ravishingravi Posted April 8, 2011 Posted April 8, 2011 Anna Hazaare on hunger strike and food brand uses it for advertisement. What can I say ?
Sachin=GOD Posted April 8, 2011 Author Posted April 8, 2011 ^Amul has been using such images in its Ads to reflect the mood of the country for over 3 decades.
ravishingravi Posted April 8, 2011 Posted April 8, 2011 True. Ingenious. My post might have seemed like I was pis@#$. Certainly not.
PaiN_KiLLeR Posted April 8, 2011 Posted April 8, 2011 Agreed the Govt's version is a very WEAK. But a joke? I don't think so. OTOH, the version Anna Hazare is campaigning for...a joke if ever there was one:haha:. The guy will probably go to grave without even realizing it. Have you seen the Government's version? It says the Lokpal / Lokayukta can not act suo moto and any sort of probe would require the consent of the LS / RS speaker. Which means our netas will themselves decide whether a probe can be instituted against them or not :cantstop: The bills also excludes Central Government employees from its purview and we all know that how important their role has been in almost every scam that has rocked this nation. The original draft by Hazare's supporters had a lot of loopholes but they seemed to have sorted most things out after consultation with legal experts like Soli Sorabjee and Harish Salve.
PaiN_KiLLeR Posted April 8, 2011 Posted April 8, 2011 Anna Hazaare on hunger strike and food brand uses it for advertisement. What can I say ? :haha: Brilliant, as usual!
Mariyam Posted April 8, 2011 Posted April 8, 2011 Have you seen the Government's version? It says the Lokpal / Lokayukta can not act suo moto and any sort of probe would require the consent of the LS / RS speaker. Which means our netas will themselves decide whether a probe can be instituted against them or not :cantstop: The bills also excludes Central Government employees from its purview and we all know that how important their role has been in almost every scam that has rocked this nation. The original draft by Hazare's supporters had a lot of loopholes but they seemed to have sorted most things out after consultation with legal experts like Soli Sorabjee and Harish Salve. :hatsoff: You've summed it up really well. The govt's version Lokpal will not have any powers. You can't file FIRs or proceed with any kind of criminal investigations. What the govt is trying to do is to make it into a vigilante's RTI act. lol. Even if the Jan Lokpal is passed in its entirety, it would be very naive to expect the govt to put it into practice. The way it has been designed is that state Lokyukta institutions will support a central Lokpal. However, on the issue of limiting the jurisdiction of the Lokyukta there is some confusion. Two different people have different answers as to whose jurisdiction cases of Octroi fraud ( for eg) or state centre trade etc fall under. But these are mere technicalities. I'm sure Hazare and co. will sort them out.
Aaku Posted April 8, 2011 Posted April 8, 2011 Government has given into everyones demands :omg: final announcement to be made in another 5minx !!! WOWWWWWWWWW !!!
vaibhav_delhi Posted April 8, 2011 Posted April 8, 2011 Government has given into everyones demands :omg: final announcement to be made in another 5minx !!! WOWWWWWWWWW !!! B->:yay: ye to hona hi tha!!!! Media main bahut power hai...media had made it a people's movement!!
Sachin=GOD Posted April 8, 2011 Author Posted April 8, 2011 Just got this msg: Give a missed call on +912261550789 to join the India Against Corruption Movement with Anna Hazare. We need 25 lakh missed calls so forward this to everyone, U'll get a confirmation msg also,, I tried. Gud evening, enjoy.
Sachin=GOD Posted April 8, 2011 Author Posted April 8, 2011 exactly .... I just loled at those who think this is a silver bullet that will exterminate corruption. it may not exterminate corruption as a whole but its a very good beginning. In only two days its got a few results - Sharad Pawar has had to resign from the GoM, and most probably the Govt will accept the new Jan Lokpal Bill tomorrow. So, I think something is better than nothing.
Sachin=GOD Posted April 8, 2011 Author Posted April 8, 2011 People win anti-graft crusade, Hazare to end fast on Saturday NEW DELHI: Government on Friday night blinked in the battle of attrition with Anna Hazare by agreeing to issue a formal order to set up a joint committee for drafting an effective Lokpal Bill and the Gandhian will end his indefinite fast on Saturday. The announcement of an agreement came from both sides late in the night on the fourth day of Hazare's last-unto-death that triggered a nationwide support for his anti-corruption campaign. "Government has accepted all our demands and I will end my fast tomorrow at 10:30AM. This is a victory for the entire nation," Hazare said. Union minister Kapil Sibal, who led the government team of negotiators, welcomed Hazare's announcement and thanked him for it. "This is a victory for democracy," he said adding it was for the government now to issue an appropriate order constituting the committee that will include representatives of civil society and government. However, Hazare's emissaries Kiran Bedi and Swami Agnivesh made it clear that the protest fast will not be ended till the government issues the order. The denouement came after his emissaries met ministers for a round of talks, third in two days and after some hiccups. Finance minister Pranab Mukherjee will be the chairman of the committee that will also include law minister Veerappa Moily, telecom minister Sibal, home minister P Chidambaram and water resources minister Salman Khurshid as members. Besides Hazare, those representing the civil society in the joint committee will be eminent lawyers Shanti Bhushan, Prasant Bhushan, retired Supreme Court Judge Santosh Hege and RTI activist Arvind Kejriwal. Shanti Bhushan will be the co-Chairman. Link
asterix Posted April 8, 2011 Posted April 8, 2011 So Veerappa Moily is not currupt? Not sure about Sibbal..
Sachin=GOD Posted April 8, 2011 Author Posted April 8, 2011 So Veerappa Moily is not currupt? Not sure about Sibbal.. In the UPA Govt its a case of selecting those ministers who are "less corrupt" so I suspect Moily and Sibal may be less corrupt as compared to Pawar or Deshmukh or KamalNath etc.
Stuge Posted April 8, 2011 Posted April 8, 2011 exactly .... I just loled at those who think this is a silver bullet that will exterminate corruption. nope ,it will not ,its like 1857 mutiny. Its just a start ... still a long way to go :)
ravishingravi Posted April 8, 2011 Posted April 8, 2011 It does raise some very fundamental dilemmas of democracy. It if supposed be of the people, by the people and for the people. Therefore by the process of voting people get representative who should protect their aspirations. As such people son't have any power other than vote the person out of power, neither executive nor judiciary. Now a movement like reinforces two things 1) People have been inept in choosing the wrong poilticians and they are not appropriate judges of people 2) Politicians cannot be trusted to govern itself. Now as far I know there has never been a case of people directly consulting govt. ( not through SC ) and almost coercing policy changes. I am sure this will have some fundamental repercussions
kabira Posted April 8, 2011 Posted April 8, 2011 In the UPA Govt its a case of selecting those ministers who are "less corrupt" so I suspect Moily and Sibal may be less corrupt as compared to Pawar or Deshmukh or KamalNath etc. Sibal is definately not corrupt
Sachin=GOD Posted April 8, 2011 Author Posted April 8, 2011 Sibal is definately not corrupt As Arvind Kejrival recently said - "Sibal is the same man who who could see no revenue loss in the 2G spectrum scam". Honestly speaking, I really do not trust many people in this Govt to be "not corrupt".