VRV Singh Posted November 29, 2011 Posted November 29, 2011 Surely Mithun is the overwhelming favourite guys? Called up for the WI Tests as a replacement. Called up in Eng ODIs as a replacement. Called up in S Lanka as a replacement. Tenvic. It is already largely a rookie attack with Zaheer not certain either. I am pretty sure they will see this guy as the safe, steady eddie replacement. Sanju Manju is championing Vinay as the replacement...
pensionplan Posted November 29, 2011 Posted November 29, 2011 Praveen Kumar watches the Ranji Trophy 'Elite A Group' match between Saurashtra and Karnataka at the Chinnaswamy stadium in Bangalore on Tuesday. Photo : K . Bhagya Prakash
rkt.india Posted November 29, 2011 Posted November 29, 2011 I would take Nehra over Irfan. Don't think Nehra has done anything wrong to be totally put aside Nehra- fitness concerns.
cowboysfan Posted November 29, 2011 Posted November 29, 2011 I think we should seriously consider Sourav's idea of rotating fast bowlers,playing them till they drop before important series is just not working.
Needforspeed Posted November 29, 2011 Posted November 29, 2011 Oh No Not Vinay Kumar. Abu Nechim please.....Another 140K+ guy
akshayxyz Posted November 29, 2011 Posted November 29, 2011 Is a selector supposed to check the fitness of players like a physio? If so we should select doctors as selectors :D But selection panel can mandate submission of doctor reports / fitness test.
akshayxyz Posted November 29, 2011 Posted November 29, 2011 Btw, how did he get blunt test? from the google, it seems some trauma injury!
vamos_rafa Posted November 29, 2011 Posted November 29, 2011 Bhai..Irfan always does well in domestic but whenever he came back with good FC he did not deliver at international arena. We saw how he was bowling in Challenger trophy. He still has not changed his bowling technique and without that, I doubt he can hit consistent areas at around 130K pace. I am not talking about pace here. If he bowls 130, he will have to hit right areas, but he bowls now mainly in 120-125K range and even then errs in line and length. MS Gony also has bowled well this season. Sir ji, that's what I wrote. Picking him might not be the best of options as well. Anyways whosoever it might be, it would be a surprising decision.
rkt.india Posted November 29, 2011 Posted November 29, 2011 I think we should seriously consider Sourav's idea of rotating fast bowlers' date='playing them till they drop before important series is just not working.[/quote'] So he was rested and rotated and still got injured.
Alchemist Posted November 29, 2011 Posted November 29, 2011 How do our players keep on getting injured ? Wasn't he injured during WC too ? Whats the use of all this talent if you cannot play for a year without getting injured ?
Old guy Posted November 29, 2011 Posted November 29, 2011 i will bring in some swing bowler... already got 3 quicks.. and who so ever will be the bowler would replace zaheer .. otherwise owuld warm the benches is there no good swing bowler in india other than praveen kumar? im not willing to beilive in this lol
Sidhoni Posted November 29, 2011 Posted November 29, 2011 PK out of Aus tests! http://www.espncricinfo.com/india/content/current/story/542404.html :(( Praveen Kumar, the India medium-pacer, has been ruled out of the ongoing ODI series against West Indies as well as the Tests in Australia because of a fractured rib. Praveen had a scan on Monday that revealed the fracture and is expected to be out for five to six weeks. A replacement will be named on December 5 for the Tests in Australia. The Indian selectors, who had meetings on consecutive days last week to pick squads for the ODIs against West Indies and the Tests in Australia, had included Praveen for both series. But the BCCI secretary Sanjay Jagdale informed Kris Srikkanth, the chairman of selectors, on Sunday afternoon that Praveen had suffered from a 'blunt chest'. Karnataka fast bowler Abhimanyu Mithun was immediately appointed as a replacement. According to the original BCCI media release sent on Monday evening, Praveen had been ruled out only for the first three ODIs of the West Indies series. This came after Virender Sehwag, the stand-in India captain, had said on the eve of the Cuttack ODI that Praveen would be available for the second match on December 3 as he was suffering from "a niggle". It is understood the selectors were not aware of Praveen's original injury when they had picked him in the squads for the two series. "On the day of the selection, if there is no adverse fitness report then you assume they are fit," a BCCI official told ESPNcricinfo. "If you have not reported you are unfit you are assumed to be fit." According to him the turn of events in Praveen's case caught the selection committee completely by surprise. "The selectors only came to know a day after the Mumbai Test (which ended three days ago)." This is the second time in 2011 that Praveen has missed an important series because of an injury. Earlier this year a tennis elbow kept him out of the World Cup. Though he suffered an ankle injury towards the end of the England tour, he was India's best bowler in the Pataudi Trophy. The elbow injury troubled him again after the Twenty20 match against England in Kolkata on October 29. Consequently Praveen asked the Indian board for a two-week break. He then played in a Ranji Trophy match for Uttar Pradesh against Saurashtra in Meerut earlier this month to show his fitness.
Old guy Posted November 29, 2011 Posted November 29, 2011 and its good thing we came to know abt injury 1 month before tour.. imagine just before play india announcing pk injured lmfao deja vu of england
pensionplan Posted November 29, 2011 Posted November 29, 2011 As long as they do not select the over hyped Irfan Pathan in PK's place it should be fine.
Deleted_User_1 Posted November 29, 2011 Posted November 29, 2011 This is beginning of injuries. just wait. india is gonna get raped down under....
rkt.india Posted November 29, 2011 Posted November 29, 2011 This is beginning of injuries. just wait. india is gonna get raped down under.... Yeah. all will be injured in this ODI series itself.:((