Vijay.Sharma Posted October 20, 2011 Posted October 20, 2011 ..this was a totally diff situation. Search on Youtube and see why they had to shoot them The Columbus Zoo head said, even if we had tranq'd them, where would they put them - we have no place in the zoo!Where would we have put them???? Is that so difficult to figure? Alright they haven't learned to hunt but hey you could always teach them or if nothing else let nature take its own course. Leave them in the wild and some will make it, some won't - it is better than all of them not making it
Rajiv Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 Where would we have put them???? Is that so difficult to figure? Alright they haven't learned to hunt but hey you could always teach them or if nothing else let nature take its own course. Leave them in the wild and some will make it' date=' some won't - it is better than all of them not making it[/quote'] Bhaisaab - after puting them to sleep, they will wake up? meanwhile where do they put them. These were around 50 animals who need their own space. Nature? you mean state of Ohio - let them loose? But eitherways, they had no time else risk the animals going towards the communities gOXB-esG0I4 MeXzUTGqCH8
Vijay.Sharma Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 Bhaisaab - after puting them to sleep' date=' they will wake up? meanwhile where do they put them. These were around 50 animals who need their own space. Nature? you mean state of Ohio - let them loose? [/quote']Arre yaar, leave them in the wild dunn mean Ohio...transport them to Africa and the Sunderbans. Come on the govt has enough money to spend on propaganda they sure have enough money to get this done.
punjabi_khota Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 ? Let me put it this way...I come from the school of thought that a few human casualties ain't no big deal (and I say this even if the casualties were myself or my family) compared to the lives of these animals. Look we are almost 7 billion cancer cells on this planet...a few of us dying in the process, even if it were my family and me dying, ain't a big deal.
Vijay.Sharma Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 I can't believe I read that post from Vijaywhat's there not to believe in that? Some people value life more equally than others
ganeshran Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 You cannot substitute human lives for animals. The survival of our species comes first. But this wasnt such a situation. The department should have been equipped to handle such situations. Tranquilizer darts werent really a no-option here. Its just that the police didnt want to take a risk at that stage.
Vijay.Sharma Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 You cannot substitute human lives for animals. The survival of our species comes first. But this wasnt such a situation. The department should have been equipped to handle such situations. Tranquilizer darts werent really a no-option here. Its just that the police didnt want to take a risk at that stage.If people do not understand the context in which I said it, it is their problem. I think I made the context rather clear when I said that we are a 7 billion strong species and it ain't like we are dealing with cockroaches or ants who are even more populous than us. Instead of passing off greatly surprised comments, rajiv would do better to understand the context and argue the bloody point.
Rajiv Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 What can I argue when someone says 7 Billion species are way too many and doesn't understand why they had to shoot the animals down - instead of understanding the situation, make into some kinda of humanity crisis. Try and sell your argument, see if it flies On a side note, please don't use this kinda tone here Instead of passing off greatly surprised comments, rajiv would do better to understand the context and argue the bloody point We have tolerated such idiotic comments below so don't push your luck. Get it or Get Out, anymore nonsense from you will be deleted
Brainfade Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 That groan you hear ... is Darwin just turning in his grave.
nikred Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 Arre yaar, leave them in the wild dunn mean Ohio...transport them to Africa and the Sunderbans. Come on the govt has enough money to spend on propaganda they sure have enough money to get this done. Tranquilizing them means they have gained some time...haven't they? Let me put it this way...I come from the school of thought that a few human casualties ain't no big deal (and I say this even if the casualties were myself or my family) compared to the lives of these animals. Look we are almost 7 billion cancer cells on this planet...a few of us dying in the process, even if it were my family and me dying, ain't a big deal. If there is a will there is a way. This bullshit about valuing human life above all else is a little too much for this Earth. These animals are not cockroaches or ants that are more populous than us. If we believe ourselves to be "the" species of the planet then we better act with that responsibility. Sorry sir, I am in no way ready to accept this logic that the only way out was to kill them Human Life(even with 7 billion of them ) > Tiger Life (even if there is only one left) :orderorder:
coffee_rules Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 We are the most powerful speciies on earth and we have the right to choose us over any kind of animal. We are also the most tolerant and know much more than any other speciies, so we care about them and don't try to hurt them as much (except for texans who willfully hunt and kill harmless animals for recreation/fetish). It doesn't mean we can let them eat us or harm us. Listen to cop interviews before passing any judgement. The 911 cops are not equipped with tranqs. In India, there is a possibility of wild animals getting closer to humans, so they are equipped with tranqs and other stuff. Who in the world would think tigers and lions would roam around freely in the middle of Ohio. What happened in Ohio is just tragic, but the animal deaths couldn't have been avoided. See this and believe what a wild animal can do to a harmless human: They had used transq for 4 times on this elephant and went on a rampage still and killing 2 persons. 36kBTayjFs8&feature=relmfu
Rajiv Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 I don't think people play it out when they are writing something. Imagine yourself saying " I didn't shoot the lion and let hm eat my friend, brother or stranger" as I didn't have any tranqs. I mean there are so many ppl in the world, what are few human lives? Would you consider letting these kinda people roam freely in society, can you comprehend a scenario like that, today its lion - tomorrow its something else We don't live in a jungle
punjabi_khota Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 In b4 republicans use VJ Sharma as proof that Darwin theory is false..
Vijay.Sharma Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 It's all a matter of perspective and context. I find it wrong to kill animals mercilessly when there are other options available. It's different if the animal has turned rouge like a mad elephant or a man-eating cat. In my world view no living thing is greater than any other living thing. For heaven's sake, I don't even kill a cockroach in my house man...I lift it and take it outside the house and let it go if I find one. I don't willingly kill any living thing...not even a mosquito even when it is biting me...I just push it away. I am different from you people. But please don't make big pronouncements about tolerating me and all. Just live with the fact that you have a different kind of human being posting on ICF among you folks.
Rajiv Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 ^^, Repubs might come up with a plan called 6-6-6 to avoid such scenarios in the future
Vijay.Sharma Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 I don't think people play it out when they are writing something. Imagine yourself saying " I didn't shoot the lion and let hm eat my friend' date=' brother or stranger" as I didn't have any tranqs. I mean there are so many ppl in the world, what are few human lives?[/quote']That wasn't the context under which I wrote my post. That is why I keep stressing on context...you always have the option of asking for clarifications before putting down someone.
Vijay.Sharma Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 ^^' date=' Repubs might come up with a plan called 6-6-6 to avoid such scenarios in the future[/quote']I think it's better I ignore you for the time being because you are turning this into a personal thingy
Rajiv Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 I think it's better I ignore you for the time being because you are turning this into a personal thingy ^^ was for Punjabi Khota but you posted before me so it seemed I was talking to you