) What are the best subjects to choose for mains preparation? 3) Is studying ncert books, reading newspapers, and reading GK knowledge books enough for prelims?
ganeshran Posted March 29, 2011 Posted March 29, 2011 I was interested in it at one time. Gave up after finding its a huge swallow-vomit job.
glogirl Posted March 29, 2011 Posted March 29, 2011 I was interested in it at one time. Gave up after finding its a huge swallow-vomit job. Me too. last year i attended coaching classes but my academic studies was a big barrier and i gave up.
Raghav_12 Posted March 30, 2011 Posted March 30, 2011 If you are in Delhi, go to Jia Sarai (Near IIT Delhi). Area is full of civil services aspirants. Even Chaiwala of that area would be able to tell you about some basics of the exam preparations. Looking at your post it seems like you underestimating efforts required for these exams. It is a hell of a job.
ravishingravi Posted March 30, 2011 Posted March 30, 2011 I was interested in it at one time. Gave up after finding its a huge swallow-vomit job. That is gross generalization, don't you think ?
WC2011INDIA Posted March 31, 2011 Author Posted March 31, 2011 If you are in Delhi' date=' go to Jia Sarai (Near IIT Delhi). Area is full of civil services aspirants. Even Chaiwala of that area would be able to tell you about some basics of the exam preparations. Looking at your post it seems like you underestimating efforts required for these exams. It is a hell of a job.[/quote'] No way. I know this is the hardest competitive exam in India and possibly in the entire world. Thanks for the information.
Show_stopper Posted April 1, 2011 Posted April 1, 2011 Well I was just wondering about the lack of civil service aspirants here!! I am planning to give my first attempt this June ( finished my B.E last June from Bangalore and thereafter shifted to Delhi temporarily). I was interested in it at one time. Gave up after finding its a huge swallow-vomit job. Ganeshran I think that is exremely unfair and can be quite discouraging for a perspective aspirant. The truth is some amount of memorisation is involved in any exam in this country. But that is hardly the only aspect of this exam.
Show_stopper Posted April 1, 2011 Posted April 1, 2011 WC2011 to answer your questions... The subjects you choose for mains depends on a lot of things dude...your interest,aptitude or background. However if you have no particular preference, I would suggest Public Administration since it is very much relevant for the career you are hoping to take up and the syllabus is pretty concise (can be finished in 2-3 months). You can choose any other subject as your 2nd optional...its upto you. Its been observed that humanties subjets are relatively easy to score off vis-a-vis science subjects. However please don't let that deter you if you're interested in any of the science subjects. As for prelims newspaper is a must ofcourse. Ncert is useful esp for Geography. But for subjects like History, polity, environment, general science you're better off referring to specific books relating to the subject. And please don't waste your time reading "GK books". The questions asked are specifically related to last 12- 14 months. So newspapers + a good year book (like manorama year book) + 1 monthly competitive exam magazine should help you much more.
ganeshran Posted April 1, 2011 Posted April 1, 2011 That is gross generalization' date=' don't you think ?[/quote'] no I really mean it, with the civil services, its not some amount of memorization, but instead almost all of it is memorization and the ability to memorize a host of information only to be able to recollect them at exam time. Civili services exams need to test the aptitude of the candidates, in the way CAT works it. The concepts should be simple, but the application tough.
Sachin=GOD Posted April 1, 2011 Posted April 1, 2011 Civil Service exams is a huge swallow vomit job. You memorize all you can and then go for the exam and try to recall whatever you have memorized.
ganeshran Posted April 1, 2011 Posted April 1, 2011 CAT exam :((:((:(( I got 96 once in CAT :aha: Still didnt get any calls :((
Sir john Posted April 1, 2011 Posted April 1, 2011 I got 96 once in CAT :aha: Still didnt get any calls :(( i got -16 :((:((:((:((:((:((
punjabi_khota Posted April 1, 2011 Posted April 1, 2011 i got -16 :((:((:((:((:((:(( :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Lol ...negative score bhi hota hai cat main ? :hmmm: Aapne abhi beloved one ko score bataya :woot:
ganeshran Posted April 1, 2011 Posted April 1, 2011 i got -16 :((:((:((:((:((:(( :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Sorry SJ bhai hota hai.. I got 130000 rank in AIEEE :((
Sir john Posted April 1, 2011 Posted April 1, 2011 :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Lol ...negative score bhi hota hai cat main ? :hmmm: Aapne abhi beloved one ko score bataya :woot: yes in CAT there is negative marking too,:(( by the way that time i was preparing for my railway interview too, bcz beloved-one paa wanted a govt job damad.
Sir john Posted April 1, 2011 Posted April 1, 2011 :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Sorry SJ bhai hota hai.. I got 130000 rank in AIEEE :(( kucch paane ke iye kucch khoona bhee padta hai i never study hard for CAT exam,bcz i want to become a railway employee. sad thing is that railway suspends me.:((:((:((:((:((:((:((:((:((:((
ganeshran Posted April 1, 2011 Posted April 1, 2011 kucch paane ke iye kucch khoona bhee padta hai i never study hard for CAT exam,bcz i want to become a railway employee. sad thing is that railway suspends me.:((:((:((:((:((:((:((:((:((:(( Why they suspended you? :omg: