Rahul Shukla: Where the hell is he?

ShebbySB

^@ rkt, I have been making the same point here before which you are saying that it does not matter if a talented bowler has taken lesser wickets in domestic cricket. You got to recognize the talent then groom them for future. Even if Vinay Kumar or Deepak Chahar are taking most number of wickets, but I don't see much future in them. Exactly the same point which you were making. I just want Rahul to spend time in domestic and bowl lots of overs and improve his work-ethics. I don't care if he picks reasonable no of wickets or not but surely I will be keeping an eye on his bowling standards. But your other point that we need to include them in Indian team whether or not we play them, but atleast we can inspire or groom them. Sorry, but I don't agree. I have a couple of reasons for that. 1. I am in favor of a 15 men squad out of which every player can be picked any-time if team needs. We just cannot have useless players in main 15-16 men squad. Yes, apart from main squad, we can pick couple of players who can be net bowlers or batsmen. BCCI has lots of money. They can definitely afford that. 2. If a bowler today has the ability to bowl 140 k and we include him in team. Then his future benchmark to come-back in the team will become that only. Just like Irfan or Parthiv. I mean, I want them to increase their hunger and try and bowl 150 k. So that, their benchmark will be 150 instead of 140. And now Varun Aaron has set the example that you can bowl 150 in domestics as well.
Bowling 150KPH alone is not enough. You do not get wickets just by speed. Speed is an advantage which a bowler uses to take wickets along with other aspect of the bowling like seam, swing, and accuracy and they can only be possessed if you work on them and a good bowling coach can certainly help in this case and I do not see many good bowling coaches at domestic level who can develop those aspect without reducing the pace. You talked about Irfan, he had already played a lot of Ranji Cricket before making his debut. Same thing is with Sreesanth, but they never learned to bowl with consistency. My point of view was just hypothetical which can happen only when you have right system in place to groom your young fast bowlers which is not there with Indian team and I do not see that happening as well. His only chance to come into limelight is IPL if he can show his pace there and decently well, every one will take notice of him like Aaron. Aaron too had only played 11 Ranji matches before going to England. Rahul Shukla has played 10 and I tell you Umesh Yadav's performance in Ranji Trophy has not been that good apart from his first season where he took 20ish wickets in 4-5 matches. It is all about raw potential and after that it is the task of team management to refine these guys and for that we employ bowling coach.

If a bowler has speed, his other skills can be worked on. But a bowler without speed is unlikely to increase his speed significantly. All of us who have played cricket at some level and aspired to be fast bowlers know this. After a particular level no matter how hard you try you just cannot bowl faster. So, especially in the Indian context, a bowler who can bowl fast like Rahul Shukla or Abu Nechim is a rare find, and has to be monitored and guided properly. Once u have a culture of fast bowlers breaking into the Indian team, you will see so many upcoming youngsters trying to bowl fast and irrespective of our pitches, we will continue to produce fast bowlers. Abu Nechim should have been selected at least for the 2 T20 matches in Australia. After all IPL & CLT20 performance should count for T20 selection at least.

^@rkt, Yar, pace ki baat to mene pehle hi comment me clear kar di thi. That I don't like to see Umesh bowling at high pace and spraying it around like he did today. Same goes with other bowlers as well. I want pace with lil more control. The main point where we both disagrees is- according to you, Rahul is not ready for international matches but still Rahul should be included in squad for grooming purposes. And my point is, every member in a 15 men squad should be able to make a place in the playing 11. As far as grooming a youngster is concerned, we can still groom them by including them as a net bowler. Rest, on all the points we agree with each other whether its pace or domestic performance is concerned. We just disagrees on the above point.

yaar nowadays we dont carry only 15 players. WE have 17 member squad for ODI series, same for tests that way we can have one or two guys for grooming purposes. Like Pattinson was in SL but was mainly for grooming purposes and I do not think Shukla is that bad if at all he plays any match. He already had a fifer in domestic one days and one in ranji as well.
yaar nowadays we dont carry only 15 players. WE have 17 member squad for ODI series' date=' same for tests that way we can have one or two guys for grooming purposes. Like Pattinson was in SL but was mainly for grooming purposes and I do not think Shukla is that bad if at all he plays any match. He already had a fifer in domestic one days and one in ranji as well.[/quote'] Yes, if we are going to carry 17 member squad then definitely, he can be included. Just like Varun Aaron was there on England tour. He may not had played any match in England, but yea that had surely helped him and he was looking more confident in his first intl match. Rahul should be included in India A teams as well and Emerging players tournament as well. But I am not sure if our selectors had even watched Ranji final as well. Those feckers won't have any clue about Rahul Shukla. Rahul has now 2-3 chances. One in Vijay Hazare Trophy and biggest chance will be IPL this year. Hope he counts on these opportunities. It is very good for him that he is playing in DY Patil tournament and he is in Reliance team
Smashing?..that was a top edge that went in the air over cover and Unmukt wanted to hot it over mid off..
yes it was a smash to me, din't look like an edge to me, normally and edge goes finer like 3rd man or over cover point, and not over cover.
yes it was a smash to me' date=' din't look like an edge to me, normally and edge goes finer like 3rd man or over cover point, and not over cover.[/quote'] no it was not a smash..it went in the air..did not go where the batsman intended to go.
no it was not a smash..it went in the air..did not go where the batsman intended to go.
never mind, i'm not saying that he is a slow bowler , i was praising Chand for his tenacity to come out to the quickest bowler in the tournament and give a whack says something about the youngster.
never mind' date=' i'm not saying that he is a slow bowler , i was praising Chand for his tenacity to come out to the quickest bowler in the tournament and give a whack says something about the youngster.[/quote'] I am not saying he is slow or fast, just saying that it was a leading edge that went in the air. How quick he will be we dont know until he is clocked by radar and he still has to improve a lots. Hopefully, BCCI does something regarding our fast bowling pool and provide them best coaches and methods to improve. Otherwise, I dont see us winning overseas after ATGs gone. These guys are all talented but impatient and are not consistent, try too much. Umesh Yadav lacked this, otherwise he could have been so much better.
I am not saying he is slow or fast' date=' just saying that it was a leading edge that went in the air. How quick he will be we dont know until he is clocked by radar and he still has to improve a lots. Hopefully, BCCI does something regarding our fast bowling pool and provide them best coaches and methods to improve. Otherwise, I dont see us winning overseas after ATGs gone. These guys are all talented but impatient and are not consistent, try too much. Umesh Yadav lacked this, otherwise he could have been so much better.[/quote'] i think yadav was jsut out of rhythm
The entire tournament was broadcasted live on DD Sports. I wonder if anyone saw these matches' date=' there were lot of public by the way.[/quote'] didn't know...though there is no DD sports on cable here.
The entire tournament was broadcasted live on DD Sports. I wonder if anyone saw these matches' date=' there were lot of public by the way.[/quote'] O feck!! Why didn't you tell this before when we have been discussing about this tournament for the last 2 weeks? Aur ab bta raha hai jab its over. Yar, use your brains

When Pathan got hit in the same tournament, he was called crap to be hit by these no name batsmen. When Shukla gets hit, we are discussing how quick his deliveries were or trying to justify saying even quicker bowlers have been hammered!

But he still is not hammered as much as Pathan was and then you are comparing a seasoned Pathan to a rookie. He still is raw. while he has mostly gone for runs through outside edges, top edges, inside edges, leading edges and indecisive shots, Pathan was raped, stand delivered.