I smell a Rat...

Ram

Shastri rules out extending term as cricket manager http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/bdeshvind/content/current/story/296054.html "But I was very clear right from the outset that I would do this job because it was a tough time for India. I was free, but I had made my stand clear with the establishment that I was under a contract with ESPN-Star who are my employers. I am a professional, I believe in work ethics, I believe in contracts."... A laudable case of employee loyalty ? hmm... If his intention were to "help" India in tough times , what makes him think those "tough times" are over for the team? His "conscience" told him to take up the job after the world cup , just to let go after the bangla series ? Even Shastri would know that we would have won without him in that series. The real test begins NOW and he is leaving , citing professionel commitments. Either he didnt want to take th e risk of becoming India coach or liked Broadcasting and media more. If shastri had really wanted to become India coach and BCCI intended on hiring him , it wouldnt take more than a couple of phone calls for him to be released from the contract. Imagine how ESPN-STAR would look if everyone wanted Shastri to be coach and they say " No No , doesnt matter how the the team is playing. He cant be coach. He has to commentate for WI-Eng series.." Its pretty clear now , Shastri didnt even ask them to release him from the contract and decided to make them the fall-guy. Very astute indeed. I suspect he just used this to increase his profile in Indian cricket. ESPN-STAR -- be prepared to re-negotiate the contract for a higher pay.After all, Which media organization wouldnt want a guy who has held the top-job in the indian team and can pull quite a lot strings in terms of player contacts, insider information etc...