Old guy Posted November 1, 2012 Posted November 1, 2012 I thought the next you would say take out your right hand and put it on your .... ur the expert at this no ? :winky:
Sachin=GOD Posted November 1, 2012 Posted November 1, 2012 Please don't use a heavy pillow...coz that will defeat the purpose. In my case' date=' my belly is big enough that it acts like a pillow... :hysterical:[/quote'] well at least there's one advantage of a big belly :--D
Crookbond Posted November 1, 2012 Posted November 1, 2012 dimaag har samay bas ek hi topic par jaata hai :headshake: What is wrong in keeping my right hand on the iPad? :dontknow: But, I like the way you think. :giggle: ur the expert at this no ? :winky: Keeping right hand on the iPad requires expertise? But, I like the way you think. :--D
Shane Posted November 1, 2012 Posted November 1, 2012 Any suggestions? iPad 2 or the New iPad, dont care much for the retina display, but is the difference in RAM significant enough?
Crookbond Posted November 1, 2012 Posted November 1, 2012 Any suggestions? iPad 2 or the New iPad' date=' dont care much for the retina display, but is the difference in RAM significant enough?[/quote'] iPad2 - better go for Mini if you do not care about the screen size.
Nova Posted November 1, 2012 Posted November 1, 2012 Any suggestions? iPad 2 or the New iPad' date=' dont care much for the retina display, but is the difference in RAM significant enough?[/quote'] Retina display is good if you are going to use iPad for extended period. It does reduce eye fatigue. Other than that you won't notice the difference of RAM and faster processor, for web surfing, reading, watching movies, etc. If money is a issue, then refurbished iPad2 will be cheaper. But since you are a rich boy, it won't matter much really even when you include the extra 25%. :winky: Samsung 10.1? PS. Don't bother about the mini...
Shane Posted November 1, 2012 Posted November 1, 2012 Retina display is good if you are going to use iPad for extended period. It does reduce eye fatigue. Other than that you won't notice the difference of RAM and faster processor, for web surfing, reading, watching movies, etc. If money is a issue, then refurbished iPad2 will be cheaper. But since you are a rich boy, it won't matter much really even when you include the extra 25%. :winky: Samsung 10.1? PS. Don't bother about the mini... Actually it is 30% lol, been a long time talking to the tdawg, how you been man, getting it through a friend from the states, waiting for the Nov 20th Sale, have to decide on the model though, never used anything apple yet other than iPods, I am not too keen on android for a tablet, I think there is an optimization issue with most apps and they dont feel that premium in comparision to the iPad. I was quite sure about the iPad 2, till I read it only had 512MB of RAM.
Old guy Posted November 1, 2012 Posted November 1, 2012 Actually it is 30% lol' date=' been a long time talking to the tdawg, how you been man, getting it through a friend from the states, waiting for the Nov 20th Sale, have to decide on the model though, never used anything apple yet other than iPods, I am not too keen on android for a tablet, I think there is an optimization issue with most apps and they dont feel that premium in comparision to the iPad. I was quite sure about the iPad 2, till I read it only had 512MB of RAM.[/quote'] most of apps are optimized now ..yes cricinfo is not :(( but dont have issue with any other also since nexus 10 is coming google is asking developers for more tablet apps i think in 6-7 months it wont be a issue at all and tbh most apps i have used work perfectly on tablet (are optimized for it,market automatically checks the resolution and gives u tablet app... ) also if u are convinced about pad i think u should go for newer one ..atleast it will be future proof ipad 2 is very old now
Sachin=GOD Posted November 3, 2012 Posted November 3, 2012 India to showcase Aakash tablet at U.N. India, which assumed this month’s rotating Presidency of the Security Council, will showcase its low-cost Aakash tablet at the United Nations, highlighting the country’s innovation involved in the “most competitively priced” tablet computer. India’s Permanent Representative to the U.N. Hardeep Singh Puri said a presentation on the tablet will be held on November 28 at the world body’s headquarters here to which UN Secretary General Ban Ki-moon will be invited. Suneet Singh Tuli, CEO of Canada-based Datawind, which had won the Indian government’s tender for making and supplying the tablets, will also be present on the occasion. Aakash has been “described as the most competitively priced tablet computer by an Indian-origin entrepreneur,” Mr. Puri said at a news conference on Friday to outline the Council’s monthly agenda under India’s presidency. He said while the tablet would be called “frugal innovation” in UN terminology, it is a “competitively priced innovation.” Later talking to PTI, Mr. Puri said the Indian mission to the UN took the initiative to showcase the tablet at the world body and other UN member states as well as media persons will be invited to the event. Mr. Tuli would make a presentation to the UN audience on Aakash, which was launched in October last year by the Indian government to make available computing devices to students at subsidised rates. The Indian mission intends to distribute a limited number of Aakash tablets to some member states. Datawind had won the tender in 2010 to supply one lakh Aakash tablets for a price of around $49 per unit. The project had run into controversy following the Indian Institute of Technology at Rajasthan rejecting the devices manufactured by Datawind. A new version of the tablet PC, featuring one Ghz processor, four-hour battery time, capacitive screen and Android 4.0 operating system, is expected to be launched in India on November 11. The Indian mission will also organise a cultural event at the UN on November 26 featuring the Shahi qawwals, who will be flying in from Ajmer for a Sufi music concert at UN on occasion of India’s presidency. The Hindu
Crookbond Posted November 3, 2012 Posted November 3, 2012 I honestly think that Aakash is not doing justice. This was an excellent opportunity to rule the low cost tablet in the market but bureaucracy has ruined it.
Sidhoni Posted November 3, 2012 Posted November 3, 2012 Please don't use a heavy pillow...coz that will defeat the purpose. In my case' date=' my belly is big enough that it acts like a pillow... :hysterical:[/quote'] :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
mhr123 Posted November 3, 2012 Posted November 3, 2012 I have Samsung Galaxy 2 and I am happy with it... serves all purpose.. only my fingers are a bit thicker .. but it seems i am getting use to it.
Sachin=GOD Posted November 23, 2012 Posted November 23, 2012 Conned: Aakash 2 made in China? Is India’s tech-showpiece Aakash 2, the world's cheapest tablet, made in China? Documents reviewed by HT show DataWind founders and NRI brothers Suneet and Raja Singh Tuli may have procured these devices off-the-shelf from manufacturers in China for $42 ( Rs. 2,263 then), exactly the price at which they sold these to the Indian government. DataWind bought more than 10,000 or more "A 13" made-in-China tablets from at least four manufacturers in Shenzhen and Hong Kong between October 26 and November 7. These were shipped to India duty-free as they were meant for school students under an HRD ministry programme. Last year, Canada-based DataWind won a bid to supply 100,000 low-cost computing devices to students. Aakash 2, which is meant to be India-made, is part of that agreement. DataWind had no role either in the design or manufacturing of Aakash 2 tablets, a source said. “I just landed in New York. I will respond upon clearing immigration and customs,” Suneet Tuli texted HT in response to a questionnaire emailed to him. He had not got back till the time of going to press. HRD minister Pallam Raju was travelling and couldn’t be contacted. Documents with HT show that DataWind bought the tablets from at least four manufacturers, Dasen International Electronics, Shenzhen Shitong Zhaoli Technology, Kalong Technology and Trend Grace Ltd. DataWind's manufacturing partner in Hyderabad --- VMC Systems---had not built any device over the last couple of months, said a source. Its manufacturing partners and facilities in Delhi and Amritsar, respectively, too, had not produced even a single tablet over the last couple of months, the source said. “Instead of manufacturing these low-cost tablets themselves… DataWind has simply purchased these 'off-the-shelf' from China and supplied it to the Indian government,” the source told HT, requesting not to be identified. It now appears that Datawind handed over the China-made tablets to Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Bombay for testing. IIT-B's role is limited to testing and installing apps. These, it emerges, were subsequently unveiled as Aakash 2 on November 11. IIT-B did not respond to an emailed questionnaire. http://www.hindustantimes.com/technology/PersonalTech-Updates/Conned-Aakash-2-made-in-China/SP-Article1-963600.aspx :facepalm:
ganeshran Posted November 23, 2012 Posted November 23, 2012 Wasnt it common knowledge that the tablets were manufactured in China?
Nova Posted November 23, 2012 Posted November 23, 2012 Wasnt it common knowledge that the tablets were manufactured in China? I didn't know. This sucks...
Sachin=GOD Posted November 23, 2012 Posted November 23, 2012 Wasnt it common knowledge that the tablets were manufactured in China? I don't know about others but this is the first time I'm hearing of this tab being built in China.
Clarke Posted November 23, 2012 Posted November 23, 2012 If the primary goal was affordability, it wouldn't make sense to manufacture it locally when the Chinese can make it cheaper.
ViruRulez Posted November 23, 2012 Posted November 23, 2012 Wasnt it common knowledge that the tablets were manufactured in China? Every major cheap tablet is made in China including our Micromax and Karbonn things. Not only cheap but most expensive tablets and mobiles are also made in China. Even if the tablets/smartphones are not made themselves in China still the components inside it are made in China. All of Apple's products are also made in China BTW. Not sure if Microsoft Surface has parts made in China but it won't surprise me either. The fact is that affordable mobile chipset and processors market and research is at a very advanced in China and its affiliated nations such as Taiwan. So, it is virtually impossible for any major tablet manufacturer to not check the Chinese market while designing/assembling tablets and mobiles in an affordable manner. Having said that, a "made in China" tag in itself does not mean that the tablet or phone is absolutely crap. There are various types of manufacturing quality inside China too and they cater to different customers. For example, some of the Chinese domestic tablet manufacturers such as Ramos and Ainol have a very good build and performance quality and overall performance than most international companies at those price points. Many of them also use Samsung processors and IPS screens. Check a video here of some upcoming Ramos tablets I found on youtube for an example: DOIBS6Z6dp8 You can check videos of Shenzen tablet factories on youtube too for the different types of tablet factories too. Some of them such as the $50 tablet ones are just like nukkad ki dukaan here in India while producing tablets. :giggle: The tablet market has become a lot more competitive in the last couple of years and except the student discount, I doubt the price point would be interesting for anyone for those specs unless there is a very good after-sales support. Even BSNL and MTNL have released tablets with better specs than Aakash with similar price point (compared to the Aakash selling price cited at nearly 4K or more). I have seen maybe 5-10 new tablet manufacturers entering in the last few months and the prices are only decreasing with competition. However, for all such budget tablets you get what you pay for. But then international tablets are priced a lot higher in India compared to US etc. and so, people need to turn to these budget brands. For example, Nexus 7 at the US price would have been a massive hit in India but the price was nearly doubled here and released at Rs.20K a few weeks ago. So, it did not make any sense. Similarly, the Asus Vivotab Windows 8 tablet which costs only 599 dollars on Amazon with free docks was released here in India a few weeks back for Rs.62K which is again nearly double the price. Overpricing products in an underdeveloped economy is not the smartest thing to do but not many companies seem to understand it easily. Microsoft is one of the few exceptions though and normally price their products far lower in developing countries like India resulting in a far more sales. For example, Windows 8 Professional is being released for only Rs.3500 here in India which is nearly half of the US price. So, it is but natural it will sell a lot easier here compared to a situation where the pricing would have been say double the US price like other companies do. Hope that Microsoft would also keep the Surface price comparative to US prices when it is released in India. It might become a big hit if Microsoft uses the pricing trick. I also hope Nexus 10 is fairly priced in India and Samsung does not repeat the Asus mistakes. Samsung has never released a Wifi only tablet in India (I have never understood the logic behind that though) and so, it would be interesting to see if they would do so this time in case they release Nexus 10 within the next couple of months.
ganeshran Posted November 23, 2012 Posted November 23, 2012 I knew (heard someone mention it) it was manufactured in China but was under the impression that it was designed by Datawind, not bought off the shelf from chinese dealers and sold cheap here because of subsidies offered by the government.
Nova Posted November 23, 2012 Posted November 23, 2012 The discussion is not about the quality of manufacturing in China. China delivers at all quality levels...low, medium, top class. The question to ask is...When will we see the day when electronics manufacturing gets a strong hold in India? Service sector is fine, but manufacturing sector is still poor in India. Don't we have brains in this area. And then there is the 25-35% markup of electronic goods in India. China heavily subsidizes the electronics industry with minimal taxes. As a result their manufacturing sector is booming. On the contrary, taxes/octroi in India for this sector are off the roof. This is not helping...