Ridiculous schedule

The pool of players has to be managed very carefully. First-team players have to be paired/matched with "substitutes" so to speak, with one group going to the Windies, the other to England or in the squad. Karthikh or Patel can be given a shot at wicketkeeping, especially if the series is going in India's favour and they can afford to rest Dhoni. Pathan/Raina can be used alternatively, or even together with one batsman being replaced. Murali Vijay is a good talent. Tiwary can have a shot as well. Dinda, Sreesanth, Ishant, Yadav and others should be used. It would be worth calling back Irfan based on his 20-20 performance. Until these guys don't get enough experience, we can't expect them to be world beaters.

The BCCI may not be putting a gun to their heads but in a way the franchisee is. It is a commercial proposition, the franchisee is making an investment - and is expecting returns. Normal business. I really think Sehwag is breaking. He started the WC with that grand statement of batting out 50 overs but through the tournament I think his body was not able to keep up. If something happens to him during the IPL and affects his availability for the tours (especially the England tour), I will NOT be happy. :frown:
Agreed with that. We ended up not missing Praveen Kumar - but we very well could have. Still the fact remains that he was injured and missed the world cup. We didnt make early inroads for many of the matches. If Zak goes - we will be toast for any of the overseas series. It is tough to keep playing all year round without compromising the quality.

BCCI really needs to get its priorities right. Unfortunately they hardly seem to care abt the players and all they are concerned about is $$$ BCCI know about this for ages but still did not get it corrected.. They also messed up the SA tour for you guys. If they had planned some tour matches in the schedule your team prolly would have been more used to the conditions and not be rolled over by the SA attack in the 1st innings. Who knows India might have won its first ever test series there

I get a feeling that our test squad in WI will be nowhere near the full strength. The IPL is too big a deal to ignore and so is the tour of England. The likes of Ishant & Mithun shall be our new ball bowlers.

Since 20-20 is popular now scrapping the 50 over format would be the way to go in the long run and that would automatically take care of the too much cricket syndrome. We do not need two adulterated versions of cricket. Either 20-20 or 50 overs. And going by the popularity 20 over format will take over and should be the go forward format along with Test cricket. Wait and watch. Once this WC winning euphoria dies down and IPL catches steam no one will miss the 50 format. In fact from now till the next WC begins in 2015 no one even cares about a single ODI game not when you have the more popular 20-20 format waiting in the wings.

No they can't. If the top 15 or so Indian players opt out of IPL' date=' IPL is dead.[/quote'] But my post was about the choice players have, seniors like MSD and SRT can any day say that they don't wish to play or not play as many games in the IPL and I'm sure BCCI cant do shyt. Even bhajji, Zak and UV are permanent in the side and there is no way that BCCI can punish them for missing IPL.

I'm afraid none of the contracted players can go against BCCI. Besides this most of the players enjoy some special relationship with their owners who have bought them for huge sums and they would not go against them as it might hurt their commercial interest in the long run. Plus there are many things and pressure which we are unaware of. But one thing is certain. Even if our players are not playing for money, they just can skip IPL.

Whilst the WC would have been emotionally draining, physically it would not have been TOO bad considering the gap between matches and the lack of travelling for Indian players... Im just clutching at straws :nervous:

#1.players can get out of playing IPL, they are free to say that they are injured or unwell. No one will because of the money. #2.players can opt to play certain formats but they won't because of the money. #3.bcci is like a company which is organizing shows, they dont care about careers of players or the longevity of it. They see unlimited demand of cricket and then they see millions of wanna be cricketers in India.
You hit the nail on its head. The BCCI is running as company making the product called IPL. But who makes any company successful ? Its customers !!! And we as people are the customer of IPL. There are some people on this forum who are against this tamasha. But a lot of people outside like to watch it. The stadiums are decently packed day in and day out. Has any of the Indian city boycotted this product ? The answer is NO. I have not seen any game played in an empty stadium. Once the customer stops using the product, the company will stop making it. So, instead of blaming BCCI, I think we as responsible fans should try to look at ourselves and see if we are contributing to this. The funny thing is, even this forum has a separate IPL section. This is not personally against you (desi cartman). I just liked your anology of BCCI as company.

We end our England tour on 16th of September. What committments do we have after that? Any home tours ot any JAMODIS? There must be something planned before the series vs Australia. Oh I get it. It will be. CL. But it'll be just for 2 weeks. What do have in November? Don't tell me that BCCI has finally relented and is giving rest to the players in the peak of the season?

^^^ we wish. I believe our BCCI mahashays managed to squeeze a 'jamodis' (:D) series at home vs England sometime around then and a WI tour of India-I think thats a bit later prior to Aus tour...

Just read Cook's interview where he was crying about schedules. Is he for real? The guy plays one form of the game and has been sitting on a farm with his gf since Jan. Someone should show him our schedule.

We end our England tour on 16th of September. What committments do we have after that? Any home tours ot any JAMODIS? There must be something planned before the series vs Australia. Oh I get it. It will be. CL. But it'll be just for 2 weeks. What do have in November? Don't tell me that BCCI has finally relented and is giving rest to the players in the peak of the season?
England are to tour India for a 5 ODI match series in October .