nikred Posted January 7, 2012 Posted January 7, 2012 Not so fast Einstein. Your logic was using the existence of some higher life form which is directing the evolution of living beings. And as I said' date=' using the logic of vastness of space can be used to prove the existence of Lochness monster or a [b']three dick flamy in some other galaxy. Interesting that you agree with Hawkins on a speculation that no one has any proof of, while at the same time arguing against the evolution mechanism which is widely understood now. Three dick Flamy.:hysterical: Flamy with three extra dicks. :haha:
akshayxyz Posted January 7, 2012 Posted January 7, 2012 What we need for calculating expected value - probability density function What we need for probability density function - data from experimentation/observation, and some times function of other distributions. What is the observed data for intelligent life - only earth, so far. As PK said, vastness of space can be used to prove existence of anything and everything you can imagine.
flamy Posted January 7, 2012 Posted January 7, 2012 Intelligent life needn't mean physical life forms.
Vijay.Sharma Posted January 7, 2012 Author Posted January 7, 2012 Not so fast Einstein. Your logic was using the existence of some higher life form which is directing the evolution of living beings. And as I said' date= using the logic of vastness of space can be used to prove the existence of Lochness monster or a three dick flamy in some other galaxy. Interesting that you agree with Hawkins on a speculation that no one has any proof of, while at the same time arguing against the evolution mechanism which is widely understood now.Arre mera naam Vijay hai yaar. Dont call me Einstein and insult me or Einstein. Nah, you can't use that logic to prove Lochness. If you can I'd like you to make an attempt... go on Veda Vyasa let's see what kinda logic you will come up with ps: if you are willing to learn I can teach you why that logic will not work (here's a clue - generic to specific, specific to generic) pps: The text were I have used this, is to let you know that your logic fails again. Think about it and let me know what is the mistake you made there. Hint - it is the similar sort of mistake you made with the Lochness thingy
Prakat Posted January 8, 2012 Posted January 8, 2012 If my memory serves me correct, wasn't it Hawking himself who, in "The Brief History of..." rubbished this line of thinking by equalling it with a scenario where the cops, upon finding a dead body in the trunk of a tree in a scientist's backyard enquire the scientist about it and he defends himself by saying, "Given that there are so many trees on Earth, there was bound to be one with a dead body in it."