akshayxyz Posted June 16, 2011 Posted June 16, 2011 Yesterday evening when I came out of the gym - my car did not start. It looked like battery drain. It was already late ( about 9:30pm). So I decided to leave it parked ( it was parked outside some bungalow across the street) w/o blocking the entrance. Still I left a note, just in case anyone becomes suspicious and tries to get it towed away - "This car is broken down, will pick it up next morning. Sorry for any inconvenience. - owner with ". So, I went there today morning with some battery guy to jump start the car. To make my day worse, someone had pushed lot of wood splinters inside the keyhole (of both doors & I do not have remote-key). It took me 15-20 minutes just to clear one of the keyholes and unlock it. Why would one do such an annoying thing? if it was some thief, it was a bad one. I cant imagine how one would unlock the car using wood!!! It should be very easy to unlock for a pro. And this is not first time being nice has backfired.
veer Posted June 16, 2011 Posted June 16, 2011 ahhh how are you being nice here??? you just thinking too much.. one crazy guy did it for fun.. sh!t happens..
kabira Posted June 16, 2011 Posted June 16, 2011 LOL, how were you being nice?? It was just some crazy person, trying to have fun with your car.
yoda Posted June 16, 2011 Posted June 16, 2011 You did the right thing. What others do isn't within your control.
akshayxyz Posted June 16, 2011 Author Posted June 16, 2011 I was considering the possibility that someone from that house got annoyed and wanted to 'give it back' to me. anyway - rants are supposed to be rants. - so my choice of title was due to the lack of better words. And to open a thread for others to rant around ;)
DomainK Posted June 16, 2011 Posted June 16, 2011 It was not because you were being nice. It was because someone else was not being nice. Most likely some kid was having fun. Happens. Being nice is not a bad thing as long as you know when to stop being nice.
Mariyam Posted June 16, 2011 Posted June 16, 2011 Hard luck Akshayxyz... As the others mentioned, it was you not necessarily being nice but of you doing the needful. If I were you, I would have gone to that Old Bungalow and told the residents there of my predicament. You could also have asked them to keep an eye on your vehicle.Maybe they would be nice enough to ask you to park in their porch. You never know. Since they stay in a bungalow, its safe to assume that they would have a battery. Maybe they could help you recharge your battery right away. You know, you could always say " my car broke down in front of your front gate, and I can't move it unless you help me recharge the battery" :P PS: Time to buy a new car if yours doesn't have a remote key :P PPS: This cannot be qualified as a rant. It falls short of the minimum # of words required by a huge margin.
akshayxyz Posted June 16, 2011 Author Posted June 16, 2011 Hard luck Akshayxyz... As the others mentioned, it was you not necessarily being nice but of you doing the needful. If I were you, I would have gone to that Old Bungalow and told the residents there of my predicament. You could also have asked them to keep an eye on your vehicle.Maybe they would be nice enough to ask me to park in their porch. You never know. Since they stay in a bungalow, its safe to assume that they would have a battery. Maybe they could help you recharge your battery right away. You know, you could always say " my car broke down in front of your front gate, and I can't move it unless you help me recharge the battery" :P PS: Time to buy a new car if yours doesn't have a remote key :P PPS: This cannot be qualified as a rant. It falls short of the minimum # of words required by a huge margin. You are right, I have been dragging this car for about 3 years more than its expiry date. Let me open a thread giving my paypal account :). P-PPS. I was being nice on readers ;).. will work on that front.
Holysmoke Posted June 16, 2011 Posted June 16, 2011 Dude, why would you leave your car overnight for just a battery drain. Should've just found some dude with an auto trans car.. Chances are he would have a jumper cable. Anyway, you were not being nice in any way.. someone was just being a dick. But I don't think it would be the ppl of the house.. What if you couldn't get ur key in the next day? Your car would remain in front of their gate for longer. Who wants that?
akshayxyz Posted June 16, 2011 Author Posted June 16, 2011 arey maaf kar do bhai log.. galat shabd istemaal kar diye.. I humbly accept I was not being nice at all :).. @holy no it was not blocking the gate. I would have got it towed myself.
achilles Posted June 17, 2011 Posted June 17, 2011 It was not because you were being nice. It was because someone else was not being nice. Most likely some kid was having fun. Happens. Being nice is not a bad thing as long as you know when to stop being nice. The more I read your posts, the more I admire you.
ganeshran Posted June 17, 2011 Posted June 17, 2011 When you posted that you wont be back until the next morning, someone took advantage of this
Ram Posted June 17, 2011 Posted June 17, 2011 What is the alternative to being nice? Be mean? Is that supposed to be a good thing? When you allow the ways and means of other people to dictate your actions, then that is one slippery that can only end in a bad accident. Having said that - You should courtesy to people who deserve it. Treating everbody the same way, will not and does not work.
Sidhoni Posted June 17, 2011 Posted June 17, 2011 Hard luck buddy.But you were not being nice IMO, somebody else , maybe a kid was having fun.
Mariyam Posted June 17, 2011 Posted June 17, 2011 What is the alternative to being nice? Be mean? Is that supposed to be a good thing? Not a good thing, but average people are always mean.
Ram Posted June 17, 2011 Posted June 17, 2011 Not a good thing' date=' but average people are always mean.[/quote'] Average people are actually nice and decent. Its a few bad apples that spoil the fun for the rest, spreading insecurity and suspicion. All it takes is just one guy to jump the queue to rush to the counter to start a near-stampede.
Mariyam Posted June 17, 2011 Posted June 17, 2011 Average people are actually nice and decent. Its a few bad apples that spoil the fun for the rest, spreading insecurity and suspicion. All it takes is just one guy to jump the queue to rush to the counter to start a near-stampede. :(( You missed the forest for the trees. Average people are always mean :P I thought since this website has a higher than required proportion of science, engineering and math guys, I should crack some jokes that they can relate to. :P :icflove:
Ram Posted June 17, 2011 Posted June 17, 2011 :(( You missed the forest for the trees. Average people are always mean :P I thought since this website has a higher than required proportion of science, engineering and math guys, I should crack some jokes that they can relate to. :P :icflove: Ha! Funny! :--D P.S; Us Engineering nerds are from the same planet as everyone else!
DomainK Posted June 17, 2011 Posted June 17, 2011 :(( You missed the forest for the trees. Average people are always mean :P I thought since this website has a higher than required proportion of science, engineering and math guys, I should crack some jokes that they can relate to. :P :icflove: Cheers to that. Nothing like confusing a nerd. :nice:
punjabi_khota Posted June 17, 2011 Posted June 17, 2011 Which country is this ? India hai to chori ho jaati ab tak, US hai to tow ho jaati Pakistan hai to explode ho jaati.