Say NO to IPL..

asterix

Then whats the use of IPL.dont you see Ravi or Sunil beaming with pride about ipl being a platform for youngsters.Dont they have a CITI U-23 success of the tournament?
Job of pro leagues is not to generate national players. Some players who are top quality play pro and for the nation. This is true for other sport as well, namely football (ex: EPL) and US basketball (NBA). Ravi and Sunny as we now know are paid chamchas of the BCCI. They will say anything and everything to please their bosses who pay them 3.5 crores a year for it.
Job of pro leagues is not to generate national players. Some players who are top quality play pro and for the nation. This is true for other sport as well' date=' namely football (ex: EPL) and US basketball (NBA).[/quote'] But arent you tired of seeing players faking injuries and playing ipl and missing tournaments?Dont blame the sheduling as the months we play the ipl actually used to be the rest time for our players.
Job of pro leagues is not to generate national players. Some players who are top quality play pro and for the nation. This is true for other sport as well, namely football (ex: EPL) and US basketball (NBA). Ravi and Sunny as we now know are paid chamchas of the BCCI. They will say anything and everything to please their bosses who pay them 3.5 crores a year for it.
I remember Sunny criticising the IPL the day after it goot over.Looks like these guys only value money.
But arent you tired of seeing players faking injuries and playing ipl and missing tournaments?
Yes I am, but I also like the IPL.
And who is going to compensate him for the $800k/year' date=' especially as he nears retirement?[/quote'] yes. Not blaming Zak. But we cannot say there are no casualties. We have become an international joke now in Test cricket That is the price we pay. I don't recall India getting this much thrashing in a Test series.

Who'll get chance to play for India? Only those who wants to 'make it large' in IPL.. There comes the 'sourcing' and 'nepotism'.. Pertty soon we will have Vinay Kumar playing test matches..Followed by A Srikkanth..

Pro league or National league the format is still the same for football. In IPL it is not the case. It is an abbreviated form of fun cricket with loads of restrictions for bowlers. I don't think even international T20 is a really worthy form of cricket. Those who have affiliation with an IPL team might enjoy IPL. What about fans who are not really affiliated with any side.
Very good point about duration.We can have an IPL FC championship.I think Jagmohan dhalmia had that in mind only to see lalit modi coming in and creating ipl.Now it may be too late since too many people watch 20-20 they wont be intersted in tests.
Even in the cases where the formats are the same, the pro leagues aren't the ones producing national level talent, that is the point I was trying to make. You typically have a common resource pool feeding both pro leagues and national teams with pro leagues in many cases involving internationals from across countries.
yes. Not blaming Zak. But we cannot say there are no casualties. We have become an international joke now in Test cricket That is the price we pay. I don't recall India getting this much thrashing in a Test series.
Are you just referring just to the injuries or also blaming our pathetic bowling and pathetic batting on IPL?

The worst part of IPL is the insane traveling that the players have to so for a month and half. Yes they are looked after well but it's still extremely taxing on both body and mind.

Are you just referring just to the injuries or also blaming our pathetic bowling and pathetic batting on IPL?
I think injuries related to workload is definitely one of the concerns. But that is not unique to IPL, IPL just adds to it. The more important concerns are: 1) Possible demise of budding test prospects even before they develop. (eg: Murali Vijay) 2) Killing all the hunger to fight back into the national team (eg: Rohit) 3) Bowlers slowing down to ensure their body lasts to play in the lucrative Tontee Tontee tournaments. (eg: almost all Indian bowlers) 4) Players retiring early to preserve themselves for these Tontee Tontees (eg: Malinga, Shaun Tait) Unless IPL caps player salaries to 100k or so, it will kill all forms of cricket completely.
Ofcourse every indian fan is hurting seeing this pathetic performance, per hota hai !! Arey my point is you say teams playing real poor poor cricket.. we have played very very poor cricket before IPL too.. so what did people blame it on before? and about 'they not interested/they dont care'.. they wanna win as much as you want them to! Ya i just stopped watching live, because it obviously is annoying and out of frustration I dont wanna end up making topics blaming IPL and haircuts for losing the series :giggle: j/k
Aaku - you are a true Indian Cricket fan unlike many other wrist slitters here.:hatsoff:

Forget boycotting it...I wish this piece of **** tournament never existed in the first place. But it ain't going nowhere, and will keep destroying Indian cricket.

Only people who will say "no to ipl" are the cricket "nerds" on forums like these. Lets face facts people 90% of the country is happy to be world cup champions and have the IPL. Only the hardcore cricket fans now watch test matches. I see no reason for any of this to change anytime soon.

IPL is here to stay. It's good for Indian players to earn some money, good for a lot of fringe players who couldn't have gotten into team India, good for BCCI, good for TV companies, good for young Indian cricket fans who don't have the patience for test cricket. IPL is not going anywhere, but BCCI could limit the damage. 1 - Limit the qualifying age for IPL to 25. Young players in their infancy should perfect their technique for Test cricket by playing Ranji trophy, not spoil their technique/target their technique for 20/20. 2. Limit the number of matches played by senior players/current Indian team players, but pay them full salary. Say, rest them from 4 away matches during the regular season. 3. Schedule matches smartly to reduce travel. 4 consecutive home games followed by 4 consecutive away games so that the players can stay in the home city one week at a time.