Yantra Posted January 28, 2012 Posted January 28, 2012 I started watching active cricket around 85-86 and since then I must have watched most of the India matches and importantly most of the domestic matches televised. when I was in my kids days fast bowling has always make me watch matches and was always eager to see bowlers from WI, PAK and Aus operate and since those days wanted or eagerly waited pack of fast bowlers coming from India got exited when I show Chetan Sharma, Raju Kulkarni, Sanjeev Sharma, Atul asan, Vivek Razdan, Salil Ankola, Prashant Vaidya, Bhupinder singh, Doda Ganesh, David Johnson, Amit Bhandari, Ajit agarkar, Ashish Nehra, Harvinder Singh, Laxmipati Balaji, RP Singh, S Sreesanth, I sharma, I pathan, Munaf Patel, A Dinda, S Tyagi, V Aaron and the list goes on...... Every Ranji season I will follow the scorecard, look for new talent in fast bowling just want to be feel proud of saying that Indians can bowl fast and we are not timid and fragile and we have big heart we can work hard and Mothers from our great land produce such Brave and strong Athletes but now I thing that hope is all false we can never produce good fast bowlers who are really quality fast bowlers and bowl them quick, I know there are advocates here who will quick to jump and say pace is not every thing and you need accuracy and movement but there is no substitute for pace, you look at the example of Aus attack and Vinay Kumar, you must have 135K and above if you only rely on pace and movement otherwise you have to be around 145K these days. last few seasons there is not a single fast bowler who imerged or is on the horizon and my wait is too long now, it appears our land is full of tundlers, timid and cowardish looking people who are not willing to work hard, we just dont have it in us to bowl fast, we should just accept that we can never produce good fast bowlers, sorry just got bit sentimental but can't help it yaar, just look at this years ranji teams all the bowlers in most of the teams was below 130K and that too with no line length. unless we have have pack of quality fast bowlers its unreal to hope for a away series win, we just keep persisted with I sharma for so long cause we did not had a good replacement, we just don't have bowlers who is good enough to take 20 wickets, Umesh showed some potential but was very wayverd has there been other good bowlers pushing them I am sure they must be bowling well, we had A Mithun and V kumar who I believe should not be even in the Ranji team. Enough now its not going to happen in India, we will never be able to win test matches abroad, there may be one or two but on consistent basis for long time its not going to happen, batting failure this time is a other story but this is my opinion after following India cricket for 25 years. All away series win and no 1 status is all "Mrigaya" its never going to happen full stop.
Manny_Pacquiao Posted January 28, 2012 Posted January 28, 2012 Throwing dirt on our current team is justified, talking **** about our team of the decade as being poor travellers and bringing up nonsense like this isn't. 25 years of waiting for what? We won many away series in this decade, stop crying like a little *****
vvvslaxman Posted January 28, 2012 Posted January 28, 2012 we won in England, we won in NZ, we won in Wi. 2 places where we could not win was OZ and SA.Rest of the places we have won within this decade.
Yantra Posted January 28, 2012 Author Posted January 28, 2012 Please don't mention one or two away wins against lower ranked teams, all I am try to say is that we will never be able to win away series against good team for a prolong period unless you have quality fast bowlers not just one or two good bowlers. and after a long long wait its only fair to say that India can not produce them, we are not build, have no desire, we don't have it in us to bowl fast. Our young generation always been after B'wood nach gana, "chhichhora" sports and hard work comes last.
Manny_Pacquiao Posted January 28, 2012 Posted January 28, 2012 Don't mention them because fair weather ********s like you havent got a ****ing clue about cricket? Ja kabbadi dekh DD sports pe, yeh cricket Teri bas ki baat nahin hai.
Vikas Bhatt Posted January 28, 2012 Posted January 28, 2012 I am giving up on Indian cricket completely. The BCCI's clown arguments of how we will do well at home, how we 'avenged' England humiliation by winning home ODIs 5-0 etc have disillusioned me completely. There is no hope from this bunch of politicians and selfish business men like Pawars, Shuklas and Srinivasan, who will completely kill the game forever. I am not interested in seeing India beat the likes of snoozers at home. We will never ever win in Aus and SA in test series ever. Our best sides in our history couldn't beat their worst. The future of Indian tests on flat T20 tailored tracks is bleak. I have decided its time to leave cricket behind and stop following team India completely.
Marut Posted January 28, 2012 Posted January 28, 2012 Please don't mention one or two away wins against lower ranked teams' date=' all I am try to say is that we will never be able to win away series against good team for a prolong period unless you have quality fast bowlers not just one or two good bowlers. and after a long long wait its only fair to say that India can not produce them, we are not build, have no desire, we don't have it in us to bowl fast. Our young generation always been after B'wood nach gana, "chhichhora" sports and hard work comes last.[/quote'] India did better in the last decade than they ever did in the past. We will not win in SA and Australia without world class bowlers like Steyn, and without having plenty of green/bouncy wickets for India tests. If we follow Gambhir's idea of making dust bowls for visitors. we can forget about winning good opposition overseas. Similarly, England will never win in SC unless they have spinning wickets for test matches at home.
ZodiaC Posted January 28, 2012 Posted January 28, 2012 Draw and Win vs England Draw vs Waugh's Aus Draw vs SA Win vs NZ Win vs WI x2 So no.
Yantra Posted January 28, 2012 Author Posted January 28, 2012 BCCI is just worried about making money, they have never thought seriously about improving cricket in India, but as a individual cricket players its your responsibility too improve your self, we have so many fast bowlers looked promising but falters away, just accept the fact that you will never going to get fast tracks, better gyms etc... just work with what you have. Other thing is also the hypocrisy and ego with seniors and they are setting wrong example for the coming generation by not retiring them selves.
bharat297 Posted January 29, 2012 Posted January 29, 2012 Agree with Yantra ... There's no point being in denial and bringing up our last away series win against a reasonable opposition, which was back in 2007 in England. We should stop kidding ourselves as fans. Unless the BCCI wake up and make sweeping changes in regards to Indian cricket from the top to bottom, domestic cricket, pitches, selection, etc. this won't change and we can gloss over our home victories. But lets stop kidding ourselves.
yoda Posted January 29, 2012 Posted January 29, 2012 We suck pretty much if the pitch offers some bounce or movement and if the opponents have half decent bowlers. It so happens most of these places are in Eng, Aus and SAF. Remember Nagpur 04? Start preparing some green tops at home and see us getting destroyed routinely.
bharat297 Posted January 29, 2012 Posted January 29, 2012 Our batsmen don't have great technique and the truth is its because of the domestic pitches in India. Because they don't offer any encouragement to the bowlers, batsmen are allowed to get into bad habits (e.g. bat away from pad, waiting on the front foot, poking outside off) with little worry that it might lose them their wicket.
Needforspeed Posted January 29, 2012 Posted January 29, 2012 Our batting pretty much sucked in Australia, but our bowling was also pathetic. Of the lot only Zaheer Khan showed some test class and Yadav was extremes..brilliant one moment and awful at times, Ishant sharma is too mediocre to comment. The crap batsmen in the team are trying to protect their places because of fear of losing commercial endorsements. The BCCI and the selection committee is also in league with them. These guys are a National disgrace. The way things are going, the BCCI is not even willing to accept that a problem exists. Who says that selection committee has to wait till the oldies decide to retire. Kick the feckers out and rebuild a new team, otherwise, we will start getting thrashed at home too.
Sarkar Posted January 29, 2012 Posted January 29, 2012 We won the series in England 2007 series in West Indies 2006 Pakistan 2004 New Zealand so where did u get 25 years.
cameron_black Posted January 29, 2012 Posted January 29, 2012 we won in England' date=' we won in NZ, we won in Wi. 2 places where we could not win was OZ and SA.[b']Rest of the places we have won within this decade. SRL?
NeutralCat Posted January 29, 2012 Posted January 29, 2012 Look how low we have gotten when we think winning a series 1 - 0 against the WI who are on the same level as Bangladesh as a great thing. Whats the point of winning 1 test here and there, we are rubbish and have been rubbish overseas for decades now. I agree with the OP we have done nothing of note away from home, 1 - 0 against England in England when they had a crap team as well, we were lucky to win that series. What a joke we are and like I have said we the fans are happy with mediocrity, and some of the post in this thread just prove that point.
Old guy Posted January 29, 2012 Posted January 29, 2012 Look how low we have gotten when we think winning a series 1 - 0 against the WI who are on the same level as Bangladesh as a great thing. Whats the point of winning 1 test here and there, we are rubbish and have been rubbish overseas for decades now. I agree with the OP we have done nothing of note away from home, 1 - 0 against England in England when they had a crap team as well, we were lucky to win that series. What a joke we are and like I have said we the fans are happy with mediocrity, and some of the post in this thread just prove that point. no team other then australia has done anything of note away from home.. south africa did but again australia were crap
Needforspeed Posted January 29, 2012 Posted January 29, 2012 Yanthra, dont feel so dejected. If winter comes, can spring be far behind. Our young brigade will fire. But protest against the oldies continuing - in every internet forum, on facebook, on twitter, thru TV channels, thru letters to the editors and thru placards on grounds. Let our voices be heard. :protest:
Old guy Posted January 29, 2012 Posted January 29, 2012 Yanthra, dont feel so dejected. If winter comes, can spring be far behind. Our young brigade will fire. But protest against the oldies continuing - in every internet forum, on facebook, on twitter, thru TV channels, thru letters to the editors and thru placards on grounds. Let our voices be heard. :protest: this :hatsoff::clap: