Ok, another small incident. Definitely not first of its kind. Just now I came back from a decent liquor shop. A small kid (not more than 8-10 years) walked in and asked for rum-quarter. And the shop keeper obliged. From the speed of transaction it looked like the kid was regular customer at his shop. I casually asked the shop keeper, do you know its illegal - he replied in one word. - 'business'... He cared to reply only when I asked him third time, first two times he ignored conveniently. I did not bother to argue further, as earlier I had argued with him about selling some cold drinks at more than MRP ( about 2-3 Rs. cooling charges!!!). This is not first time I have witnessed something like this. And we know such things are pretty common all over India and other developing countries. E.g. I have seen many instances of under-aged workers at some restaurants, gyms etc. Point/question being - what do you do, when you witness such clear violations of law, esp involving minors. And knowing how difficult it is for a common person to fight against such elements (you never know who is connected to whom.) P.S. Earlier I used to argue about right/wrong. But over the period of time I have learnt - if its not your area of influence, or goal of life, or part of your job. Then its better to be 'wise' than right. Which I initially found tough to implement against instincts, but looks like that is how it works.

I always tell my roomies, who are 24 years old, that they are below age limit to consume alcohol. But they just keep breaking the law. :(( Alright, I do it just to piss them off. :P

Up next, Akshay's upcoming HUGE moral dilemma! Do I spend $3.93/gallon to fill up Premium gas, or shell out $3.76/gallon for regular gas! The tension mounts! Join us after the break, to witness the exciting conclusion of the biggest moral challenge faced by mankind since the nuclear attack on Hiroshima and Nagasaki! :nervous:

Plenty of things are sold that way in India. Prescription drugs are sold like OTC. Whenever I need some medicine, I pick up the phone and order it. No one even asks for the doctor's name. In the interiors of India, chemists actually double up as doctors. People would walk up and ask for some medicine for sore throat, mild fever, headache etc and the chemist would give them something. Then they curse the doctors after a serious disease is diagnosed late. Alcohol is sold to kids all over India. Many drunkards actually send their young ones to get them booze from the corner shop at evenings. That's how the kids get their first sip of alcohol.

Ladies and gents, I present to you, Sir John II. PLease open a thread titled "Akshay's life's minutae for anyone who is interested" :nice:
Sir John kee history toh mujhe pata nahi. Par tu jaroor bhagvan ka avtar hai...kyun apna amulya jeevan research mein barbad kar raha hai.

An 8-10 year old 'regular' cannot afford a quarter of Rum. He is obviously someone's domestic/office help and will get some tip for getting it. So, unless I can do something substantial to take him out of the situation, I would view it as something to be ignored. I won't personally ask someone his age to go and buy me liquor, but I have many friends who own shops. The general tradition is that near closing time 'chhotu' will get some Rum, Biryani, and Kabab, which will be had after the shutters are down and I take part in those daily gatherings whenever I am at home, which will be in a couple of weeks! :yay:

Plenty of things are sold that way in India. Prescription drugs are sold like OTC. Whenever I need some medicine, I pick up the phone and order it. No one even asks for the doctor's name. In the interiors of India, chemists actually double up as doctors. People would walk up and ask for some medicine for sore throat, mild fever, headache etc and the chemist would give them something. Then they curse the doctors after a serious disease is diagnosed late. Alcohol is sold to kids all over India. Many drunkards actually send their young ones to get them booze from the corner shop at evenings. That's how the kids get their first sip of alcohol.
As i said, it is not first time I noticed. Like with most here, I have seen enough and worse cases (some even beyond most's imagination here!). But since I am active on ICF these days, I thought of asking what do you do - argue, ignore or what..it is not about magnitude of moral/ethical dilemma, it is about attitude.
An 8-10 year old 'regular' cannot afford a quarter of Rum. He is obviously someone's domestic/office help and will get some tip for getting it. So, unless I can do something substantial to take him out of the situation, I would view it as something to be ignored. I won't personally ask someone his age to go and buy me liquor, but I have many friends who own shops. The general tradition is that near closing time 'chhotu' will get some Rum, Biryani, and Kabab, which will be had after the shutters are down and I take part in those daily gatherings whenever I am at home, which will be in a couple of weeks! :yay:
Yup. I agree with that. @Akki: open a single thread and title it "what would you do?" I remember Zee used to telecast a show called "Aap kya karte"?
Up next' date=' Akshay's upcoming [b']HUGE moral dilemma! Do I spend $3.93/gallon to fill up Premium gas, or shell out $3.76/gallon for regular gas! The tension mounts! Join us after the break, to witness the exciting conclusion of the biggest moral challenge faced by mankind since the nuclear attack on Hiroshima and Nagasaki! :nervous:
arey merey baap, it was not case of moral dilemma. I was very clear what I had to do. I just realized for a moment how it was different from my younger years! And thought of asking, what kind of attitude dear ICFers have presently.
Sir John is ICF's village idiot - the guy posts a lot of crap and opens a new thread for every little thing that crosses his mind.
:hmmm:, then I have to agree that I have replaced him for last 24 hours :proud:
Some OTC drugs are fine, but I think Antibiotics are abused a lot in India. Once I made a mistake of taking antibiotic OTC (on suggestion of the chemist). The bacteria developed resistance and situation become so bad that I had to take 3 IV antibiotics per day for about a week.
Common cold and flu tablets contain a drug called pseudo-epe-hedrine. Get a whiff of that and you'd be as high as a kite.
That reminds me of a friend's friend's ...friend - who died by overdose of - guess what - cough syrup. It was found at her house - there were 10s of cough syrup bottles lying around!!! So - apparently she was addicted to cough syrup to get high.
Ladies and gents, I present to you, Sir John II. PLease open a thread titled "Akshay's life's minutae for anyone who is interested" :nice:
:cantstop: