Elegance of left handed batsmen and Mirror effect.

To each their own. There is a reason why every leftie with flourish is compared with Gower. Also id on't think their batting was amaturish. IF anything they were more correct. Look at Tiwary' date=' Uthappa, Pandey and host of other sloggers.[/quote'] Yeah, if Tiwary, Yusuf Pathan etc. are an "improvement" over David Gower, then god save cricket.
You cannot say that was orthodox. Nothing stays same over time' date= may be cricket 50 years back was more orthodox. People will say cricket was orthodox in 2011 50 -60 years later from. It is all about thinking. Things improves with time and that is what I think.
What is "current orthodox" then? (if there such a thing exists)
Was Vivi Richards orthodox, Shrikant orthodox, Sandeep patil orthodox, no they were not. Not everyone was orthodox in those days too. This is same in this era too. You get orthodox and some unorthodox players as well. How can I who is current orthodox now, people 50 years later will talk about who were orthodox players in 2011 like we are talking about orthodox players in 1970s. Boycott says we never had thought of dominating new ball in tests matches and we used to see of the new ball and score on old ball. What happens now a days, batsmen score runs on new ball and they feel it is better to score runs when the ball is new, ball can do a bit initially but it comes on to the bat nicely too and run scoring is difficult with the old ball and the reason behind this is batsman have developed new habits. Grafting is not the game any more now. We used to have more grafter on those days, now more attackers. People will talk about this in future, like we talk about past which we even have not seen.

@ VVS I tell you a funny thing. It may be possible or may not be maybe its just my asumption. Like we are seeing cricket today. Lost of cowlashers getting so much money like Tiwary and Pollards, Ross Taylor, etc. T20 goes on become something big and is being played more than tests and ODIs in the next 15-20 years. We may see 90% cowlashers coming and overwhelming the game of cricket and then people will enjoy that cowlashing more. They will think this is the best thing since the sliced bread and these cowlashers can be worshiped like anything. Then whenever a batsman like Dravid comes on to bat, what will be the reactions, "kya panuati aa gaya hai batting karne. Vo kya cowlashing karta hai use ne bheja upar." I am just imagining if this will can be future of cricket in 20 years from now because things improve with time, but there is time of saturation also.

How can I who is current orthodox now, people 50 years later will talk about who were orthodox players in 2011 like we are talking about orthodox players in 1970s.
Can't wait for 50 overs to be over to find that out.. Coming back to the topic i find Gower to be the most graceful left hander alongwith Lara. You could differ in your opinion. That's okay. A top handed batter. An erect stance. A great touch player.
@ VVS I tell you a funny thing. It may be possible or may not be maybe its just my asumption. Like we are seeing cricket today. Lost of cowlashers getting so much money like Tiwary and Pollards' date=' Ross Taylor, etc. T20 goes on become something big and is being played more than tests and ODIs in the next 15-20 years.[b'] We may see 90% cowlashers coming and overwhelming the game of cricket and then people will enjoy that cowlashing more. They will think this is the best thing since the sliced bread and these cowlashers can be worshiped like anything. Then whenever a batsman like Dravid comes on to bat, what will be the reactions, "kya panuati aa gaya hai batting karne. Vo kya cowlashing karta hai use ne bheja upar." I am just imagining if this will can be future of cricket in 20 years from now because things improve with time, but there is time of saturation also.
With that kind of cowlashing you can't be more consistent. So eventually they will get pilloried by fans. You will hit the air more than the ball. Have you never met Afridi? :cantstop: He has been cowlashing for the last 15 years . He gets ridiculed more than worshipped.
You never know people may still like those kind of players because they will play with free spirit and not worrying about wickets and when you will have 9 out 10 cowlashers who will think about the 10th and if some one who don't cowlash will be accused of playing for himself, like Kallis is accused but he cannot do anything about it because this is his style of play, he cannot play like Pollard or Pathan.
Can't wait for 50 overs to be over to find that out.. Coming back to the topic i find Gower to be the most graceful left hander alongwith Lara. You could differ in your opinion. That's okay. A top handed batter. An erect stance. A great touch player.
Have you listened hindi songs of 1930s, they way singers used to sung them those days, even Lata Mangeshkar used to sung in that way initially, then that way changed and improved, music instruments changed. Now we have everything digital. And old people still of that time and who born just after that are fond of those songs, their singing and music. I remember one song "main ban ka panchi ban ke ban-ban doluuuu re." We used to make fun of these kind of songs and still makes fun, but we praise the songs made in 1970s and the people in 1970s used to praise the songs which we make fun of. I think it is the same cycle i am talking about here.
It is all subjective. I enjoy batting of Laxman now. I would have even if he had played like this in the 1940s. I hate batsmen like Saruab tiwary. I would have hated even if he had played in the 50s. Grace if Grace no matter which period is from It.
Yea you are right, but its not Tiwary's fault he plays like this. It is the demand of the game of T20 which prompts these batsmen to play like this because not every one is as talented or stylish as Laxman and Laxman is a fail in T20. TIwary succeeded in last IPL while playing this way. It is all about success in cricket does not matter which way you bat or bowl if you are successful you will be called great.