theguyinallblue Posted July 16, 2007 Posted July 16, 2007 Oye pagal hai kya? :angry_smile: Carrom is a fierce game. Specially in Eastern part of the country. Every Bengali mohalla has young guys making clubs and playing carrom all nigh long. There would be this bulb suspended out of nowhere and four people playing sitting atop a chair and another 4 waiting for their turns. Just take a tour through Bengal sometimes and you will know what I mean. Waise it is played all over the country. xx kya baat bai Lurker mian... this game is very popular in WB..or used to be popular...not sure about the current generation...of 21st century.. in a big hall type room..there would be 5-6 boards..with one philips ka bulb hanging above...i have won games while playing with left hand...:D
Lurker Posted July 16, 2007 Posted July 16, 2007 I know its a fun sport which does evoke a lot of passion sometimes. Personally ' date=' I dont think i will get a lot of satisfaction out of winning a carrom game , when compared to a lets say a gruelling basketball match.[/quote'] You havent been in that situation Sriram hence you think that way. I mean Bengalis love carrom but does that take away their passion for cricket or football? No. See the satisfaction is generated by how much you like a game and how good you are at it. I mean I would get equally passionate(when I was in school/college) about a game of TT, volleyball, cricket, athletics, basketball, carrom, chess and so on. Never felt that passion in football. Why? Cos I sucked.. xxx
CC1981 Posted July 16, 2007 Posted July 16, 2007 Dont know if ANYONE can feel good/bad about a game of carromI used to be quite good at carroms- but havnt played it in 10 years..usually needed 4-5 turns to clear the board on average...yeah, thats pretty average compared to some doods who literally clear away the board in 2-3 turns of the striker easily. And it is a very fierce rivalry sometimes...our mohalla in kolkata took its carroms pretty fiercely - if you didnt beat the other mohollah guys across the road, you didnt get to play cricket on the field we shared. Lurker knows what he is talking about. But it can also be a pretty family game- most of my family play carroms as time-pass, even my mom & grandma used to play it with the rest. Especially in those boring 'power-cut' nights...we used to do the 'kachua chaap jalao, kerosine-lamp jalaoo...carroms khelo'. But then grade 9 happened and i got banned form carroms ( all day getting sh!t about parhayee).
Lurker Posted July 16, 2007 Posted July 16, 2007 kya baat bai Lurker mian... this game is very popular in WB..or used to be popular...not sure about the current generation...of 21st century.. in a big hall type room..there would be 5-6 boards..with one philips ka bulb hanging above...i have won games while playing with left hand...:D Arre Bhaiya hum bhi ussi side ke hain. Saala ghar ka Cuticura, Nycil powder choora choora ke carrom pe daalte the. Bahut joota para hai yeh sab ke chakkar mein. But there is nothing better than sitting under a Phillips bulb aiming for that Queen...aur bijli chali jaaye to Petromax ya even dhibri chalega lekin game nahin rukega!
Ram Posted July 16, 2007 Author Posted July 16, 2007 You havent been in that situation Sriram hence you think that way. I mean Bengalis love carrom but does that take away their passion for cricket or football? No. See the satisfaction is generated by how much you like a game and how good you are at it. I mean I would get equally passionate(when I was in school/college) about a game of TT, volleyball, cricket, athletics, basketball, carrom, chess and so on. Never felt that passion in football. Why? Cos I sucked.. xxx Actually , i get what you say.. fair enough !
theguyinallblue Posted July 16, 2007 Posted July 16, 2007 a typical scene in carrom clubs...when i used to play...in WB..
npate9 Posted July 16, 2007 Posted July 16, 2007 My first favorite sport is American football and second of course cricket. My favorite in this particular order: American Football Cricket Basketball Weight lifting (If u guys consider that as a sport) tennis One more comment I hate soccer ( just can't stand that game
Aditi Posted July 17, 2007 Posted July 17, 2007 Cricket, soccer/football, table tennis, badminton, swimming.
gorah_pindu Posted July 17, 2007 Posted July 17, 2007 Snooker/pool Cricket (not often) Football (not often) Online gaming :-P
King Posted July 17, 2007 Posted July 17, 2007 kya baat bai Lurker mian... this game is very popular in WB..or used to be popular...not sure about the current generation...of 21st century.. in a big hall type room..there would be 5-6 boards..with one philips ka bulb hanging above...i have won games while playing with left hand...:D Not sure if you guys know but one of the sports channel in India has this competition for Carrom with contestants from all over India. The Winner gets US $44,000 which is not too bad. Good to see this one get its due. US Tournaments Boost ESPN World Series of Carrom May 31, 2007 The US CARROM ASSOCIATION (USCA) and ESPN STAR SPORTS (ESS) and are pleased to announce a summer-long series of carrom tournaments, all in support of the launch of the ESS television series, "The World Series of Carrom." This fifteen-part TV series is the first world-class video production of a carrom competition. It features sixteen players from eleven countries, and will be broadcast in both English and Hindi. In addition to the ESS Asia networks, which reach over two hundred million viewers, the series is set to be televised in the US over cable and satellite. All three carrom tournaments will be held in conjunction with major billiards competitions, where an American pool-playing public will have a chance to witness carrom at its highest level. In addition to the three tournament events (singles, doubles, and the introduction of the World Series of Carrom format,) exhibits and demonstrations will feature World Series of Carrom players, artifacts, premiere screenings, and open boards for public play. USCA Eastern Open, June 8–10, Valley Forge Convention Center, King of Prussia, PA (in conjunction with the American Pool Association (APA) Local Team Championship) USCA Western Open, June 15–17, Riviera Hotel and Casino , Las Vegas, NV (in conjunction with the American Cue Sports (ACS) 2007 National Championship) USCA Invitational, August 3–5, Valley Forge Convention Center, King of Prussia, PA (in conjunction with the American Pool Association (APA) City Championship) Some of these events will feature members of the Indian National Carrom Team and their coach, all WSC participants and the world’s greatest carrom players. Coaching sessions will be offered in the days before or after the tournaments on a first come, first served basis. Registration forms, entry fees and cash prizes will be posted on the USCA website, www.uscarrom.org. For more information, email carrom1@hotmail.com or call 919-321-1284.
King Tendulkar Posted July 17, 2007 Posted July 17, 2007 To Play 1. Football/cricket 2. Golf 3. Tennis To watch 1. Cricket 2. Football 3. Golf 4. Darts 5. WWE wrestling
kumble_rocks Posted July 17, 2007 Posted July 17, 2007 To Play 1. Football/cricket 2. Golf 3. Tennis To watch 1. Cricket 2. Football 3. Golf 4. Darts 5. WWE wrestling We are talking about sports , not sports entertainment !:P
Guest dada_rocks Posted July 18, 2007 Posted July 18, 2007 See golf, I have been playign this game when I hardly knew anythign like that existed. It used to be variation of a game where one guy used to hit dozen half dozen number didn't matter guys with balls and each and every guy had this base called (ghuchchi) where his stick must be touching if not then the person who is roaming around chasing ball hit by rest of the guys might touch that base and thereby take his position and new guy wud have to chase around the balls. Certain days not many guys used to show up or buffalos which otherwise used to graze quietly giving guys some time to play might run amock hence needed to be cared constatntly and we used to be left with very few guys and the orginial game could not be feasible lest u wanted one guy to keep chasing the ball whole evening. On these ocassions we used to tweak this game which later on I found was nothing but golf. We used to take turns placing that ball in that (ghuchchi) and count number of shots we took. In fact we had several ghuchhis and every one used to be used concept of several holes right there:giggle:. So actually I have re-invented this game called GOLF. But now I hate watching it, playing must be fun though because my concoction of golf most certainly was fun.:haha:
kumble_rocks Posted July 18, 2007 Posted July 18, 2007 DR, please don't try to be funny ! That's not your forte. :wink_smile:
Guest dada_rocks Posted July 18, 2007 Posted July 18, 2007 Amaa yaar ye game ka descriptin that bhaya
The Outsider Posted July 18, 2007 Posted July 18, 2007 Squash, Mountaineering and my latest craze, Scuba Diving.