shinchan Posted February 16, 2012 Posted February 16, 2012 Andrew Symonds' playing days are over Andrew Symonds, the former Australia allrounder, has announced his retirement from professional cricket, citing family reasons. He hasn't played for Australia since being sent home from the World Twenty20 in England three years ago but has turned out for several domestic sides in limited-overs cricket. His only current contract was with the Mumbai Indians, but he will not be participating in this year's IPL. "Effective immediately, I am retiring from all forms of professional cricket," Symonds said. "It is with regret that I will not be able to fulfill my final year of the IPL with the Mumbai Indians. Mumbai Indians and the IPL have both been very supportive of me, but the impending arrival of my first child is a priority." Symonds, 36, had cut ties with his home side Queensland before the 2010-11 Big Bash, and has only played for Mumbai since. He was snapped up for $850,000 at the IPL auction last year, but he had an indifferent time with Mumbai. Symonds failed to make a half-century in either the IPL or the Champions League T20 in 2011, and struggled to hold down a permanent spot in the line-up.
Vilander Posted February 16, 2012 Posted February 16, 2012 so long Symo, thanks for the memories and the monkeys and the maakis'
Sidhoni Posted February 16, 2012 Posted February 16, 2012 It was fun when you were there, Symo. Thanks for the entertainment.
mysterio86 Posted February 16, 2012 Posted February 16, 2012 Brilliant guy ! A guy who appreciates beer should always be appreciated ! and awesome cricketer
Tendulkar_Bhai Posted February 16, 2012 Posted February 16, 2012 Always very overrated, not a player that will be remembered in a few yrs for his playing abilities
gaurav92 Posted February 16, 2012 Posted February 16, 2012 will never forget his onslaught in 2003 final Did he even bat ? :hmmmm2:
Number Posted February 16, 2012 Posted February 16, 2012 will never forget his onslaught in 2003 final 2003 WC he made a great century against Wasim , Waqar , Akhtar in a group match. One of the best ODI innings. :hatsoff: very good player and a match winner.
Zelch Posted February 16, 2012 Posted February 16, 2012 The Real Gladiator in a sport populated by potbellied geriatrics
Moncy Posted February 16, 2012 Posted February 16, 2012 Symonds, wish you the best for your future. Really enjoyed watching you hitting 6s :(
TalhaSyed Posted February 16, 2012 Posted February 16, 2012 The Real Gladiator in a sport populated by potbellied geriatrics Thats what I am going to remember him for :P
King Tendulkar Posted February 16, 2012 Posted February 16, 2012 He was a monster. Awesome odi player
Desi Cartman Posted February 16, 2012 Posted February 16, 2012 He was never 100% right in the head. OTOH he is cool and wants to enjoy beer n chill .. I wish I could retire at the age of 36 with millions of dollars in the bank :((
Raghav_12 Posted February 16, 2012 Posted February 16, 2012 Always very overrated' date=' not a player that will be remembered in a few yrs for his playing abilities[/quote'] Don't think he was overrated but yes, he underperformed considering his potential. A monstrous ODI player. Complete package - Hard hitting bat, canny bowler and stunning fielder. Also holds all time record for thickest edge not to be given out.
ganeshran Posted February 16, 2012 Posted February 16, 2012 Brilliant fielder and utility player. He could have played more international cricket had it not been for his attitude
Iconoclast Posted February 16, 2012 Posted February 16, 2012 What a knock by him against us in the 2003 WC .. completely turned around the match. This guy was a true beast. Oh well he can :drinks: as much as he wants to now.
chainsmoker1985 Posted February 16, 2012 Posted February 16, 2012 He was one of my favorite cricketers and one of the greats of the limited overs cricket. I have very much similar to him, temperament, game, fielding and personality wise too. :hatsoff: to him for all the entertainment.
Desi Cartman Posted February 17, 2012 Posted February 17, 2012 He was one of my favorite cricketers and one of the greats of the limited overs cricket. I have very much similar to him' date=' temperament, game, fielding and personality wise too. :hatsoff: to him for all the entertainment.[/quote'] oh so u r an alcoholic ?
Deleted_User_1 Posted February 17, 2012 Posted February 17, 2012 I blame the midget for this retirement!