Desi Cartman Posted March 20, 2012 Posted March 20, 2012 And thats what is baffling in many ways. One can understand smaller companies who do not have neccessary IT infrastructure in place to compete in online world, jumping on facebook bandwagon. It is hard to see CNN, ESPN, TIME leading media outlets etc letting Facebook be an important part of their media plans. And you are right about the conference, too often these days BI conferences are overloaded with social media messaging. The key takeaway almost always is to do this because everybody else is doing so. Very little is mentioned about the ROI for such toolstack extensions. The idea is to be where the consumer is ie Social media rathan than finding ways to attract them to your website, why not move to theirs ?
Lurker Posted March 20, 2012 Posted March 20, 2012 Why don't you write a paper and enlighten them. :sherlock: Sure. Now that I have heard from your highness let me start compiling it and sending it over. As I recall on Friday I did make a vachan to follow your scientific acumen to the core!! All hail the vaigyanik amongst us.
Lurker Posted March 20, 2012 Posted March 20, 2012 The idea is to be where the consumer is ie Social media rathan than finding ways to attract them to your website' date=' [b']why not move to theirs ? That would work in a typical Saas environment DC. Salesforce is a good example. Why spend millions when there is a product out there? SF is a stable, robust software with proven ROI. Most companies use it to run their campaigns, sales promotions etc. Facebook is not SaaS. It is meant for social media, and attracting certain age group. That has always been its USP. Yes it has been heavily advertised as company that is used by others, in this case Nike or CNN. The question about Why still remains out there.
akshayxyz Posted March 20, 2012 Posted March 20, 2012 Sure. Now that I have heard from your highness let me start compiling it and sending it over. As I recall on Friday I did make a vachan to follow your scientific acumen to the core!! All hail the vaigyanik amongst us. Google - top search company Facebook - top social network company Google/Facebook - two of the top IT companies to work for. Sachin - current top batsman, and all time great. Your unconditional love, that you struggle to put in numbers, for the top of their area is so obvious. :two_thumbs_up: P.S. Waiting for your thread on how to calculate bonus for team of size 1 (at least one of the current two will leave anyway).
Desi Cartman Posted March 20, 2012 Posted March 20, 2012 That would work in a typical Saas environment DC. Salesforce is a good example. Why spend millions when there is a product out there? SF is a stable, robust software with proven ROI. Most companies use it to run their campaigns, sales promotions etc. Facebook is not SaaS. It is meant for social media, and attracting certain age group. That has always been its USP. Yes it has been heavily advertised as company that is used by others, in this case Nike or CNN. The question about Why still remains out there. Why, because there are more people using social network than Email now. Companies need to change their strategies. Its a whole new world of opportunities out there. I have never visited any company's facebook page so I cant comment how can they be more useful than a usual website but unless a company is monitoring/managing social media they will lose out to competitors soon.
ViruRulez Posted March 20, 2012 Posted March 20, 2012 I am a big supporter of both Google and Microsoft and somewhat anti-Apple. To be honest, compared to Mac etc. Google or for that matter even Microsoft is playing it a lot fair with better pricing etc. Having said that, both Google and Microsoft have had transfers with employees leaving one to join the other as in the case with any other two top companies. A good example is Vic Gundotra who was general manager at Microsoft before he joined Google. Now, Gundotra is the Senior Vice-President of Social Business for Google. So, not a rare thing. Again I also agree that Google has become a lot more commercial in recent years though still better than the rest. But then Google is not just an online company now and has diversified everywhere from Android to Chromebook to Nexus to Motorola to other offline and online acquisitions. And they had also seen how Zuckerberg had moved from almost a non-existent entity to the world's 35th richest person within years by concentrating on profit. On the other hand, Google somewhat philanthropic rules were not helping Brin or Page much and they are almost stagnant at the world's 25th or so rank for several years. So, they had to innovate and concentrate on more profits in the long run. Not much wrong in that though I can also understand from the employee's viewpoint.
seedhi Posted March 20, 2012 Posted March 20, 2012 Shouldnt you have spent more energy suggesting why you found that a rant' date=' instead of wearing your freaky judgemental hat?? By the way since you are one of the loony brigades who keeps counts, that was a retarded 4th post from you...still nothing on the subject.[/quote']Chew on the fact that Microsoft has multiple youtube channels on which it promotes its products, and posts ads and videos many of which criticize Google and Android. Companies will promote themselves on domains (like Facebook, Youtube etc) which are familiar to most people, and just because Anderson Cooper makes you cringe (:giggle: ) you dont need to go on a Don Quixotic rampage against Facebook without applying your mind for even two seconds. You are! :hysterical: Classic case of projection : No justification, no links and no references in your post, and others are hallucinating ?
cybervickey Posted March 20, 2012 Posted March 20, 2012 This guy was a ex- MSFT employee who left them to join google.He worked for google for a year or two and then went back to work for MSFt with higher pay and a promotion. So yeah, take anything he says with a pinch of salt.
Lurker Posted March 20, 2012 Posted March 20, 2012 Google - top search company Facebook - top social network company Google/Facebook - two of the top IT companies to work for. Sachin - current top batsman, and all time great. Thanks for being the super Nobel laureate vaigyanik. Only a delusional will bring cricket discussion here, pata nai chala ke kaun sa section hai kya?? Waiting for your thread on how to calculate bonus for team of size 1 (at least one of the current two will leave anyway). I must have rubbed you bad the other day that you have to delve into irrelevant threads to have a go at me. Kya hua..bonus nahi mila is saal? :haha:
Lurker Posted March 20, 2012 Posted March 20, 2012 Why' date= because there are more people using social network than Email now. Companies need to change their strategies. Its a whole new world of opportunities out there. I have never visited any company's facebook page so I cant comment how can they be more useful than a usual website but unless a company is monitoring/managing social media they will lose out to competitors soon. Fair enough.
akshayxyz Posted March 20, 2012 Posted March 20, 2012 Thanks for being the super Nobel laureate vaigyanik. Only a delusional will bring cricket discussion here' date= pata nai chala ke kaun sa section hai kya?? Says who? Who has some childhood abuse/scar related to mujras/kothas.. and keep bringing into cricket talks. Must be tough on you.
Lurker Posted March 20, 2012 Posted March 20, 2012 Says who? Who has some childhood abuse/scar related to mujras/kothas.. and keep bringing into cricket talks. Must be tough on you. lol..Thanks for confirming my suspicion. So thats where I caught your nas eh? Phir shuru karoon kya Zohra begum? :hysterical: Jeez talk of left scars. Wow! Must be awful to be still smarting from them
Lurker Posted March 20, 2012 Posted March 20, 2012 Classic case of projection : No justification' date=' no links and no references in your post, and others are hallucinating ?[/quote'] Yes thats exactly how it works. So here you go then. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dQw4w9WgXcQ&ob=av3e Happy?
punjabi_khota Posted March 20, 2012 Posted March 20, 2012 Well, his frustration is justified to some extent, but is still wrong at many levels (why I left Google...) Google is still one of the best companies to work with. You can never predict which product/strategy will fail or succeed. As an employee you should be happy to work with smart people and in a good environment. Well, not if you don't feel there are enough creative outlets for your work. But its surprising he went back to MSFT .
mishra Posted March 21, 2012 Posted March 21, 2012 Why' date=' because there are more people using social network than Email now. Companies need to change their strategies. Its a whole new world of opportunities out there. [b']I have never visited any company's facebook page so I cant comment how can they be more useful than a usual website but unless a company is monitoring/managing social media they will lose out to competitors soon. Corporate world uses facebook no more than just a advert media. Incorporating like for like social networking in corporate is a bit too much to ask. Then there are privacy laws and fear of jobs and so on. So no. For corporate world users(employee) risk outweighs rewards... hence, Networking for corporate world will never kick in.....
akshayxyz Posted March 21, 2012 Posted March 21, 2012 Well' date=' not if you don't feel there are enough creative outlets for your work. But its surprising he went back to MSFT .[/quote'] Likes of Google/Facebook are still one of the best places to test and showcase your creativity (or at least learn from competition). Just that the level of competition is extremely high. In C grade companies ( like Infosys, Wipro etc), you can copy a dumbed down version of some open source project and you will be hailed as next Zuckerberg. Whereas in Google you have to compete with someone who might be creating next equivalent of Mad-Reduce. And Google is not free from politics either, but still one of the cleanest. So, unless you have strong reasons - like your have some investor for your innovative ideas, or getting significant jump in career, just got bored/frustrated of current place - its better to be just another employee among a team of smart people, than one-eyed-king in some random company.
punjabi_khota Posted March 21, 2012 Posted March 21, 2012 ^My friends in silicon valley tell me there is enough demand in bajillion startups for people who feel google or even FB has grown too big. So I can see people jumping from google to get back to a startup but going back to MSFT :WTF:
Lurker Posted March 21, 2012 Posted March 21, 2012 ^My friends in silicon valley tell me there is enough demand in bajillion startups for people who feel google or even FB has grown too big. So I can see people jumping from google to get back to a startup but going back to MSFT :WTF: Why is that such a surprise?? The guy here is not some start-up developer crunching his work through .net code?? He is clearly at a much higher rank, doing keynote speaks etc. I would assume, dont know much about the guy so perhaps assumption is the way to go here, that he received a much better offer and gave up his position at Google? Plus its not like Microsoft is a Dollar Tree exactly, it still remains one of the top 3 software companies in terms or revenue and market cap etc. Also this whole creativity thing can be very person dependent and quite often overrated. When offshoring started in late 90s as an IT person in India one could be part of some great creative options, like BI/DW/ERP etc...or get on Y2K and immediately get a ticket to the USA arriving to change 2 digits into 4 year. Guess which option most people took. :winky: