Cricketics Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 Remember it like yeserday. Some games live forever in forever in your memory. This is one of them. I remember the calm Tendulkar going to the middle of the ground. 270 ODD NEEEDED. So much pressure. India had already gotten thrashed by Australia and I remember Aajtak was playing people messages about their views on Indian team's poor run in the world cup thus far. One of the messages read "Keep the INdian team in African Jungle" Though we did beat England in the middle, but this match was the all important one. That match changed everything.
akshayxyz Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 I re-read the article this morning and made me freaking nostalgic. No, not about the innings itself (which was stellar by every means), but the fact that to remember it we had to reycle an old article from our Magic Moments archive. Still remember how Magic Moments series had started. CricInfo had started it, and it was so atrocious, we at ICF started our very own and I dare say ours was inherently better. What the eff happened to the younger lot who keeps recycling old articles, or pointing links from a different websites? And yes I am looking at the likes of you Dan. Start writing your own stuff, you should know atleast enough about Sachin to write some. Hate to see ICF become a Khandar batati hai ke imarat kabhi buland thi.... Why not add the links to the material you revisited. I have my own unique nostalgic memories associated with the same.... need some help re-living the same.
akshayxyz Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 Such moments are very rare when whole country celebrates together and even unknowns become known and start celebrating with you. Over here' date=' we usually turn on the car woofer on very loud voice at sector 9 lights or sector 17 chowk or outside PU and start doing bhangra in the middle of the road. Funny thing even policemen joins us in bhangra in the middle of the road on such occasions :bhangra::bhangra::bhangra:[/quote'] where were you on 2nd Apr, 2011. ?
akshayxyz Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 Koi upload karo yaar? my CD of that innings is not working.. ( the only cricket-related CD I ever bought).
Brainfade Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 Remember it like yeserday. Some games live forever in forever in your memory. This is one of them. I remember the calm Tendulkar going to the middle of the ground. 270 ODD NEEEDED. So much pressure. India had already gotten thrashed by Australia and I remember Aajtak was playing people messages about their views on Indian team's poor run in the world cup thus far. One of the messages read "Keep the INdian team in African Jungle" Though we did beat England in the middle, but this match was the all important one. That match changed everything. The tune "Udaanaada sambo ... udaanaada sambo" still wafts in my head side-by-side with memories of 3 am breakfast parties! That, and the 2011 Dhoni bat-swirl -- unforgettable.
Lurker Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 Why not add the links to the material you revisited. I have my own unique nostalgic memories associated with the same.... need some help re-living the same. Here are some you may njoy. http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=170504 http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=170629 http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=169284 http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=197069 http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=187033 http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=210110 http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=196331
Dravid_TheWall Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 One of my fav moments in cricket. Also don't forget Viru blitz in that match, was short but all the best things come in short doses. He flayed his way to 21 and momentarily teased us with much more.
Tendulkar_Bhai Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 [ame= 98 of 75 balls against Pakistan in 2003 World Cup - YouTube[/ame]
akshayxyz Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 One of my fav moments in cricket. Also don't forget Viru blitz in that match' date=' [b']was short but all the best things come in short doses. He flayed his way to 21 and momentarily teased us with much more. well..... beshtest short ODI innings that ever was - happened on 30th March, 2011, and closest second would be - Ajay Jadeja's against Pak in 1996 WC.
akshayxyz Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 first ball in the video - @26-28sec.. was a no-ball.
Brainfade Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 first ball in the video - @26-28sec.. was a no-ball. Applying some other criteria, that would also apply to all of Shoaib Akhtar's deliveries :-)!!
Chalks Posted March 3, 2012 Posted March 3, 2012 Great game. Sadly the final ruined that tournament for me for all time. I have a lot of mental scars from Pwnting's innings in that game that still haven't healed, and probably never will. I may never forgive Ganguly for sending Australia in, and Zaheer for his ridiculous first over. :((
chainsmoker1985 Posted March 3, 2012 Posted March 3, 2012 where were you on 2nd Apr' date=' 2011. ?[/quote'] I watched the match at my home only. But, our society people had arranged a big screen and all the eating arrangements. Then, when India was about to win the match, I went to that big-screen arrangement 'to enjoy with other people' there. Then, I went with my friends to mohali, sector 21 outside girls PGs, sector 26 discs and sector 17 and sector 9 main lights. We did awara-gardi every where that night. We did more awara-gardi on 30 march when India beat Pakistan. I watched that match live in the stadium. To be frank, Chandigarh and Mohali were on fire like never before after India beat Pakistan. Dhols on car roof, songs on boofers, djs, traffic jams, chaos everywhere that was one hell of a atmosphere
Stuge Posted March 3, 2012 Posted March 3, 2012 I watched the match at my home only. But, our society people had arranged a big screen and all the eating arrangements. Then, when India was about to win the match, I went to that big-screen arrangement 'to enjoy with other people' there. Then, I went with my friends to mohali, sector 21 outside girls PGs, sector 26 discs and sector 17 and sector 9 main lights. We did awara-gardi every where that night. We did more awara-gardi on 30 march when India beat Pakistan. I watched that match live in the stadium. To be frank, Chandigarh and Mohali were on fire like never before after India beat Pakistan. Dhols on car roof, songs on boofers, djs, traffic jams, chaos everywhere that was one hell of a atmosphere Your signature is a testament of that .:two_thumbs_up:
Dravid_TheWall Posted March 3, 2012 Posted March 3, 2012 Great game. Sadly the final ruined that tournament for me for all time. I have a lot of mental scars from Pwnting's innings in that game that still haven't healed, and probably never will. I may never forgive Ganguly for sending Australia in, and Zaheer for his ridiculous first over. :(( As far as I remember we chased very well in that wc and that was the thinking behind sending the Aussies in. But in a final you want to put the opposition under pressure and make them chase. I don't hold Ganguly responsible, the bowlers screwed up. As Viv Richards said whatever you do best do it last. Batting was our strength so we could control chases. We just didn't know our bowlers would do so poorly since they had bowled well through out the tournament.
DomainK Posted March 3, 2012 Posted March 3, 2012 wow, it's been nine years? It feels like yesterday. That was a tense match. Very tense indeed. Our coming generations will never get to understand what these knocks meant to us in those days. What was special about the knock was the way the way he forced Pakistan's best three fast bowlers into submission. Wasim, Waqar and Akhtar, three feared bowlers. Just one of these three could make whole batting line-ups tremble. Wasim Akram wrote a piece on TOI from the airport describing how all the skills and experience of all three fell short against Sachin's attack.
shinchan Posted March 3, 2012 Posted March 3, 2012 my ssc exams were only 3 days away & still watched the whole match.EPIC:hail: & then saved pocket money to purchase VCD of it.still watch India's innings :two_thumbs_up: