CSK Fan Posted January 5, 2012 Posted January 5, 2012 I agree with that bit. Not even contesting that. Money after all is just a social construct. I'm thinking along the lines of cost incurred as a proportion of what the coin/note is supposed to represent. Take for eg, the 5 Rs note and coin. The cost of metal/alloy + embossing + pressing involved will be substantially higher than that for a 5 Rs note ( cost of paper + printing). And as a percentage, the costs would be higher for the smaller denomination coins. Why have coins at all then? Well, the metalic currencies were supposed to represent the value of the metal. Nickle, bronze and silver were used. After the introduction of paper and with inflation, the higher value were in paper, while the lower, continued to be in coins. Obviosuly you could not use much more metal in coins to represent more money as till then the metal in the coin was the actual value of the coin. Also keep in mind that its easier to carry, store and keep safe, a note than a coin. If you are carrying lots of money, a bundle of notes will be easier to carry than a bag of coins Lately Indian goverment, in the bid to reduce use of paper, has started introducing coins of higher value. BTW, the cost of making a higher value note, because of various details involved, is high too. For example, the Indian goverment spends Rs 3.17 to print a rs 1000 note
akshayxyz Posted January 5, 2012 Posted January 5, 2012 Arz kiya hai No matter how much u shake'n'dance, the last few drops always go on ur pants woh kya kehtey hain.. aadaab arz hai. :hatsoff: Why is it that coins always represent money of lower denomination and paper currency that of higher value, when the cost of metal/alloy is > than that of paper/printing? Shouldn't it be the other way around. Is there something wrong with the economics of currency in the world today? Whatever was there to exploit, Dhirubhai already did.. ab koi ummeed nahi hai, agar aisa kuchh plan pakaya jaa raha hai tou.
shinchan Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 Arz kiya hai No matter how much u shake'n'dance, the last few drops always go on ur pants :hysterical::hysterical:
chaiwala Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 Is it possible to be selfless? Whenever I feel selfless, there is always a selfish motivation buried deep within. Perhaps I want the person to view me in a positive light; or maybe, I enjoy the praise that selflessness extracts from others. Regardless of the specific motivation, I have noticed that at the lowest level, it always involves me. Does anyone else experience this "selfish" selflessness? Or are some of you truly selfless?
Nova Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 ^ Give couple examples where you were "selfish" selfless. :hmmm:
chaiwala Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 ^ Give couple examples where you were "selfish" selfless. :hmmm: For example, I may help others so that they will view me as someone "good"; when others view me in a positive light, it provides me with satisfaction. This is a selfish motive, because, ultimately, I am helping others only for self-satisfaction. Similarly, I may do someone a favor, only to expect them to return it in the future. Doing the favor was most likely not very detrimental to me at the time, so it served as a useful investment for the future. Again, at the lowest level, the motives seem selfish to me.
Nova Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 Hmm...I have done favors in the past many times without expecting anything in return. A simple thanks is what I got and I knew the other person appreciated it. This give and take you are talking about is a feature of most relationships...coz people see it as a two way street. But, there are many people who engage in selfless service just for the good of others. I think your actions count more than what you are thinking in your mind. If you get self satisfaction because of a good deed then there is nothing wrong about it. May be it improves your self esteem. I have never done favors as an investment.
chaiwala Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 Hmm...I have done favors in the past many times without expecting anything in return. A simple thanks is what I got and I knew the other person appreciated it. This give and take you are talking about is a feature of most relationships...coz people see it as a two way street. But, there are many people who engage in selfless service just for the good of others. I think your actions count more than what you are thinking in your mind. If you get self satisfaction because of a good deed then there is nothing wrong about it. May be it improves your self esteem. I have never done favors as an investment. Interesting. Generally speaking, what are your motivations to help someone then? What causes you to think "I should stop what I am doing, and go over there and do so-and-so for them?"
Nova Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 Friendship if the person is a friend. If there is something I have done for a stranger, then it was the right thing to do. I don't think about what I am going to get out of the other person, but what comes to my mind is if I have resources or the time to do it at that moment.
chaiwala Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 Friendship if the person is a friend. If there is something I have done for a stranger' date=' then it was the right thing to do. I don't think about what I am going to get out of the other person, but what comes to my mind is if I have resources or the time to do it at that moment.[/quote'] Maybe I am just a selfish pig then. :finger:
Nova Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 That you are right.. I was just too polite to say it. :D
f.b.m Posted January 7, 2012 Posted January 7, 2012 Is it possible to be selfless? Whenever I feel selfless' date=' there is always a selfish motivation buried deep within. Perhaps I want the person to view me in a positive light; or maybe, I enjoy the praise that selflessness extracts from others. Regardless of the specific motivation, I have noticed that at the lowest level, it always involves me. Does anyone else experience this "selfish" selflessness? Or are some of you truly selfless?[/quote'] You're right. Most of these selfless deeds are either done in expectation of a favour in return, in front of an audience (Mother Teresa) or to appease some deep seated sentiment in them which is uncomfortable with all their selfishness (their day to day life). Either way it boils down to self interest. ps: There is nothing wrong with selfishness, at least when properly understood. Its selfishness masquerading as selfless heroism/self-flattery that annoys me.
punjabi_khota Posted January 7, 2012 Posted January 7, 2012 Is it possible to be selfless? Whenever I feel selfless' date=' there is always a selfish motivation buried deep within. Perhaps I want the person to view me in a positive light; or maybe, I enjoy the praise that selflessness extracts from others. Regardless of the specific motivation, I have noticed that at the lowest level, it always involves me. Does anyone else experience this "selfish" selflessness? Or are some of you truly selfless?[/quote'] You need some Ayn Rand in your life
flamy Posted January 7, 2012 Posted January 7, 2012 Is it possible to be selfless? Whenever I feel selfless' date=' there is always a selfish motivation buried deep within. Perhaps I want the person to view me in a positive light; or maybe, I enjoy the praise that selflessness extracts from others. Regardless of the specific motivation, I have noticed that at the lowest level, it always involves me. Does anyone else experience this "selfish" selflessness? Or are some of you truly selfless?[/quote'] Why aspire to be selfless? It is only if you have love, power, wealth when you can give it to others. And you can only get there by being selfish.
akshayxyz Posted January 8, 2012 Posted January 8, 2012 Is it possible to be selfless? Whenever I feel selfless' date=' there is always a selfish motivation buried deep within. Perhaps I want the person to view me in a positive light; or maybe, I enjoy the praise that selflessness extracts from others. Regardless of the specific motivation, I have noticed that at the lowest level, it always involves me. Does anyone else experience this "selfish" selflessness? Or are some of you truly selfless?[/quote'] I believe, there is no such thing as pure altruism.. I would recommend a reading "The Selfish Gene".
f.b.m Posted January 8, 2012 Posted January 8, 2012 Speaking of selfless heroes, watch this: [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9WQ0i3nCx60]Hell's Angel: Mother Teresa by Christopher Hitchens (1 of 3) - YouTube[/ame]
chaiwala Posted January 8, 2012 Posted January 8, 2012 ps: There is nothing wrong with selfishness, at least when properly understood. Its selfishness masquerading as selfless heroism/self-flattery that annoys me. Agreed. It is human nature to thing about yourself first. Why aspire to be selfless? It is only if you have love, power, wealth when you can give it to others. And you can only get there by being selfish. An interesting point. I don't necessarily aspire to be selfless. However, I do participate in these "selfless" acts from time to time, for selfish reasons. Hence my doubt in this thread.
Mariyam Posted January 10, 2012 Posted January 10, 2012 The way to check for the authenticity of a Pashmina shawl ( with 80% or more Pashmina): The entire shawl should pass through a typical wedding/engagement ring in one swift motion.
Sachin=GOD Posted January 10, 2012 Posted January 10, 2012 The way to check for the authenticity of a Pashmina shawl ( with 80% or more Pashmina): The entire shawl should pass through a typical wedding/engagement ring in one swift motion. yeah, I've seen people doing that and I was like :ohmy: