Karan114 Posted May 12, 2011 Posted May 12, 2011 Gambhir tipped to be Dhoni’s long-term deputy, successor Shamik Chakrabarty Gautam Gambhir is expected to replace close friend and opening partner Virender Sehwag as Team India’s regular vice-captain on Friday, said a source in the BCCI, adding that the national selection committee are keen on grooming the 29-year-old left-hander as Mahendra Singh Dhoni's successor. The selection committee meets in Chennai on Friday to pick the team for the upcoming tour of West Indies, where India will play a one-off T20, five one-dayers and three Test matches. The source hinted that Gambhir might even get to lead the team in the Caribbean if Dhoni pulls out of the ODI leg of the tour that gets underway on June 4. The 31-year-old Sehwag's shoulder injury that rules him out the tour also makes it easier for the selectors to go ahead with their plans as the board, with an eye on future, wants someone younger for the post. Gambhir has been in their scheme of things and led the Indian team in the home ODI series against New Zealand last year when both Dhoni and Sehwag had opted out. India had defeated New Zealand 5-0. “At 29, Gambhir is the perfect candidate to be groomed as future captain. He is an automatic choice in all three forms of the game, has the ability to do well under pressure and is a confident young man who likes to lead from the front. His captaincy against New Zealand and in the ongoing IPL has been very impressive,” the source told The Indian Express. IPL factor Gambhir's leadership skills in the ongoing IPL also said to have impressed the selectors. The prolific lef-hander, in his first year with the Kolkata Knight Riders, has transformed the struggling outfit into one of the favourites this season. Gambhir's KKR team mate Brett Lee, too, is all praise for his skipper. “He has all the qualities of a good captain. He approaches every task with an open mind and believes in collective responsibilities. He likes to lead from the front but is never shy of taking advice from the seniors,” Lee said. Meanwhile, other players who are expected to be benefited from their IPL exploits are Subramaniam Badrinath and Ambathi Rayudu. Both are strong contenders to be on board the flight to the West Indies, while young leg-spinner Rahul Sharma is considered to be a dark horse in the race. http://www.indianexpress.com/news/gambhir-tipped-to-be-dhonis-longterm-deputy-successor/789413/0
cowboysfan Posted May 12, 2011 Posted May 12, 2011 GG is a good choice for captain when Dhoni is not playing but i am not sure he can a successor as they are the same age and Dhoni may play longer than GG!!.the ideal successor is someone young like Kholi.
Chandan Posted May 12, 2011 Posted May 12, 2011 GG is a good choice for captain when Dhoni is not playing but i am not sure he can a successor as they are the same age and Dhoni may play longer than GG!!.the ideal successor is someone young like Kholi. Kohli hasn't even debuted in tests.
cowboysfan Posted May 12, 2011 Posted May 12, 2011 Kohli hasn't even debuted in tests. ofcourse-he has a long way to go but i have no doubt he will make it.
The Outsider Posted May 12, 2011 Posted May 12, 2011 GG is a good choice for captain when Dhoni is not playing but i am not sure he can a successor as they are the same age and Dhoni may play longer than GG!!.the ideal successor is someone young like Kholi. Don't expect Dhoni to be captain till retirement. Every captain has a shelf life, usually around the 5-6 years period. Things might be looking good for majority of the time but a lot of factors like fatigue, form, staleness of ideas, changing team dynamics contribute to the captain losing his edge after a certain time. I won't even bet on Dhoni captaining India in the next world cup.
Stuge Posted May 12, 2011 Posted May 12, 2011 Good choice Gambhir will go ful monty while abusing lol Gambhir to Nehra ..Penchod !! bowl dall... Nehra -Gambhir ...MC ..daal raha hoon . you will hear this stuff all the time on mic :P
saneindian Posted May 12, 2011 Posted May 12, 2011 Gambhir as a captain looks far too intense at times. Just needs to relax a bit and he will be another wonderful leader for us. Always leads by example and that will work in his favour when he does get the job. Making him the vice captain is a just reward for his amazing run since his comeback to the team.
Cricket Tragic Posted May 12, 2011 Posted May 12, 2011 Don't expect Dhoni to be captain till retirement. Every captain has a shelf life' date=' usually around the 5-6 years period. Things might be looking good for majority of the time but a lot of factors like fatigue, form, staleness of ideas, changing team dynamics contribute to the captain losing his edge after a certain time. [b']I won't even bet on Dhoni captaining India in the next world cup. I would be amazed if Dhoni is the captain in the next WC.
Chandan Posted May 12, 2011 Posted May 12, 2011 Don't expect Dhoni to be captain till retirement. Every captain has a shelf life' date=' usually around the 5-6 years period. Things might be looking good for majority of the time but a lot of factors like fatigue, form, staleness of ideas, changing team dynamics contribute to the captain losing his edge after a certain time. I won't even bet on Dhoni captaining India in the next world cup.[/quote'] That is what I had thought. Ponting was never a good captain where we could assess if he indeed lost his edge after a while or not. How long do you think Dhoni can manage this high voltage job with the ridiculous schedule that we have year after year? Any guess? It has been two and a half years since he has been the captain in all the three formats. Just one and a half years more, maybe?
Sachin=GOD Posted May 12, 2011 Posted May 12, 2011 Very good choice. He sure looks like the best bet out of all the players who could've got the job. Although I agree with saneinidan that Gauti looks too intense and needs to be relaxed on the field. I personally don't think Dhoni will be Captain 4 years down the line in the 2015 WC.
saneindian Posted May 12, 2011 Posted May 12, 2011 That is what I had thought. Ponting was never a good captain where we could assess if he indeed lost his edge after a while or not. How long do you think Dhoni can manage this high voltage job with the ridiculous schedule that we have year after year? Any guess? It has been two and a half years since he has been the captain in all the three formats. Just one and a half years more, maybe? The 2012 t20 WC in Srilanka in July would be a realistic target to at least quit the ODI and t20 captaincy. Maybe he would like to have a shot at the t20 WC again and then quit captaincy, irrespective of the results. Plus it would also give Gambhir or whoever gets to be the new captain about two and a half years to establish himself in the job and get the team ready for the title defence in 2015. For test matches, he may have to remain there longer to guide the team through transition as the seniors may walk away after the 2012 tour of Australia. Another motivation for him to continue being the test captain will be the proposed ICC test championship in 2013. All this though will depend to a large extent on how the results go in the next 12-18 months or so.
The Outsider Posted May 12, 2011 Posted May 12, 2011 That is what I had thought. Ponting was never a good captain where we could assess if he indeed lost his edge after a while or not. How long do you think Dhoni can manage this high voltage job with the ridiculous schedule that we have year after year? Any guess? It has been two and a half years since he has been the captain in all the three formats. Just one and a half years more, maybe? Ignoring Ponting, you can still look at other examples. Ganguly was completely shot by the '05 tour when Pakistan came to India. Horrible batting form, completely unimaginative captaincy, indulging in media wars, snapping at reporters. Also, Waugh in his autobiography mentions how towards the end and approaching India's tour to Australia he was almost relieved not to be captaining anymore, though he does say that there were doubts whether he was quitting too early as a batsman. Ian Chappell is another one who realized that he was past his peak as a captain after 4-5 years and resigned. Dhoni probably has another 2 years or so at his peak - it's difficult to say but I am just hazarding a guess based on his role as a wicketkeeper, important middle order batsman (in ODIs), and of course the pressures associated with an Indian captaincy. He might still want to carry on after that in order to defend the World Cup title, but I doubt he'll be as sharp and focussed as he is now at his peak.
Khalpat Posted May 12, 2011 Posted May 12, 2011 Good choice Gambhir will go ful monty while abusing lol Gambhir to Nehra ..Penchod !! bowl dall... Nehra -Gambhir ...MC ..daal raha hoon . you will hear this stuff all the time on mic :P Its not new, I can remember in one of the match against Australia there was a run out chance if Zaheer had thrown correctly to either end but his throw was very bad and it got in the middle of pitch, Ganguly who was then captain was near the mike of bowling crease and his voice was so loud on TV he said "B***en C*** kya apni G**** mara raha hai wahan khara ho kar" the comentator said only this "oh oh captain is furious" :haha:
Ultimate_Game Posted May 12, 2011 Posted May 12, 2011 Good call. Gambhir is a much better captain than Yuvraj, Sehwag or Harbhajan. He should be the stand-in captain for Dhoni before Kohli is ready to take the mantle in a few years' time.
WC2011INDIA Posted May 12, 2011 Posted May 12, 2011 Why is everyone so sure that Kohli will be our future captain? Someone else could become the captain.
cowboysfan Posted May 12, 2011 Posted May 12, 2011 Why is everyone so sure that Kohli will be our future captain? Someone else could become the captain. Its a good guess based on the fact that he captained the U19 WC team and is the captain designate for BRC.Imo its his job if he really wants it.
yoda Posted May 12, 2011 Posted May 12, 2011 The only thing that will have a say in how long MSD stays as a captain is injuries. Nothing else fazes this guy. He will finish as the greatest captain ever but the self loathing Indian media and public will never summon enough courage to accord him that status. GG is not the right choice to suceed MSD as he is too intense and wound up. I don't even think he is a good strategist. +++ I think GG is more the Yuvi type who likes to yell at people, the exact opposite of the cool and calm Dhoni. I see Kohli in the same mould. It doesn't mean you can't succeed that way, just that he isn't even in the same league as the one he might replace.
Sachin=GOD Posted May 12, 2011 Posted May 12, 2011 Why is everyone so sure that Kohli will be our future captain? Someone else could become the captain. I don't really see Kohli as the future Captain.