yoda Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 You've misunderstood my joke there. Been in US for long?. :P At the risk of violating freedom of speech and being off topic, I will repeat it: Osama was found with a stack of porn CDs, a garden that grew marijuana next door, living with multiple women in a mansion with several domestic helps. Furthermore, he liked watching himself on TV. To me the ^ sounds more like Charlie Sheen and not a dreaded terrorist. The joke bit here is that he was a total hypocrite who urged on others to their death but lived a comfortably debauched life. Whatever he claimed his ideals were, he did not stand up to them. No religious message that I'm trying to send via that joke. Well part of his Ideal was standing up for Islam and he did stand up for that in style in that one aspect I referred to. :winky: Hate explaining jokes btw. Typically, when you have to explain it, ... :winky:
akshayxyz Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 ^ Okay' date=' pay the requisite amount to Ravi and take ownership of the site.[/quote'] Assuming you were referring to my comment. How does this qualifies as a reply? Let me ask another question - So far - how much money ICF has spent/wasted defending lawsuits, due to some poster harming some other poster's sentiments? If you can give more details about that, then we can discuss other possible ways to overcome such things. Also - what gives you confidence that having an exclusive, invite only topic, would exclude the possibility of hackings?, if one can hack, one can hack in to that exclusive topic, and find reasons to file lawsuits!
Rajiv Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 :hysterical: No khaya na piya gilas (glass) toda bara anna :D Glass, Bottle sab tod diya..but I feel its a better solution, even closet Islam bashers like me can come over with a different username and pass my input :icflove: Cmon, mate - help me out, I almost feel like perm banning you so you can do that for me
yoda Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Problem with religion is that even people state facts and even they are related to the topic on hand, they do tend to offend people. I am ok with Zero tolerance policy on religious discussion provided everyone follows it. Problem is that when the topic suits them, even the mods of the site join the fun and then it is fair game for others to post their opinion as well.
akshayxyz Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 I think it is quite arrogant and disrespectful to pull out the money card again and again by the admin/mods. There are better ways to reply to a request than saying oh we pay so much for maintenance blah blah blah. It puts down the non-admin users and creates a rift for no reason. Sounds very snobbish and unprofessional to say the least One one hand you're opening a poll to get a response/views from the users on this matter and then in the same thread pulling out the money card. Doesn't add up Please take care in the future. +1 Outy added a poll, and now does not want to listen to who are not in favor (for whatever reasons) :)!!! Also (not for you tekno)- If owners/moderators feel so much urge to have separate corner for private talk, it is a private site anyway, ban anyone you do not want to be here? If you do not want others' opinion, create such a private corner anyway! Why do you need to ask? Or ask only people who you think would agree to you!
The Outsider Posted May 20, 2011 Author Posted May 20, 2011 Assuming you were referring to my comment. How does this qualifies as a reply? Let me ask another question - So far - how much money ICF has spent/wasted defending lawsuits, due to some poster harming some other poster's sentiments? If you can give more details about that, then we can discuss other possible ways to overcome such things. Also - what gives you confidence that having an exclusive, invite only topic, would exclude the possibility of hackings?, if one can hack, one can hack in to that exclusive topic, and find reasons to file lawsuits! Arre yaar, itne complication mein jaan ki zaroorat nahin hai - just shell up whatever ICF has spent till date and take ownership - simple enough or you need to make an algorithm for that?
The Outsider Posted May 20, 2011 Author Posted May 20, 2011 +1 Outy added a poll, and now does not want to listen to who are not in favor (for whatever reasons) :)!!! Also (not for you tekno)- If owners/moderators feel so much urge to have separate corner for private talk, it is a private site anyway, ban anyone you do not want to be here? If you do not want others' opinion, create such a private corner anyway! Why do you need to ask? Or ask only people who you think would agree to you! Yeah that is why I voted in favor of a separate section and have locked this thread - because I don't want to listen. :hysterical:
ganeshran Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 ICF has spent 20K USD till date? :woot: Baap re..site chalaney mein utna paisa lagta hai kya?
The Outsider Posted May 20, 2011 Author Posted May 20, 2011 Problem with religion is that even people state facts and even they are related to the topic on hand' date=' they do tend to offend people. I am ok with Zero tolerance policy on religious discussion provided everyone follows it.[b'] Problem is that when the topic suits them, even the mods of the site join the fun and then it is fair game for others to post their opinion as well. Which religion has been more bashed on ICF - Hinduism, Islam, or Buddhism?
akshayxyz Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Friendly advice - create your own site and do whatever type of speech you like. We will put it as one of the recommended sites As far as I know, Ravi ( who pays for this site ) is not interested in Religious talks at all, unless he changed his mind. Till then, everyone can do their time pass talk as usual and the status quo remains 'he said, she said' 'ram said all ho akbar' etc I have a much better suggestion - create a sub-reddit - "ICFers" - on reddit - and that 'exclusive section' on ICF can redirect to that sub-reddit. And let reddit take care of the lawsuits scalability and every such thing that involves money and time.
Brainfade Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 That's one way to look at it. Sure. Other, and specially Conservative way to look at liberals is, that moderation on boards equates to more control for the Big Brother(read bigger Government). Decrease of such controls would be more of a Conservative stance. SO if you are arguing for more moderation aka Govt control you are a liberal..:bow: Hmm ... if one really thinks about it, I am not asking for more moderation or fairness. I am asking for less regulation: one arbiter who decides on how he wants to run this place, and for the rest of us to just suck it up. If he/she decides to leave the board unregulated, so be it. On a related note, I know that all posters are not created equal, nor should they be. If I don't like it, I'll take my keyboard elsewhere. A liberal would not put up with that ... he/she would want to appoint a committee/union/advocacy group to take on the rich, bad CEO who is exploiting the poor posters :-).
akshayxyz Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Arre yaar' date=' itne complication mein jaan ki zaroorat nahin hai - just shell up whatever ICF has spent till date and take ownership - simple enough or you need to make an algorithm for that?[/quote'] read my suggestion above - create a sub-reddit, and enjoy all the robustness, speed and freedom and everything Reddit already offers. Also, in all that vastness of Reddit, no one would notice or really care whats cooking in that private corner of yours. but one thing is for sure, some people who already have anything against ICF ( those hackers you are referring to) - would definitely feel the urge to peek in your private corner and will have no option but to hack the site :).
ganeshran Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 I have a much better suggestion - create a sub-reddit - "ICFers" - on reddit - and that 'exclusive section' on ICF can redirect to that sub-reddit. And let reddit take care of the lawsuits scalability and every such thing that involves money and time. :hmmmm2:
The Outsider Posted May 20, 2011 Author Posted May 20, 2011 read my suggestion above - create a sub-reddit, and enjoy all the robustness, speed and freedom and everything Reddit already offers. Also, in all that vastness of Reddit, no one would notice or really care whats cooking in that private corner of yours. but one thing is for sure, some people who already have anything against ICF ( those hackers you are referring to) - would definitely feel the urge to peek in your private corner and will have no option but to hack the site :). Phat ke haath mein aa gayi as expected.
akshayxyz Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Here it is - post to your heart's content. http://www.reddit.com/r/indiancricketfans/ That was 2 minute job, no $$s involved. Now someone just create a link on ICF - private section, and redirect to above.
akshayxyz Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Phat ke haath mein aa gayi as expected. Well - all I can say - if you had any idea about the kind of situations I have handled - you would think 1000 times before saying such stuff. (I can easily say you would have peed in your pants in those situations, but I would not - as I usually am not judgmental) Anyway, you had a problem - you cant discuss certain stuff on ICF. I gave you a solution. Now why are you hell bent upon showing off retarded part of yours? Where the mature & sensible option can be to discuss pros/cons of alternative solutions?
Rajiv Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 bhau , apun offer diya tau tha 3 saal pehle ... :(( hukum kaaro huzor ... self ban kardega ... if you think that is going to stop people from posting Terror acts and then start pointing finger at kaun kiya kayko kiya etc ... fyi ... its been ages since I opened a thread on the paalitics phorum ... :(( So you are depriving yourself from posting then, I don't see anything wrong in having separate site for all such discussions. I bet many will come over to debate ( except me who has no clue ) I think it's win win
The Outsider Posted May 20, 2011 Author Posted May 20, 2011 Well - all I can say - if you had any idea about the kind of situations I have handled - you would think 1000 times before saying such stuff. (I can easily say you would have peed in your pants in those situations, but I would not - as I usually am not judgmental) Anyway, you had a problem - you cant discuss certain stuff on ICF. I gave you a solution. Now why are you hell bent upon showing off retarded part of yours? :hysterical::hysterical: Batao batao?
yoda Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Which religion has been more bashed on ICF - Hinduism' date=' Islam, or Buddhism?[/quote'] Discussed - Islam. Bashed - tough to tell as many posts are facts and not bashing per se.