Just want to know how Indians see Imran Khan as a politician in Pakistan, what perception or overall image you guys have about him? without considering how much "successful" so far he is...

I tell you what, Imran is one person I look upto on the other side of the border. He is a great inspiration for youngsters and for me personally. His achievement with Shaukat khanum hospital is simply one of the the best examples of one man's endeavour. But like I posted elsewhere ( you know where ), as politician he has integrity and ambition but absolutely no consistency or understanding of world affairs what so ever. I ll write in greater detail later.

Completely agree with 1st half and partially agree with 2nd but I will wait for your detailed view over it...

Essentially the following are the areas of dissapointment, while there are some obviously good things 1) Instead of being a liberal secular politician, he has well and truly shifted towards right, even to the extent of supporting what are called "fundoos" in your country. His belief that Islam in itself is secular is completely oblivious to the reality as it presents itself across the world. I would have preferred him to talk about distinction between religion and state which is where Pakistan is struggling. 2) On the killing of Taseer, I was extremely disappointed that for a man who usually says the truth seemed to have caught the same bug of deflection and denial that runs through the nation. He blames US drone attacks for the radicalization and killing of Taseer, height of ignorance. Why is he denying what is happening in the madrassas ? Why is he not accepting that educated class including the media which literally applauded Taseer's killing is going to not to realize the idea of Pakistan ? I would have wanted him to show the mirror to the Pakistanis not again deflect the issues to drone attacks. He goes on to say no Muslim can tolerate the insult of prophet, but they shouldn't kill. Now what kind of message is this suppose to send. He does not even talk about the blasphemy law and its removal. 3) Recent events especially. He is asking the US to leave Pakistan. Why ? Because they have found Osama who was their main objective. Before Osama, he was saying that there were no terrorist and terrorism in pakistan and only war on terror has radicalized them. He wanted the US to stop the drones and leave Pakistan. Now that they have found Osama living comfortably in a mansion garrison city, he wants US to leave Pakistan. Does he realize what the world think of pakistan's credibility at this moment ? He is criticizing the govt. for not being clear in their position which is why Pakistani ISI and military is getting hammered in the media, but he fails to recognize that this is not something new. Pakistan's own military strategist and famous journalists have talked about faction in military and ISI and increasing radicalization under Zia ( I can give links and videos if you like ). This monster has been in works for some time. Pakistan's sovereignity is not world's priority at the moment and rightly so. Now, if a future PM of Pakistan does not control the real leaders ie the military and their budget which 50% of tax payers money, how is he going to change anything. To me Imran is saying right now what people want to hear. And like any cornered nation or community, the country is in a state of paranoia where it is creating its own sense of reality which is comforting for time being but destructive in long term. As time flows by , one by one each theory is falling apart. I am not a supporter of drone attacks but when the crediibility of military and intelligence is in such doubt there really is no option for US for their personal interest.

how many would be really following polictics and that too of pakistani ex cricketer comeon man, people dont care much about hteir own politicians, bahar waalon ka kya dekhe?

I think Imran Khan is popular with the upwardly mobile middle class but hardly makes an impact with the rural and lower middle class in Pakistan. As a politician (that too an emerging one), he is forced to take populist positions rather than pragmatic ones. With a strong tradition of feudal politics in the country that too with PPP, PLM-N and MQM having their strongholds in Sindh, Punjab and Karachi respectively, Imran's TeI doesnt have much of a stronghold on any particular part to build a strong base on. Without any particular region, ethnic or caste affiliation, the party depends solely on the personality cult of Imran Khan to garner votes. So he gets a section of votes in the middle and upper middle classes where people admire him for his cricketing exploits, but people in rural areas are more preoccupied with pressing daily issues to give importance to sports achievments. Imran's only chance is to get into a coalition with any of the existing parties and then demonstrate his party's better governance to the people and ask votes on the basis of better performance.

JSG2YfkkMcI&feature=player_embedded Just saw this video. Corny background score, song from TZP ( Afridi says Hi ), but just take a look at the gratitude mothers feel for Imran Khan today. His cancer hospital has saved many a lives at free of cost for most. This is not an Indian or Pakistani thing. Greatness has to be appreciated wherever it comes from. I hope we can all take some lessons from him.

3) Recent events especially. He is asking the US to leave Pakistan. Why ? Because they have found Osama who was their main objective. Before Osama, he was saying that there were no terrorist and terrorism in pakistan and only war on terror has radicalized them. He wanted the US to stop the drones and leave Pakistan. Now that they have found Osama living comfortably in a mansion garrison city, he wants US to leave Pakistan. Does he realize what the world think of pakistan's credibility at this moment ? He is criticizing the govt. for not being clear in their position which is why Pakistani ISI and military is getting hammered in the media, but he fails to recognize that this is not something new. Pakistan's own military strategist and famous journalists have talked about faction in military and ISI and increasing radicalization under Zia ( I can give links and videos if you like ). This monster has been in works for some time. Pakistan's sovereignity is not world's priority at the moment and rightly so. Now, if a future PM of Pakistan does not control the real leaders ie the military and their budget which 50% of tax payers money, how is he going to change anything. To me Imran is saying right now what people want to hear. And like any cornered nation or community, the country is in a state of paranoia where it is creating its own sense of reality which is comforting for time being but destructive in long term. As time flows by , one by one each theory is falling apart. I am not a supporter of drone attacks but when the crediibility of military and intelligence is in such doubt there really is no option for US for their personal interest.
You are looking at it from the perspective of an outsider with interests in seeing the terrorist killed. He is looking after his own country's interest. The terrorist that are destroying his country are only doing so because of American presence. America is bombing and killing innocents as well as terrorists who otherwise would have attacked india, usa or afghanistan. instead some has now turned pakistan into a hellhole. so purely from a paki perspective, if usa leaves peace will easily return. and now that ud be a serious headache for us as the lunatics will attack us. so yeah ...from a paki view, he is not a disappointment at all. the presence of usa in that country is the cause of all these violence. but in the broader international point of view, we would be ****ed by the jehadis with nothing else to shoot in their motherland. so u have the right to be disappointed but if u look at the situation as a pakistani, he is making the right choice.
JSG2YfkkMcI&feature=player_embedded Just saw this video. Corny background score, song from TZP ( Afridi says Hi ), but just take a look at the gratitude mothers feel for Imran Khan today. His cancer hospital has saved many a lives at free of cost for most. This is not an Indian or Pakistani thing. Greatness has to be appreciated wherever it comes from. I hope we can all take some lessons from him.
Yesterday, on Mother's day when this program was run on TV, all mothers in Paksitan who even don't know ABC of politics, prayed for Imran Khan success with tears in their eyes...
Just want to know how Indians see Imran Khan as a politician in Pakistan' date=' what perception or overall image you guys have about him? without considering how much "successful" so far he is...[/quote'] None too different from any other politician from Pakistan. Only a bit more eloquent and world traveled thanks to his cricketing exploits. Keeps saying the same old rant about West(and East if you consider India) out to get Pakistan and inflames the popular sentiment including getting people killed, as was witnessed in burnt-Quran-dumped-in-US-toilet saga. Wonder why someone like Nadeem Parcha doesnt interview Imran and get his thoughts open on most controversial issue. Would certainly like to see that one.

Saw him on NDTV today. Made a lot of sense not like that blatant India hater Musharaff. Stressed that Pakistan needs a government elected by the people which I fully agree with. Said this is the number one problem as there is no accountability by the Army to the government. Again I agree Zardari is weak corrupt and an imbecile. He may not be a scholar on international affairs like a Manmohan - but then again that hasn't exactly worked perfectly for India now has it. Definitely the best of the Pak options in my opinion.

^No' date=' he is certainly not a PPP supporter. He has slaughtered Zardari in his articles.[/quote'] From what I make of his articles, he considers the least of all evils to rule Pakistan

He looks to be the only somewhat sensible Pakistani politician and a rare species amongst Pakistani politics. But he also seems somewhat confused at times and is straight forward as a honest person would be.

Imran Khan's party finally emerged as Pakistan's mainstream political force as yesterday his speech at Minar-e-Pakistan was biggest people gathering for a Pakistani political jalsa in last 25 years, almost 5 lakh people attended it... 000%20(33).jpg

^^ Is mein ofcourse wali kya baat hui? When in Punjab, he could/should speak in Punjabi also. Anyways, good luck to him. He seems genuine. What kind of people are attracted to him? Educated or Uneducated? Only Punjabis or all Pakistanis? Cricket lovers? Religious leaders approve of him? What about religious minorities? How broad is his appeal? Across all sections of the society? In a country like Pakistan ( or India) getting 5 lakh people for a rally is nothing. The South Indian actor Chiranjeevi had 15 lakh people at an election rally. Don't be too optimistic based on these numbers.