The Dirty Game of DTH/Tele services Providers in india

BTW, Airtel Night packs (From 12am to 6am) are a good deal if you want to download larger files. Rs. 29 for 500mb 3G Rs. 53 for 1gb 3G These are in my circle. Check yours in Airtel's webpage.
why don't you get normal broadband it will be much quicker and cheaper for downloading and much more consistent. i am adding to clarify from broadband i mean wired internet even 512 kb connection will load sites much quicker because of better latency
I have that on my computer.
i know about you but leo even in past was worried about wasting data on updates so i think he just uses 3g for everything
Home broadband has a pretty decent plan. I get a bill of 1060 per month on 750 unlimited plan at good speeds.
Home broadband is pretty at a decent plan. I get a bill of 1060 per month on 750 unlimited plan at good speeds.
i think you made typo in there but i cannot figure out what :cantstop: still i think 3g should be only used as back up option or when you are away from home otherwise in everyway broadband will be lot cheaper
Internet on mobile are costly whether 2g or 3g. 2g was cheaper before re-auction of bandwidth after 2G scam came out. Companies had to pay more and they extracted it out of Customers pocket. Before 1gb 2 G for a month was 98 on Airtel. Now, it was 153 last I checked, but i think they have again increased it to 170 odd.
Thats the problem here. :cantstop: Only BSNL supplies broadband in my area and we all know about BSNL. :(( BTW Reliance has a good plan in my circle for heavy downloading. The website says 1 GB 3G + 3 GB 2G in Rs 98 for 2 days. But its actually around 2 GB 3G + 2 GB 2G. :cantstop:
i know about you but leo even in past was worried about wasting data on updates so i think he just uses 3g for everything
I don't use 3G for everything. At that time I was running on 3G to download a movie. Broadband is cheap and fast enough for streaming. But when I need to download large files, I go the 3G way. Night packs are great VFM.
Internet on mobile are costly whether 2g or 3g. 2g was cheaper before re-auction of bandwidth after 2G scam came out. Companies had to pay more and they extracted it out of Customers pocket. Before 1gb 2 G for a month was 98 on Airtel. Now' date=' it was 153 last I checked, but i think they have again increased it to 170 odd.[/quote'] i know wireless is expensive anywhere in world if anything 3g and 4g are lot cheaper in india than lots of western countries still its expensive man :( even worst broadband connection of bsnl will download more in month and you will spend less minimum speed they can give you is 512 kb its national wide and they cannot reduce speed below that what is ur normal broadband plan /?
still its expensive man :( even worst broadband connection of bsnl will download more in month and you will spend less minimum speed they can give you is 512 kb its national wide and they cannot reduce speed below that
Speed i have no problem. I am habituated to 128 kbps so 512 is too good but the problem is stability. Connect hi nahi hoga to speed ka kya fayda. :((
I can totally understand only this year I got stable high speed internet earlier even chatting services like yahoo used to get disconnected after few minutes :(( Speed was fine but connection was so bad !
what is ur normal broadband plan /?
Rs. 750 unlimited plan @512kbps. I dont use it much, Airtel 2G and Vodafone 2G gives good speeds and stability.
I can totally understand only this year I got stable high speed internet earlier even chatting services like yahoo used to get disconnected after few minutes :(( Speed was fine but connection was so bad !
My bsnl Broadband connection is very good. I couldn't work without that.
Airtel, Vodafone, Idea hike 2G tariff by up to 100% Oct 6, 2014, 12.25PM IST PTI Airtel is latest to increase mobile rates by up to 33%, while Vodafone and Idea have started gradually implementing the increased mobile internet rates from June. NEW DELHI: Telecom operators have raised mobile internet rates up to 100% in June-September period across country. Airtel is latest to increase mobile rates by up to 33%, while Vodafone and Idea have started gradually implementing the increased mobile internet rates from June. The three companies jointly hold around 57% mobile services market share. While no comments were received from Airtel and Idea Cellular, Vodafone India spokesperson said "Around 2 months ago, we changed the base tariff of 2G for 1GB pack from Rs 155 to Rs 175. This has been carried out in a phased manner across circles." READ ALSO: India may have 519 million mobile internet users by FY18 Airtel and Idea too have increased the rate of 1GB 2G mobile internet pack to around Rs 175 from about Rs 155 GB. Telecom operators generally don't make public announcement about increase in mobile tariff. The change is noticed on their website after the new rates are implemented. They generally inform their postpaid customer through SMS about change in rates of services before their next billing cycle starts. Prepaid customers, which constitutes over 90% of market, get to know about rate revision when they go to recharge their mobile phone or through website of companies. Telecom operators are required to report change in tariff to telecom regulator Trai. Vodafone and Idea Cellular increased rack rate, charged without any offer or scheme, by up to 100% from 2 paise per 10kb of data usage to 4 paise per 10kb. READ ALSO: Google to make search faster on slow mobile networks in India This means on Vodafone and Idea network 1 GB of 2G or 3G mobile internet will cost over Rs 4,000 (from Rs 2,000) which these companies under scheme are selling for around Rs 175. Airtel started increasing mobile internet rates around first week of September. The company is now at par with Vodafone and Idea in terms of rack rate which is 4 paise per 10kb. However, the increase is only of 33 per cent because the company was already charging 3 paise per 10kb earlier. The 2G data pack rate of Airtel is highest among the three at 10 paise per 10kb which means cost of 1GB mobile internet usage without any scheme or offer for a subscriber is over Rs 10,000 which company is now selling for Rs 176.

Telcos, govt spar over tariff hikes

The spectrum auctions proved to be a success, but the government and industry now seem to be speaking at cross-purposes over the need to hike consumer tariffs. While private operators, including Bharti Airtel and Reliance Communications, have openly spoken of a need to increase call and data charges, telecom minister Ravi Shankar Prasad has dubbed their statements as a "campaign" to make undue gains by blaming spectrum prices. Prasad has said that companies spent the money on strong business plans and not for charity. "What is this campaign?" Prasad said while reacting to reports that telcos plan to hike tariffs to make up for "expensive" spectrum purchases. "I don't think they came here (auctions) for charity... There is no argument of any desperate purchases. There has been a business case as India offers an exciting mobile and communications market to the world". The minister's argument is completely contrary to what Sunil Mittal, chief of the country's biggest telco Bharti Airtel, has said on record. Earlier this month, Mittal had said that voice and data tariffs would have to go up as companies will take cover for expensive spectrum purchases. "Tariffs have to go up," Mittal had said, forecasting an increase of 5-7 paise per minute on voice calls and 1-2 paise per mb of data usage. Reliance Communications, controlled by Anil Ambani, nearly warned of a similar measure on Thursday through its lawyer, former Union Minister P Chidambaram, in arguments before the Supreme Court. "The auction methodology was faulty and there are serious questions of law. As for the impact, please wait for the next few days. Your next (mobile) bill will tell you (about the impact)... With the present additional input of money, the telecom service providers would be forced to pass on the cost to the consumers." Telecom operators have gone to the court against provisions of the auction sale process, saying they were forced to bid higher to maintain continuity of business. The minister said an independent analysis presented to him made out a case against any significant change in tariffs. "A person very familiar with telecom industry has given me an analysis. The spectrum will be with the operators for 20 years. As per the analysis, the yearly load on telecom operators is going to be about Rs 5,300 crore...and 1.3 paise per connection per minute call," he said. Call and data tariffs in India are among the lowest in the world and these have resulted in break-neck growth in the number of subscribers as well as internet growth. Prasad said that the success of the auctions, which fetched the exchequer Rs 1.10 lakh crore, was a result of a transparent process and had ended the despondency in the Department of Telecom (DoT) where officers were reluctant to take decisions following the 2G scam. Speaking about the government's earnings, he also took a dig at his predecessor in the previous Congress-led government, Kapil Sibal, for coming out with a "zero loss" theory. "I would like to say one thing to my esteemed predecessor who talked about zero loss that if they would have done what I have done, they would have got the same result." The minister also requested operators to deposit the first tranche of the money to the government before the end of this month so that the money can be accounted in this financial year against carrying it forward in 2015-16. The companies have 10 days to make the advance of 25% to what they have spent in the 800 MHz and 900 MHz bands and 33% in the 1,800 MHz and the 2,100 MHz frequencies.